We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a great find a cozy place with spectacular views of the lake friendly bilingual staff very attentive and great diving to top things off. I would most definetely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Guatemala.

Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    96
    23
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
114
131
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Iguana over new year and it was absolutely incredible. Having travelled through central america, This is definitely the best hostel that we stayed in. The staff are all amazing and so helpful and the location....unbeliveable!

If you want to relax and hang out, go on excursion, absorb the local culture or party hard, you can do all or none of these here.

Would recommend to any traveller of any age, group size or nationality.

Room Tip: The Castillo open air dorm is great value and really cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I can't speak highly enough of the Iguana. I was there for an extended stay (about a month) as interim housing, and I felt so lucky to have a place that really felt like home at the end of some very long days. This is mainly because of the people--the staff (many of whom are local Santa Cruz-ians, but also volunteers from around the world) were always warm and friendly, the food was warm and delicious (try their beet veggie burgers on Saturday nights, yum!), and the atmosphere was welcoming.

The Iguana seems to serve as a hub for visitors in Santa Cruz, long-term and short-term alike, to organize activities and find a place to rest or party. It's a good link between the local culture and a little taste of home, which was perfect for me. And of course the sunsets, right lakeside, cannot be beat.

In response to some of those (rare) less starred reviews that I see below mine, I do think it's important to remember that this is a hostel in a rural town in Guatemala, and standards, for me at least, should be a little different in terms of creature comforts. That said, the owners and managers have always been welcoming and receptive to feedback the entire time I visited, and most times I heard requests, they were quickly accommodated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travel2Places2Stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent the night of Jan. 6th, 2014 in the "Luna" room. The full size bed was hard, the pillows ( only one per person) were lumpy and the bed linnen and the whole room smelled musty and moldy. We had a very poor night.
The hotel's restaurant is pleasant and relaxed. However, the menu is limited and our food was not tasty. For dinner there is a fixed menu with ample but unappetizing food.The beef "empanadas" were made with groundbeef and something like kale or swiss chard and were very plain. No decent Guatemalan restaurant or " comedor" woulds serve such boring empanadas. We will definitely not be staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you had notified any of the staff about wanting extra pillows or new sheets we would have been able to make your stay a lot more comfortable, i am sorry that none of this was brought to our attention at the time, as i feel they are small things that could have easily been rectified and then you might have had a better nights sleep. We have had a look at the mattress in the room you stayed in and are in the process of replacing it with a new one, so thank you for notifying us. We always appreciate being given ways to improve our hotel.

I am also sorry you found the food bland, however all of our kitchen girls are Guatemalan and usually dish out pretty amazing meals. I will certainly let them know that you found the food, not up to scratch and talk to them about ways we can improve the flavour of the empanadas.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been been meaning to sign up to TripAdvisor for years, but never got around to it. However, after my stay here at La Iguana, I really felt it was about time, because this place really deserves to be congratulated! I wish to share the my experience and feelings in regards to this beautiful spot (also shared by the whole group i was with during my stay here over New Years!!).

Over the years I have stayed in many hostels, in many countries, over four continents, but I have to say that the Iguana Perdida is very much the cream of the crop! I loved this place because of: - The amazing (and ever so slightly isolated) location at 1500 meters above sea level on an enchanting lake, the stunning view, the ever-changing sunsets (that you would never believe if you saw them portrayed in painting), hikes that provide you with wonderful panoramic views of the lake and the daunting volcanoes that surround it, friendly locals, the ability to jump on a boat for the price of a coffee and be transported to any one of the different and highly varied villages that surround the lake, each one with a different vibe and atmosphere, the flora (the hostel grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained by local cheery Guatemalans), the fauna (I'm not sure how many species of hummingbird their are around the lake but if you want to get up close and personal to these incredible creatures this is the place), guitar singing around the camp fire, star gazing, the cozy film room (or hang over room perhaps suits it better), open mic night, family style dinners and so much more....

But above all what elevates this hostel for me is the beautiful atmosphere, and the feeling of being immediately part of the "Iguana family" (even though we only stayed for a week we really felt like we were part of the whole buzz) . The staff were so welcoming, and really seemed to bend over backwards to make us feel comfortable and at home.

What a unique place !! Thank you to all the staff, wish we could have stayed longer....I will be back !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCX2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are all so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. Christmas is always great when people get into the festivities and have fun! Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful view from this spot at lake atitlan. Serene setting. A beautiful place to visit during day or night.

Rooms were cool and open air.

We found it a bit difficult to navigate getting to and from cities like San Pedro from Santa Cruz as it gets pricey to take direct boats and after 5pm your transportation options dwindle to nothing unless you want a private boat (300Q is what we were quoted for a private boat to San Pedro).

Great restaurant next door where you can get a nice meal cooked for you for between 10-20q, and the woman cooking is a saint.


But then the bad:

As a female traveler I was bummed out by the fact that a staff member took my friends photo with his camera inches from her face when She was kissing some guy on New Years. When she asked him to stop, he moved on to me. It made me feel super uncomfortable so we left the bar area. I dont care where I'm kissing someone, it's inappropriate for staff to make guests feel uncomfortable/embarrassed when everyone is partying in a bar on nye after hours. I don't want anyone photographing that regardless of what their intentions are. That's just weird and inappropriate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This an amazing hotel/restaurant in the middle of nowhere, it is located in Atitlan lake, in order to get there you have to get first to Panajachel and take a boat from Tzanjuyu muelle, there are boat every 20mins. The place is good with a beautiful view to the volcanoes and lake as well, it is the perfect place to relax and find yourself. The service is good as well as the food... I recommend you the Saturday parties since guys wear dresses and girls dress like guy, it is funny how they act... the building is good, maybe it just need some repairs in the bathroom since it is kind of smelly but is not that bad...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#12 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana Perdida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Property: La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the idyllic north shore of Lake Atitlán, Santa Cruz has long been a favorite destination for international tourists, back-packers and locals who want to get away from it all.And for more than fifteen years, La Iguana Perdida has been one of the main reasons for the popularity of this unique oasis, thanks to owners Deedle and Dave. The choice of lodging runs the gamut, from big dormitories, to luxury rooms with a private bath, balcony and lake views, to a rustic cabin. Seven bathrooms are scattered around the spacious property, all with hot water. The climate is perfect for lounging in a hammock or comfortable chair all day. La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer.A Yoga session on the deck is a good way to start the day. Next you can go kayaking, or follow shaded trails and paths with picnic spots for along the way. After a day of hiking or kayaking, treat yourself to a wood-fired sauna or a massage. Water Sports, ScubaATI Divers, based at Iguana and with an office in Panajachel, has many options for scuba diving and snorkeling. ATI Divers operates a number of PADI scuba diving courses include certification in high altitude diving as well as other courses for professionals. Lake Atilán is one of the few places on the planet where you can swim amongst huge underwater volcanic formations and petrified trees, and actually feel hot volcanic mud on the lake bottom. Fish, crabs and other marine life add to the color. World Famous BBQ The restaurant offers inexpensive breakfast and lunch. Dinner is a delicious three-course meal with an option for vegetarians. Meat-eaters: don’t miss Saturday night’s all-you-can-eat barbecue, topped off with chocolate brownies. Theme parties, poker games, and other entertainment round out the La Iguana Perdida experience in Santa Cruz, one of Guatemala’s top vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Iguana Perdida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing