We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, fun night-life, and amazing accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We came to Iguana Perdida after a few days at Casa del Mundo in Jaibalito. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we had chosen Casa del Mundo for a quiet, relaxing few days and had chosen Iguana Perdida as a more social, loose atmosphere. We found that to be true and much more. We arrived on a Saturday night in time for the BBQ and drag party. What a fun night! Dave, one of the owners, serenaded us on guitar with his friend on drums. That lead into a great dance party. My sister and I were a little concerned that it would feel too much like a college party (we're in our early 30s), but it was very sweet and there were people of all ages dancing and having fun.

Our room was amazing. We stayed in Room Atitlan, one of the more expensive private rooms ($40 for two people) and it was huge and beautifully decorated with a private balcony with gorgeous lake views and a comfortable king sized bed. Although it was close to the main building, we had no issues with noise or any other disturbances. We spent a lovely two nights.

Another thing that we really enjoyed was the Iguana's commitment to connecting their guests with the local culture. You can take Spanish lessons and we chose to take a backstrap weaving class with one of the women who works at the Iguana. We were invited to her house in the village and got to meet her family and learn how to weave on a backstrap loom. It was a great way to learn about the textiles that we were seeing in all of the markets as well as to have an opportunity to spend time in an indigenous village and talk with some indigenous women.

The staff were very helpful and interesting. It seems like there is a lot of turnover since they tend to hire travelers who want to settle down for a while (although they have a steady staff of local women in the kitchen). It made for a fun mix of staff and the managers, Annalise and Kevin, do a great job keeping the atmosphere fun while taking care of guest needs. Deadle and Dave, the owners of the Iguana, were around quite a bit and were very welcoming and accommodating. They have a real commitment to the community and to Lake Atitlan and you can tell by the feeling of the Iguana.

I would highly recommend Iguana Perdida. The fact that you can stay for $5 a night in the shared dorms or for $40 in a private room gives a really fun cross-section of travelers and the iguana does a great job of accommodating them all!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMaria88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for La Iguana Perdida Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 447 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

Recommendable for those looking for a place to meet other people, have some laughs, and yet still have comfort and relaxation. I would not recommend the place for romantic getaway, but it is definitely a desirable tourist destination. Remember only 10Q from Panajachel to Santa Cruz, where the place is located!"

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This hostel is in a great spot to view/access the lake for various activities. Kayak rentals are close by, there are yoga classes and massages available, and for those wanting to dive, it can be done here. The food was great and the people are warm and welcoming. It definitely attracts a more laid-back traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BhiZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I was recommended to go to La Iguana Perdida and it's situated on a beautiful spot indeed. And it is very nice with the common dinners, especially for a solo traveller. But the staff really made my stay unpleasant. The only thig they had in mind was to talk to each other, drink and smoke weed. If you wanted to order something in the bar it felt like you were interupting and they wish you'd leave. I stayed in on of the dorms, which was nice and clean. But part of the staff also lived there and they had booze parties on the veranda (with just a thin wall) and weed parties inside the dorm. Should staff really behave in that way? Moreover, they forgot to book my shuttle even though I reminded them twice. I know staff change a lot in these places but I won't go back, there are several beautiful places around the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smurfen1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

and once again I spent a good chunk of it at the " iggy " . The congenial owners dave and deadle live on site, make you feel right at home and are always striving to maintain the standards of cleanliness and super healthy and nummy food....in the past year or two they've added several beautiful units, with ensuites and HOT showers which, though out of the price range for the average backpacker, are still extremely good value for what you get.....
and for those backpackers, there's still great dorms for next to nothing (one like an open air treehouse ) . As ever, the view of the volcanoes across the lake is spectacular ( even better while doin' the downward dog with Belle, the local yoga master on the patio!!! )
Go! explore! enjoy!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purposefulltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Didn't stay at the hotel but enjoyed drinks almost every day. Great views of the lake and relaxing atmosphere. Daily happy hour specials. Great place to relax!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

La Iguana Perdida is a wonderfully casual place on Lake Atitlan, managed by a charming couple. There are dorm facilities as well as private quarters. It attracts a diverse, international mix of guests ranging from backpackers to scuba divers to codgers. Good food, served buffet style in a great indoor/outdoor setting.

It's a great base from which to explore other villages on the lake and a fine place to just hang out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readyned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
256 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana Perdida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $12 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the idyllic and less-visited north shore of Lake Atitlan, Santa Cruz is an indigenous Kaqchikel village with around two thousand local inhabitants. This quiet village has long been a favorite destination for those in the know who want to get away from it all, and La Iguana Perdida is proud to have been active in the community here since we opened the doors in 1996. We’ve been an “eco-hotel” since before the term became popular, converted to solar in the last few years, and we’ve always been active in the environmental movement on Atitlan. The choice of lodging at the Iguana runs the gamut, from the original wood construction consisting of spacious dormitories, private rooms with shared bath and a rustic cabana, to the more modern side of the hotel with luxury rooms with private bath, balcony and lake views. Shared bathroom facilities are scattered around the spacious property tucked behind the bouganvillas and banana trees. Our restaurant serves delicious breakfasts and lunches from 8am until 3pm daily and family-style feasts every night at 7pm often followed by activities like open-mic and trivia. All meals are prepared by the lovely local Mayan staff, and vegetarian, gluten free and other dietary restrictions are always available upon request. The climate (warm in the sun and cool in the shade) is perfect for whatever level of activity you’re seeking, even if it’s lounging in a hammock with a good book all day. Located right on the waterfront, La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer. Start the day with a yoga class on the patio overlooking the lake with the volcanos framed in the distance then go for a kayak or follow shaded trails and paths along the shoreline for a dip in the magical waters of Atitlan. After a day of hiking or kayaking, fire up our traditional Mayan sauna or treat yourself to a massage with one of our experienced practitioners. There’s no reason to be bored even on a rainy day with our pool table, dartboard, book exchange and TV room at your disposal, and if you’d like to immerse yourself more in the local community we can organise backstrap weaving classes in a local home or one-on-one Spanish classes. We have a computer room available free of charge if you need to get online, but we don’t offer Wi-Fi (WHAT!?) as we like to keep the vibe more about great conversations, board games, acoustic guitars and sunsets rather than posting selfies and status updates. If water sports is your bag, we are home to ATI Divers, the only scuba operation on Lake Atitlan since 1996. Enjoy a fun dive or take the four-day PADI Open Water Course and become a certified diver. Atitlan is a collapsed volcanic caldera with massive volcanic rock formations, fish, crabs and even volcanic hot-spots you can plunge your hands into. One of the few spots in the world where you can get the high-altitude specialty certification without freezing! We’re open to travellers of all ages, and with over twenty years in business we hope we can find a way to make your visit to Lake Atilan a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Iguana Perdida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing