We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing! Best view on Lake Atitlan and Charming Owners and Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lomas de Tzununa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lomas de Tzununa
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Amazing! Best view on Lake Atitlan and Charming Owners and Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I started our visit at Lake Atitlan at Lomas de Tzununa and what a start it was! The hotel is situated high above the lake for the most breathtaking view imaginable. It was the perfect retreat to relax and de-stress from "normal life" for a bit. The staff was kind, attentive and helpful. The owners, Thierry & Maria were warm and welcoming which was unexpected and so wonderful - Thierry even played classical guitar for us! We had the most delicious dinners in the restaurant, one warmed by the fire, and the other gazing out into the night sky over Lake Atitlan. I have never heard such peace and quiet from our private deck in the evening. I will never forget the experience and cannot wait to return to this hotel! If you are looking for charm, relaxation, good food, great conversation and an amazing view, Lomas de Tzununa is the place for you!
-Kerri and Daniel

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be amazing and ALL have a private deck and with breathtaking view - you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerri0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    42
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
137
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Lake Atitlan, situated at 1,500m altitude, is a must-see experience when in Guatemala. Hotel Lomas de Tzununa is ideally situated 100m above the lake on a (very) steep hillside facing south. It is highly recommended to take the 350 steps from the jetty. Good exercise. We stayed 3 nights, 16-19 December. Former UN diplomat Thiery and his family provide both warm and insightful hospitality together with their staff, which have all been recruited from the local village, Tzununa. All the rooms are light and spacious. The restaurant menu is varied and very good with a lot of home made stuff. All tremendous value. If you can force yourself away from just sitting in a chair taking in the intoxicating views try kayaking and swimming in the lake in the morning as the xocomil starts blowing from the Pacific every day around lunch time creating sizeable waves hitting the north shore. We loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning south facing views of the lake and the volcanos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanicaDanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the past 3 years, I have brought small tour groups of about 16 people to Lomas de Tzununa. We go other places in Guatemala, but this hotel always get the consistent raves from my clients.
The location is dazzling. You feel like a helicopter dropped you off on a hillside paradise.

The food is always fresh, local and delicious. Thierry & Maria go out of their way to make all guests feel welcome. They know so much of the local history, having worked for the United Nations in Guatemala during the Civil War.

Having traveled to many exotic destinations, world-wide, I can assure you that Lomas de Tzununa is among the very best.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally spectacular in terms of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russellCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Lomas and really enjoyed ringing in the new year with Maria and her husband Thierry - both now retired from the UN. We were especially lucky to have a live singing performance by Thierry and our own fireworks as well!

The rooms and views from the rooms are unmatched, this IS the most beautiful place on the lake to stay. The food is of good value if you chose to eat at the hotel, otherwise you can walk to another village or take the ferry. The hotel is fully kitted out with a nice pool, access to kayaks and a swimming dock. Simply a wonderful place to enjoy the fabulous lake and its surrounding villages. Do note there are about 300 steps to get up to the hotel, but the staff is on hand to help with bags and once atop you will see it was worth it :)

Don't hesitate, book a stay at Lomas and you won't regret it! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LvdK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lomas de Tzununa proved to be one of the all-around best hotel stays we've ever had. Perched on the side of one of the mountains that surround Lake Atitlan, the hotel provides spectacular views of the lake, which is one of the most beautiful places we've ever encountered in all of our travels. The 350 steps, which have been mentioned in multiple reviews, are not an issue (and they are mentioned on the hotel's website, so visitors should know about them in advance). First of all, it's nice to get the exercise, and the location of the hotel, with its incredible panorama of the lake from above, necessitates the climb. If you need to be picked up from the village of Tzununa, however, that can be arranged for no additional charge. The rooms were simple and charming, equipped with a large, comfortable shower, a double and a single bed, a safe, a spacious closet, a desk and, best of all, a balcony with chairs where you can sit, relax and enjoy the view of the lake. The room comes with a book that contains all the information you'll need for your stay, including an overview of the history of the hotel and the important local projects that its owners, Thierry and Maria, have implemented in the village of Tzununa. It also provides information about local activities and tours (we recommend swimming in the lake, kayaking, hiking to some of the nearby villages, and visiting villages that are farther by boat). All of the hotel's employees are from the village of Tzununa, and we found everyone to be extremely kind, helpful and eager to make sure that guests were content at all times. Thierry and Maria organized everything for us, as they were very knowledgeable and helpful. The food at the hotel was some of the best we had in Guatemala; everything was fresh, of high quality, and homemade. The menu also offered good variety. We were happy to eat every meal there, and we would have been content not to leave the hotel at all. This is a beautiful and tranquil place. If you're looking for nightlife, then it might not be the best location for you since it can only be reached by boat, and it's difficult to travel by boat at night. However, we were very happy to have excellent meals, listen to Thierry play guitar, and relax with a book or a board game each night. If you visit the Lake Atitlan area and skip Lomas de Tzununa, it will truly be your loss. We hope to return one day for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at Lomas de Tzununa since all of them have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJLBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Quite remote, accessible only by water taxi. You get dropped off at the hotel's private dock, call on the intercom from the dock and a staff member runs down the 350+ stone steps to carry your luggage up to the hotel. The view widens as you climb, and at the top there is that incredible panorama of Lake Atitlan and surrounding volcanoes. We had planned to visit several other towns around the Lake, but once we got to Lomas de Tzununa, we did not leave even once during our 3 day stay. We enjoyed the clean room, helpful staff, the small library, the owner's classical guitar dinner music . Took some short walks down the road to the west and up the footpath to the east. But mostly just sat on our balcony and breathed the pure air and marveled at the amazing view. Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room. If you want anything more than toast, juice and coffee, it's an extra charge, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms -- all have the same incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many of times, I even brought 17 guests there for our wedding 2 years ago. The rooms, the views and the service are second to none. I have stayed at other hotels on the same side of the lake, some more expensive then this one and I would say this is the best overall.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinguatemala501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lomas de Tzununa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomas de Tzununa

Property: Lomas de Tzununa
Address: Punta Tzanchaj, Tzununa | Tzununa, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lomas de Tzununa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas de Tzununa is located in Tzununa (Municipalily of Santa Cruz La Laguna), Lake Atitlan. The Hotel has 10 rooms all with wonderful views on the Lake Atitlan and its villages, private bathrooms and a private balcony. Lomas de Tzununa has a restaurant (national and international food), wi fi internet connection in public areas, swimming pool and access to the Lake Atitlan. We also rent kayaks and have a private boat for trips arround the Lake.There are eleven Tuc Tuc (moto Taxi) available at Tzununa's main pier to come up (they charge Q 15 per person). We have a permaculture project above the hotel were we produce some of the vegetables, herbs and all the eggs we serve at the hotel. We have a new big room that we just built we can host workshops (Yoga, Qi Gong, Meditation), planing meetings for businesses, Conferences, Courses, small weddings, and so on! Come and enjoy spectacular views and wonderful hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lomas de Tzununa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas De Tzununa Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Lomas De Tzununa Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing