We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

As soon as arrived we felt in love with this place.
It is very quite, rustic but yet beautiful place located right on the water. There is even a dock where you can just jump right Into the water.
The rooms are rustic look with typical rugs and blankets from Guatemala and very clean. Great internet connection. The bar and restaurant are also very nice, however the food is just ok and little bit overpriced.
The husband and wife that manage the place are super nice (Pedro and Paulina) they can help you with all informations you may need.
Santa Cruz is the best town to stay in the lake.
We recommend for sure Arca de noe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
59
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

good value here and good service, with breathtaking south-facing views of the volcanoes from all of the common areas and most of the rooms. Aaron and staff (a local family) were very friendly, helping to organize our San Pedro hike and kayaking time and make us lunches for our excursions. Food may be pricey, but its delicious and isn't that far off from many of the other hotels in Santa Cruz.

The location is also ideal for catching lanchas - you can relax in the common area and wait for the boat to come.

We stayed in the Oriole Room and while it was plenty of space, the mattress wasn't the best and we never really got hot water to the shower (it's all solar so we weren't expecting much though). Those were really our only cons.

Room Tip: Oriole Room has the best view in the place but there is another room a little farther down the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I booked over that hotel the language school as well and for the first of my two weeks a homestay. The family was really nice, the accommodation more than basic, but that was not a problem, more an authentic experience. My Spanish teacher was also good and I am still in contact with her. The staff that works in the hotel is really nice, but the diner overprized.
If you stay there you are fine, but pay attention what you pay.
They try to charge me 25 $ more for the first week and for the second week 10$. I didn't feel comfortable because of that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dany450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful, location was great and the food was delicious. It's rustic, almost like camping but with a room and a bed. The room we were in overlooked the beautiful lake with a great view of the volcanoes. You could hear the lake gently lapping up against the edge of the grounds during the day and night. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Only downside were the bathrooms: 2 toilets and 1 shower, all outside near the main dining area and hangout. Bathrooms were outside so not much privacy. Again, very rustic. But overall, it's a great little place with exceptional views, charm and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver bc canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice staff, but musty room and mattress. The shared bathroom is down a treacherous stone stairway, and the facilties are barely adequate, with poor drainage. The room while initially charming, was airless, and we slept with the door open all night. We had dinner there one night, and it was great. The coffee, at 12 quetzals a cup was thin and expensive for a country that prides itslef on it's coffee!

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms with bathroom have a bit more air. They all have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked on booking.com and the reservation was not exactly the same as when we arrived. Online we were told a private bath, but when we arrived we needed to pay a little more. The value was still great and the room was available. The staff was excellent and I believe the issue was the fault of booking.com, not this business. We were happy to find a good location with a great view. There is a dock to swim from and boats come and go frequently. Food at the restaurant was good. There was a newer staff member who seemed very determined to make positive experiences for guests, but everything was beyond satisfaction. Bring bug repellent...the room we had did allow for bugs/spiders to find their way in, but the only issues we had was walking along the paths.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We absolutely loved staying here. The cottages are basic but clean with comfortable beds, and the views!!!! When I opened my eyes in the morning the first thing I saw was the lake with Volcan San Pedro in the distance. The Guatemalan family that runs it are incredible. Warm & welcoming with a wealth of information about the area. They also provide reasonably priced guided tours to many different places.The food is great. We were just so happy we found such a wonderful place to stay & it is easily accessible by boat to all the other towns around the lake. Most mornings we would walk about 10 minutes to Lee's Kayak place where we could go out on the lake on our own. Magical!

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath & at night could hear the waves of the lake as we fell asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Property: Hotel el Arca de Noe
Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing