We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Santa Cruz!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Santa Cruz!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Importantly, this hotel is locally owned and staffed. The guys working the front of the house speak English, but are happy to help you practice Spanish. I stayed here for 5 nights during Christmas, and would gladly return. Amazing volcano views. Simple and rustic accommodations, but comfortable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    39
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
61
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, quiet place with wonderful vistas of the lake and the volcanoes, great staff, really helpful, friendly, you can have Spanish lessons, walks to see the birds & travel info.
Food is pretty good, you can't beat the tranquility, showers could be better but the whole place is solar powered so bring your torch !

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Do not read my four stars as you would the Westin Camino Real in Guate City. This is four stars Atitlan style. This hotel is VERY rustic. It is a few steps above hostels, but not too many. We, however, were expecting rustic and got it. The bedroom was small, but clean. We actually slept with our door open to let in the lake breeze. Other than wondering dogs, no one bothered us. We went to bed quite early, so we can't speak of the night life, but listening to the waves was wonderful. We actually had two rooms. My daughters shared a full/twin room with its own shower and toilet. The hot water wasn't super hot, bug WAS present. My husband and I had a full sized bed in a small room where we had to use the group shower and toilets. They were fine. (I showered in my kids' room).

You need to sign up for dinner by 3 pm. The dinner the first night started with soup and then was followed by a vegetable/chicken dish with sauce and rice. Dessert was chocolate cake. This was all for 75Q and by candlelight. Not haute cuisine, but eatable. Bring your own Diet Coke, as they didn't have any. The water served was safe to drink. Tonight they have Kakik soup, stuffed chili with veggies and cheese or chicken and a dessert.

Breakfast was varied. We ate oatmeal which was served with maple syrup/honey. I had the continental breakfast of homemade toast with fresh fruit and mint tea (brought my own bag). My other daughter had the pancakes which came with fruit. The pancakes were a bit heavy.

During the day, we took a visit to San Juan and San Pablo. It was great. I enjoyed all of the art and watching people weave fabric. We came back and swam off the dock in the brisk water. The sun was out and wonderful. We sat for hours soaking it up along with the beautiful volcanoes. Now, this is not a top notch hotel, but it is wonderful for what it is. The gardens are lovely, and sitting was the best part of the day. :)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Prreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

There are many lovely places to stay around Lake Atitlan, but this is the only one run by Guatemalans...so tourists looking for an authentic Guatemalan experience should come stay here. It's rustic, laid-back, the gardens are gorgeous and the view of the lake and volcanoes in the background is unbelievable. But it's the people who run the place that makes it such a special place to stay -- they are warm, gracious, great cooks, and they also run a tour business -- so they can arrange to take you hiking, mountain biking, set up home-stays (often with their extended family)-- even arrange to take you to Tikal if you wish. Plus, if you want to learn Spanish, they also have a Spanish School. I give this family, and their restaurant, hotel and tour business, my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a wonderful three course meal last week at Arca de Noe. We sat with six other people at a communal dining table. Food and service were wonderful, and it was lovely to sit in an intimate setting with candlelight. We would have returned if we had more time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locquirec, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

i think is the place to be in atitlan lake! nice hotel, nice team, nice food, and the best view to see volcano! zen and tranquility atitude! Enjoy your vacacion in arca de noa, just spend a great time in santa cruz!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicoloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Isla Verde for 2 nights this past May. We spent most of our time at Arc de Noe for meals and afternoon lounging and ended up staying there the night before we headed home.

A group of local brothers that grew up in Santa Cruz run the establishment and they do a very good job providing a local and authentic experience for their guests. The food is simple but very good as are the drinks. The accommodations are simple and clean, everything that we wanted. If upscale is your game, then it probably won't be your place but it was perfectly suited to our needs. All meals are very reasonably priced and made to order, while other restaurants like the isla verde and iguana perdida require a reservation in the morning for dinner.

Admittedly, one of the biggest pluses for us was their ability to speak English. Our Spanish is.....lacking. By no one's fault but our own, it was one of the few times during our travels that we were able to sit down with locals and have real, great, conversation. We got to hear their story, their passion for what they do at the Hotel, and get insider knowledge on the outdoor adventures available in the area (They organize and run most of the trips like that in the area. Even if you are staying somewhere else you will be referred to Arc de Noe for your activities).

The bottom line:
- We ate there every night that we stayed in Santa Cruz
- We gladly drank their fresh smoothies and 'dark' lagers
- It was the most meaningful encounter we had with Guatemalans during our entire trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dbain2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Property: Hotel el Arca de Noe
Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing