We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel IslaVerde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our family of 5 checked into Isla Verde after a week of volunteering at Project Somos, a children' village near Tecpan. The deck is rickety and unmarked, but once we stepped onto dry land, we knew we were someplace special. We were in Suite 1 and loved the sweeping views of the lake from the deck, with orchids dangling from the trellised roof. We ate our meals at the Cafe, the food was good and the juices rejuvenating. The outdoor lounge with hammocks, bean bag chairs and suspended "canoes" was a magical place to devour a book. New owner Riley even arranged massages for our entire party. We'd definitely recommend Isla Verde.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westvannancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I traveled to the lake by myself at the beginning of January and stayed 5 nights at the Isla Verde and it was an absolutely amazing experience. I had a room with a private bath at the very top of the property. It was quite the hike every time to get up there but the view was stunning, the room was very clean and I loved the partly open air shower. The food here is delicious and comes from the gardens on the property and is cooked by lovely Mayan women. The staff is all extremely helpful and nice and made my experience that much better. There is also a private dock where you can wave down the water taxis and get to any other town on the lake. Additionally, the yoga studios are beautiful, you can get massages onsite, sit in their steam room or hot tub and they always pour very generous glasses of wine. Overall, it is an amazing place to relax and enjoy all the beauty that you are surrounded by. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling here and hope I make it back there soon!

Room Tip: If you want an amazing view and don't mind a hike, ask for room #8. It is at the very top and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMorgan735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

it was the best hotel i have been in past 1 year, the best in guatemala, best in world, bar none.there was excellent swimming and sauna. and also a hot tub may be there. i recommend you stay there 100%%%

Room Tip: upstairs room are quieter and sunny .please see pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We loved our stay at Isla Verde. We went for 2 nights and ended up staying almost 2 weeks. The view of the lake is gorgeous, the ecological design very tasteful, and the food excellent. The people who work there are very kind and helpful. From the hotel's dock you can flag down a boat, making it easy to visit any of the towns around the lake. However, sometimes it is nice to spend a whole day or 2 at the hotel without leaving because it is so beautiful and relaxing. I look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toobusyeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Although the service in the restaurant isn't great, our overall experience was very good. I loved having the option of doing yoga in the morning at 9am - a very reasonable time for holidayers without spoiling any events planned for the day and without being too early. The bathrooms are beautiful - half indoors, half outdoors. It would be helpful if the kitchen staff spoke more English (I know its a Spanish speaking country! But for all of the guest who were there when we were, English was their first language), because many of orders were incorrect. The English speaking managers did not seem to want to help in these scenarios when we knew our orders were not being understood. Margaritas were terrible - we think made with salt rather than sugar. The food we did receive (even if not what we ordered) was very tasty! Other than helping with food issues, the managers were helpful in booking activities, making suggestion, and, in general, were very friendly. I would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The rooms are up a very steep hill. The higher the room number, the higher you have to hike. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had 5 nights here and had a great time. The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and helpful when it came to organizing trips around the lake. Our cabin was clean and comfortable, great views and surrounded by lush tropical plants. The New Yoga building is a huge bamboo structure with open sides and ends...a great place to hang out. I would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

While this is a gorgeous, picturesque hotel on Lake Atitlan, the service is all around AWFUL. The Gen. Manager who runs the place is rude and unfriendly. She didn't brief us on ANYTHING upon our arrival to the hotel and had her back turned to us the entire time. After flying for hours to get to a far off destination, you expect to be greeted and made to feel welcome by the hotel staff. it's surprising that such a beautiful & upscale hotel would have someone like her running it. It felt like we were bothering her and during our entire trip were never made to feel welcome by anyone there. We complained to the owner about the service & some other issues pertaining to our room and she was extremely arrogant and rude to us which was shocking. We were the guests!!! This hotel is one of the pricier hotels in Santa Cruz and the service is surprisingly below sub-par for what you are paying.

Another disclaimer--it is a MAJOR hike up to all the rooms as it's perched high up on a mountain. You have to be very fit in order to hike up to the rooms and i would caution older folks from staying here unless you are prepared for this.

I do have to say that their restaurant has GREAT food and one or two of the other girls (a blonde American particularly) who do work there part time are super friendly and nice.

If you are looking for an upscale, friendly and service-oriented hotel in Santa Cruz, I would not stay at Isla Verde. There are MUCH better options (Villa Sumaya, Case del mundo are some of the better ones).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanhippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
3.5 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
516 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
304 reviews
3.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Address: Zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $64 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing