We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of Hotel Sakcari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sakcari
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Clean, good price, beautiful view and gardens. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay.
The location was very good. The Mayan people are very friendly and I made new friends. I would sit on the balcony or on my bed and stare at the lake and mountains- gorgeous.

Room Tip: With a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROLde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    45
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
84
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel Sakcari is more expensive than some other options in San Pedro, but at less than $40 for two for a lakefront room, it's a wonderful deal.
The grounds are quiet with lovely gardens, the rooms comfortable and the design makes the most of the lakefront setting. Rooms have big windows and outdoor seating areas, and there are lawns and gardens with chairs and hammocks. The place is incredibly tranquil yet you're in the heart of the San Pedro's traveller's district, with restaurants and bars nearby.
A big plus for us was the kayaks available at no charge (simple sit-on models, mostly). We went out every morning and the lake was beautiful, with local people doing their washing and fishing from the shore.
Pay coffee and beer available, but no breakfast. Wifi worked on the terrace, but signal for our room. Friendly staff.
It's a great option, and San Pedro is a fine place to spend time. (Better than Pana.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the lake. We liked the three rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The place was simple, safe and clean, that's all I ask when traveling... The view was to die for! The place is super safe, I went out on the terrace late at night to see the moon over the late and a las, there was a guard checking to see that all was well. A really nice plus when you are a women traveling alone. Next door, you'll find the Italian's... best coffee and breakfast.
Live Music weekend night's at the BUDA and the Clover. I recommend the Gallo and the Mosa Beer's really great. Enjoy!
Carmen H.

Room Tip: Anything that looks over the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect but quickly realized the quaint and simple accommodations are there to provide and not distract from the amazing view of the lake, flora, fauna, and Mayans. I simply loved it and wished I had stayed longer!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Above our budget at 305 quetzals (nearly $40) but well worth it. The room and bathroom was stylish and spotlessly clean. Matt, the manager, was incredibly helpful & gave us lots of advice about what to do. The place overlooks the lake and the view is incredible. You can use the kayaks at no extra cost.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a double window with the view of the lake - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzaDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Charming landscaping. English spoken. Quiet. Spotty wifi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElNinoDorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have twice brought groups of university students to San Pedro and have stayed at this hotel both times. It is ideal, whether with a large group or on your own. It is inexpensive (generally less than US $20 per person), clean, and nice. It is in a quiet yet convenient location with wonderful views of Lake Atitlan from most rooms. The hotel is secure and the staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out over the lake but be sure to request such a room, just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omanskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
7.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 3 in Santiago Atitlan
129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mikaso Hotel Resto
Mikaso Hotel Resto
#3 of 11 in San Pedro La Laguna
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakcari

Property: Hotel Sakcari
Address: 7a Av 2-12, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sak'cari El Amanecer is an Eco-hotel located on the beautiful shores of Lake Atitlan. It has 20 lovely rooms overlooking the lake, the names sak'cari and amanecer mean sunrise in Tz'tujil and Spanish. The hotel is located in the heart of San Pedro La Laguna within walking distance to fine restaurants, bars and spanish schools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sakcari Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing