We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good changes and a new leaf!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good changes and a new leaf!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arca de Noe has seen various changes in management in the last year or two. This past trip to the hotel I was delighted to learn that a local family and tour operators took over the hotel and kitchen. The food was fabulous local food, well prepared with gourmet flare. Yummy vegetable soup, home made bread, stuffed chiles and plantains with mole sauce. The service was impecable, friendly and punctual. So nice to see a hotel and restrurant that was locally operatated in Santa Cruz and every bit just as nice as its competitors! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    37
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
59
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I highly recommend Arca de Noe! Christian was a great host and cook - he made lovely spinach ravioli (all from scratch) on our first night. The best thing about this charming, lovely place is the garden - the hotel has a huge flower filled garden right on the water and the cooks pick limes and avocados straight from the many fruit trees and make the freshest guacamole i've had!

Don't expect the latest mod cons as the Arca is rustic and runs on solar power. However, that just adds to the charm and the tranquillity of the place. If you want a bit of a party and drinks, just pop across the lane to Iguana's, which is a loud, backpacker type of place. I much preferred then heading home to our lovely Arca and be serenaded by the sounds of nature. Oh - the view that you wake up to is the lovely volcano across the lake - simply magical!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinfia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

so relaxing to be there. close to boat if you want to go anywhere,love the garden just a front of the volcano when you wake up in the morning .sure be back again ,its a nice stop when you travel in guatemala specialy when you want to stay in the lake atitlan. the hotel have a affordable price and clean ,you can stay here a week a go to visit the lake.my favorite was take a breakfast with a amazing view of the lake , it s a very quite place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinson71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

i love this place!
as a teacher in guatemala city i come to the lake often and ALWAYS stay at arca de noe.
the hospitality, views, food and company are the best.
check it out!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We arrived in Santa Cruz and ended up at Arc de Noe. We paid 140q per night for 2 people and stayed in a beautiful room with a private bath that had fantastic views of all 3 volcanoes! The room itself was beautiful as were the grounds and it was just the place to relax after a strenuous hike. We had dinner there and as everyone said the food was delicious. Make sure to take a flashlight! It being an Eco lodge, the lights and water were not always in perfect order but there was always a convenient alternative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjuli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We planned to stay here 2 nights and ended up staying 6! Anna is a truly world class chef and we have eaten in many of the top restaurants in London. We were treated to 6 course meals every night and never the same meal twice. She uses local ingredients, many from her garden, and combines local cuisines with others from around the world. Meals are very extremely good value too. Make sure you go when Anna is in residence! Wolfgang and Anna have had an interesting life and are great characters. The rooms are simple and rustic but comfortable. If the water pressure is no good in the room you always have the alternative communal shower room. The lodge has an amazing location right on the lake with spectacular views. Request a room further from the dock because the local taxis like to play their car stereos quite loud early in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocodilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We did not stay at el Arca but we ate here on our last evening and wished we had more evenings! The meal was excellent and would not have disgraced any major restaurant metropolis. A five course menu included: anchovy butter on apple with dried guava; banana soup (this was the most amazing soup I have ever eaten and we all had second helpings); parmesan tart; pork tenderloin in a fig sauce with couscous and broccoli (again, delicious) and peaches poached in Limoncella. Absolutely fantastic. Food is a bit of an obsession with us and we have eaten in many top restaurants around the world and the soup in particular is going in to our Top 5 dishes ever. The dinner costs for Q75 plus 10% which is good value for Santa Cruz - our hotel charged Q90 for a dinner and Isla Verde where we ate the previous evening charges Q100. The latter was good but no where near this class.

Arc de Noe also sells wine at reasonable (for Guatemala) prices.

Dinner is eaten family style which I am not normally crazy about but we enjoyed he company of a family from Atlanta and a couple from Montreal and hope they enjoyed our company too! The food would have been worth it even if the company hadn't been so pleasant. The ambiance of the simple room is also lovely - with candles and music.

Basically we had a $300 plus dining experience for around $35. Cant say fairer than that really.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KateWCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Arca de Noe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Arca de Noe

Property: Hotel el Arca de Noe
Address: Main street next to the main publick dock, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arca de Noe Hotel is a gorgeous place to stay in Lake Atitlan - we're famous for the most rustic and eco-friendly style hotel, and even with the best lake front cabins to relax!There are more elegant hotels in the region. There are certainly more expensive places to stay, but no hotel at any price can match Arca de Noe's quiet ambiance.The hotel has ten rooms, five with private baths with very hot showers! our hotels runs with 100% solar energy system! and help the environment. At our Hotel we have a Restaurant, Free Wifi, Transportation, Day tours and Hikes and many more activities. 100% local family owned - Spanish, English, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel el Arca de Noe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Arca De Noe Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing