We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel IslaVerde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

We had found the place by accident and have been comming back every weekend since.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the views are indescribable. One of the best advantages of the hotel are the public areas that are reminicient of a tree house that we all wished we could have had as children. We have spent entire days sitting on the porch dreamily staring at the lake surrounded by flowers, humming birds and the two hotel kittens. The free wi-fi is also a plus. The meals so far have been excellent and the daily specials tend twoard vegetarian, but there are items on the menu to suit any pallet.

  • Tips/Secrets — ask for the hot tub early when you reserve your room.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank silverfox_k12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    54
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
38
98
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2006

I had the opportunity to find this gorgeous hotel in Atitlan and spend there a wonderful week.
I wanted for sure visit Atitlan during my stay in Gatemala, then I found in this place the perfect spot. Santa Cruz is nice nice nice! quiet, you can have walks around, safe, beatiful views. From there, you can arrange visits to the whole lake.
In the hotel, the people is very friendly and the food is delicious and healthy... I was fed up of deep fried chicken and there you can have healthy food, nice salads, huge juices.
All the rooms have a splendid view of the lake and are nicely arranged. I would call it, details of class.
Moreover, the owners - super friendly- gave me tips for my travelling around central america as I'm a diver and they have tons of useful information
I fully recommend the place, I'm going back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

Words are not enough to describe this wonderful place. Full of taste, colors, peace, nature, and most important, wonderful people ready willing to make your stay at Santa Cruz a unique experience.

Just go and discover it yourself,............ all your senses will be very grateful!!!!

So will your mind.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

We spend 5 days at Hotel Islaverde, five days I would never forget. The place is absolutely gorgeous, not only because of the incomparable surroundings, almost above the lake and with the volcanoes majesty always in sight, but also the cabins own harmony with the landscape around. We spent most of the time reading and chatting with other guests, playing fun games at night, or learnig to cook from Ana, the lovely owner of the place. Special thanks to both Ana and Johnnie, always helpfull and charming. Great company!!

If you are tired on your shoestring travelling, I strongly recomend you to make a stop by at this place. You'll feel absolutely recovered in just a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

Isla Verde is a paradise staffed by angels! The rooms all overlook the astounding lake vista and are surrounded by lush gardens. The owners and their staff cannot be satisfied just making you comfortable - they want to insure you are happy, too. The food is divine and the ambience relaxing, friendly and accomodating. At other resorts I have spent ten times more than they charge and not enjoyed myself nearly as much. Run, don't walk, to this romantic spot.

Helpful?
4 Thank dpdbibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

I think this is the most charming place I have ever been to in my life; the gardens are simply out of a fairy tale. Our little cabin was so tasteful, so simple but full of charm, a breath taking view and a bathroom like I have never seen, with an outside feeling, hanging plants in it, a view to the lake.... The restaurant again is sooooo amazing, so beautiful, and the food is just not expected in this part of the world, kind of modern cuisine, lots of fresh veggies, lots of imagination, wonderful presentation.... we were so surprised to find a place like this here!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

I am writing to allow others to discover this little gem of a place. The location and views are to die for. The place itself has all the amenities you would expect together with a few more, its quiet and relaxing. Which was just what we were looking for. The resturant and terrace and tastfully decorated with a cosy atmosphere. Plenty of reading matter available. Our room was wonderful with a bathroom that had me smilling all day. Resturant and service - top marks.

All in all - bliss.
John and Karen

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.4 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Property: Hotel IslaVerde
Address: Zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing