We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, very peaceful. Absolutely loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sakcari

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sakcari
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful view, very peaceful. Absolutely loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I had no real expectations of this place as it was only my second place to stay in Guatemala, and I just picked it by calling randomly through the Lonely Planet; my first choice had been full. However, it was absolutely lovely. I loved my room. The view of the lake were phenomenal, a huge picture window. I could lie in bed and watch the sun come up, see all the colours in the sky and on the water. There was a lovely lawn with hammocks also and lovely gardens. Some people went and breakfasted down there. It was well located with very nice cafes on either side in the more peaceful side of San Pedro, close to the Santiago dock. I would definitely recommend this place. It is slightly difficult to find from the Panajachel dock where the minibuses drop passengers off, but there are always guides willing to take you to the room for a tip of a couple of quetzales. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    43
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
83
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

It is not a Five Star hotel by any means, but the best hotel I saw in the community. It offer a great view of the lake, has hot water, and an economical price. The mattresses are not the best but not the worst either. Feels relatively clean, comfortable and secure. Friendly staff.
In walking distance to several small restaurants.

The back packer crowds tend to choose other hotels or hostels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chapingros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

This is one amazing place. It has the most wonderful view out over the lake, it is secure beyond belief (night guard and security cameras), as eco-friendly as is possible with a hotel - already going from CFLs to LEDs, using solar hot water too, free UV purified water, a beautiful three level garden that attracts lots of birds, kayaks, a sauna , etc. We paid $26 per night for a couple. Hurry before he finishes the check list of upgrades INGUT gave him to do so he can raise his rates. I am right now watching a fisherman run his trot line right in front of the hotel. It is on the pedestrian road they call a trail. But it is paved. Just too narrow for cars so it is quieter.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruby98103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Clean, comfortable, with beautiful grounds, comfy hammocks and garden chairs. Good beds, hot water, cable tv, fast wi-fi and a convenient location in the middle of the strip close to restaurants and bars with complimentary kayaks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostilleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

San Pedro is good mostly for people wanting to attend Spanish school, or it's a good place to stop in to get a massage. There is a multitude of backpacker toursist from all over the world that stay in San Pedro for an extended period. This hotel doesn't necessarily fit in with the "backpacker" style, although it's affordable enough to be put in that category. Rooms here run about $25 a night for a couple. The landscaping is beautiful, the service and staff are great and the scenery is wonderful. There are hammocks on the terrace right in front of the rooms. Sak'Cari is located right in the heart of some great bars and restaraunts as well as several Spanish schools. It's a great place to get away. The owner speaks pretty good English also. He's a very hospitable guy and always welcomes me very warmly when I visit there. This one is my choice in San Pedro.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RegularTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I agree with the other reviews that Hotel Sakcari is an excellent choice in San Pedro. It is close to the Cooperativa Spanish School and is on the Santiago dock side of town. The rooms are simple, but clean, and the shower is one of the best in San Pedro. I stayed in a Lake View room for one night for $22. This is high by San Pedro standards, but worth it for the peace and quiet, lake view hammocks in the garden, excellent location and most importantly excellent pressure HOT water shower. Finally, I found the manager, Manuel to be very helpful and friendly when I arrived after a long difficult day of travel in bad weather. I transfered to a home stay after the one night, but I did look at lots of hotels in San Pedro. If I need a hotel when I go back, I would just choose Sakcari in a heart beat. .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laure_Starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I only stayed here one night, but had a pretty blissful experience. Sak'cari is right on Lake Atitlan, with hammocks and lawn chairs set out for optimal relaxation. San Pedro can be a noisy town, but the lakeside rooms (make sure to request one with a view, it's worth the couple extra bucks) are quiet. The rooms are bare bones, but you don't need too much when you have hammocks and kayaks provided to you free of charge. Mila's next door serves great tacos (3 for 10 quetzales) and the Barrio across the street is a good place to drink if you're looking for that, so the lack of an in-house bar and restaurant wasn't really an issue (there are tons of other spots within walking distance if these don't meet your needs). The people at Sak'cari were very friendly and helpful, and for $40 a night, I can't imagine a better value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williej3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro La Laguna
4.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakcari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakcari

Property: Hotel Sakcari
Address: 7a Av 2-12, San Pedro La Laguna 07018, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Pedro La Laguna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sak'cari El Amanecer is an Eco-hotel located on the beautiful shores of Lake Atitlan. It has 20 lovely rooms overlooking the lake, the names sak'cari and amanecer mean sunrise in Tz'tujil and Spanish. The hotel is located in the heart of San Pedro La Laguna within walking distance to fine restaurants, bars and spanish schools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sakcari Guatemala/San Pedro La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing