We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Santa Cruz, Really nice People”
Review of Hotel IslaVerde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel IslaVerde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best food in Santa Cruz, Really nice People”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

There are a few places in Santa Cruz I would rate very highly, but when it comes to food, I don't think anything compares with Isla Verde. Their restaurant is very good not only by Guatemalan standards, but I would put it up against some of the better places I have eaten in the United States and Europe. The owner and staff are very friendly and the views from the dining area (a patio over the lake)

Room Tip: If you are staying here and have a decent amount of luggage, tip the boat captain a little extra to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpowell623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoChicHotel, Manager at Hotel IslaVerde, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dearest guest,

We put a lot of effort into making our food fresh and delicious, so it's good to know that you enjoyed it! Thank you very much for visiting us and hopefully we'll see you again soon!! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    55
    12
    7
    15
See reviews for
38
98
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The reception and dining area is beautiful and cozy. The location is very tranquil. The staff and atmosphere are very relaxed. The food is amazing.

We really enjoyed our stay until we got our final bill. We had three issues with our bill.
1. When we arrived we paid the balance due for our room less the 10% we paid hostelbookers. Our final bill did not reflect what we paid. It showed we paid 1700 Q, but we paid 1910Q.
2. The bill also included an extra 22% room tax which was already included in the hostelbookers price.
3. Isla Verde advertisers a happy hour 2 for 1 drink special in a booklet they have at their front desk, but they do not honour this special. When I questioned them they said no they just have a tapas special, well we never received any complimentary tapas.
Overall there was a discrepency of over 500Q on our bill, they did finally concede to the tax error, but we had to pay the rest. If you make any payments during your stay get a receipt and if you think you are ordering 2 for 1 drinks you should ask first.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnn1e
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The views from the room are wonderful. The food was great and a little pricey. Given that much of the food was grown on site and the rest boated in, the price is understandable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnn1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed at Isla Verde in February 2012, and what an amazing place, tranquil and trendy, eco-friendly and economical, all with breathtaking views of Lake Atitlan. The shared bathroom (solar heated water) even had a spectacular view of of the lake.

Oh and the food, slow cooked to perfection, absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nono Louise Eli... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Isla Verde for 2 nights with our 4 children. The accomodations were rustic, but comfortable and clean. The apartment we stayed in had no separate bathroom. If you got out of the shower it was in the main room. We were woken up a few times by the new puppy, who I believe was staying below us. My biggest complaint was that there was no where for our kids to swim. We chose to spend our day at the neighboring Casa del Mundo. The food was average, but took a long time. The service was just ok. When we checked out I was suprised at how much our food bill was. I would recommend this hotel, but if traveling with young kids who would like to swim stay else where. That being said, it is located in a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I think my title is sufficient. Just to add that the owner and staff could not be more helpful. Very good food. Amazing situation. My only fault being that I booked rather late for a room with a shared bathroom and found myself in a room with four beds and not one of the little cottages I dreamed of staying in. Yes there is a view from the room i was in but not a centre view and far from charming the room but clean etc. Also the steps to the room were not there!
It is a must to stay there one day.

Room Tip: Not the side room I mentioned above. I will send photographs later and showing the one of this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WidgeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The 170 steps up to our room at first was a shock but we got used to it quick. The rooms are beautiful with an outdoor shower. Wonderful hot shower with perfect pressure. No mosquitoes too so it was great. Only disappointing thing is that there isn't a view of the volcanoes. You can only see them at the outdoor lounge area by the dock. Love what they are doing here with going green. The last boat to get here is at 5pm so dinner options are limited to the restaurant there. It's a 3 course dinner costing 100Q but simply beautiful and worth it. The reception area/lounge has an open fire and it's a great place to have a night cap or cozy up with a book. Blankets are also available everywhere. Also there are these beautiful vines off the ceiling with flowers hanging down at the lounge area and dining balcony. Amazing. Best thing possibly is the friendly staff. I was sick on my 2nd night there and the way the cared for me with tea and the right food, nursedr back to health straight away. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabrina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel IslaVerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IslaVerde

Property: Hotel IslaVerde
Address: Zona 0, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IslaVerde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islaverde is the hotel where you can reconnect with nature, where you will live without the constriction of time, enjoying a simple, organic and eco life-style, knowing every single detail will be carefully arranged for you; gourmet cooking, beautiful decoration, gorgeous surroundings, breathtaking gardens, artwork, and technical comforts…A place to disconnect, laze, and enjoy the beauty of Lake Atitlan. Let us BE your vacation, we will book cultural, adventure or spa services for you…from our own garden you will be able to hop on a boat to explore the rest of the lake, knowing on your return our little paradise will be awaiting you. And if you don´t feel like moving just enjoy our lavish gardens; sunbathe, swim, kayak, take yoga, salsa or Spanish lessons, have a massage, a sauna or an open-air hot tub, enjoy our library and restaurant, bird watch, explore the trails around us or dive with our neighbors…We offer nine independent wooden cabins and two brand new apartments for families or groups. All are set on a hill, which ensures every one of them has a breathtaking view of Lake Atitlan, while being hidden and private from the rest of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a simple yet hip style, with Mayan woven materials and naïf paintings.Sunrise, sunset, midday or midnight, our lakeside lounge is the perfect place to sunbathe, go swimming, sip on a cocktail or a fresh fruit smoothie or just take in the majestic beauty of Lake Atitlan. Prefer a more secluded, private spot? You´ll find hammocks and loungers tucked into lush nooks all throughout our beautiful tropical gardens, and a wonderful yoga studio overlooking the lake which is free for our guests to enjoy.The patio below our slow-food restaurant is the ultimate spot to feast your eyes and your senses; come and enjoy what according to many— Rough Guide amongst others—is some of the best food you can find in Guatemala. Dine with the ultimate view, or just chill out and read a book. If you feel like lying around the patio next to the restaurant is stocked with pillows and cushions. Make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel IslaVerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel IslaVerde Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing