We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Arca de Noe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver bc canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Arca de Noe”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice staff, but musty room and mattress. The shared bathroom is down a treacherous stone stairway, and the facilties are barely adequate, with poor drainage. The room while initially charming, was airless, and we slept with the door open all night. We had dinner there one night, and it was great. The coffee, at 12 quetzals a cup was thin and expensive for a country that prides itslef on it's coffee!

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms with bathroom have a bit more air. They all have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
61
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked on booking.com and the reservation was not exactly the same as when we arrived. Online we were told a private bath, but when we arrived we needed to pay a little more. The value was still great and the room was available. The staff was excellent and I believe the issue was the fault of booking.com, not this business. We were happy to find a good location with a great view. There is a dock to swim from and boats come and go frequently. Food at the restaurant was good. There was a newer staff member who seemed very determined to make positive experiences for guests, but everything was beyond satisfaction. Bring bug repellent...the room we had did allow for bugs/spiders to find their way in, but the only issues we had was walking along the paths.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We absolutely loved staying here. The cottages are basic but clean with comfortable beds, and the views!!!! When I opened my eyes in the morning the first thing I saw was the lake with Volcan San Pedro in the distance. The Guatemalan family that runs it are incredible. Warm & welcoming with a wealth of information about the area. They also provide reasonably priced guided tours to many different places.The food is great. We were just so happy we found such a wonderful place to stay & it is easily accessible by boat to all the other towns around the lake. Most mornings we would walk about 10 minutes to Lee's Kayak place where we could go out on the lake on our own. Magical!

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath & at night could hear the waves of the lake as we fell asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was in Xela for an extended amount of time and wanted a trip to the lake for the weekend. This place was perfect. It was really easy to get from Pana to Santa Cruz and then back. The family running the place was very friendly and welcoming...they spoke English very well, but were very willing to communicate in Spanish with me. (I wanted to practice!) The food was good. The location was great...I wanted to stay much longer.

Room Tip: I had a single room with a shared bath. My room was very close to the office/kitchen area. It was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soibhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

If your idea of the perfect hotel is the Waldorf=Astoria, don't stay at Arca de Noe. However, if your idea of a perfect stay includes a million-dollar view of Lake Atitlan and its towering volcanoes, well-prepared, tasty food at reasonable prices, and a staff that treats you like family, Arca de Noe is your place.

Located right by the dock in Santa Cruz, Arca de Noe features a beautiful garden that looks out over the lake, and Adirondack chairs to enjoy the view. Rooms are rustic, to be sure, but absolutely clean and with very comfy beds.

From the moment I arrived, I was welcomed by all the members of the family who run this place -- Aaron, Pedro, Domingo, Maria, Isaias, to name only a few. How many hotels have you stayed at where you know everyone's name? They helped with advice and making sense of my fractured attempts at Spanish, not to mention grabbing me a beer or cup of coffee. What a great staff!

The actual village of Santa Cruz, located up the hill, is a little quiet for my taste, however proximity to the dock made it easy to hop a boat to visit villages around the lake, as well as Panajachel, the main town in the area.

(Beware: boat captains and tuk-tuk drivers will overcharge you. Find out how much you should be paying before you venture out.)

The only down side was some recurring issues with electrical power. Arca de Noe is solar-powered, and guests are asked to conserve power.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks on Room B3, where you have your own private patio with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstutti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We ate here twice during our stay on the lake, because the chef was excellent! Here you must book in advance for the fixed price meal which varies daily. We ate tender chicken with a lovely wine and onion sauce one night with yummy side dishes and a fantastic orange pie for dessert. Another night we had superb chiles rellenos followed by a lime pie. You won't be sorry if you eat here. The Solis family are all top notch!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Importantly, this hotel is locally owned and staffed. The guys working the front of the house speak English, but are happy to help you practice Spanish. I stayed here for 5 nights during Christmas, and would gladly return. Amazing volcano views. Simple and rustic accommodations, but comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
785 reviews
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Property: Hotel el Arca de Noe
Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing