We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night I have had in a long time, would not recommend to my friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst night I have had in a long time, would not recommend to my friends.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent the night of Jan. 6th, 2014 in the "Luna" room. The full size bed was hard, the pillows ( only one per person) were lumpy and the bed linnen and the whole room smelled musty and moldy. We had a very poor night.
The hotel's restaurant is pleasant and relaxed. However, the menu is limited and our food was not tasty. For dinner there is a fixed menu with ample but unappetizing food.The beef "empanadas" were made with groundbeef and something like kale or swiss chard and were very plain. No decent Guatemalan restaurant or " comedor" woulds serve such boring empanadas. We will definitely not be staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. If you had notified any of the staff about wanting extra pillows or new sheets we would have been able to make your stay a lot more comfortable, i am sorry that none of this was brought to our attention at the time, as i feel they are small things that could have easily been rectified and then you might have had a better nights sleep. We have had a look at the mattress in the room you stayed in and are in the process of replacing it with a new one, so thank you for notifying us. We always appreciate being given ways to improve our hotel.

I am also sorry you found the food bland, however all of our kitchen girls are Guatemalan and usually dish out pretty amazing meals. I will certainly let them know that you found the food, not up to scratch and talk to them about ways we can improve the flavour of the empanadas.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    100
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
37
120
137
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been been meaning to sign up to TripAdvisor for years, but never got around to it. However, after my stay here at La Iguana, I really felt it was about time, because this place really deserves to be congratulated! I wish to share the my experience and feelings in regards to this beautiful spot (also shared by the whole group i was with during my stay here over New Years!!).

Over the years I have stayed in many hostels, in many countries, over four continents, but I have to say that the Iguana Perdida is very much the cream of the crop! I loved this place because of: - The amazing (and ever so slightly isolated) location at 1500 meters above sea level on an enchanting lake, the stunning view, the ever-changing sunsets (that you would never believe if you saw them portrayed in painting), hikes that provide you with wonderful panoramic views of the lake and the daunting volcanoes that surround it, friendly locals, the ability to jump on a boat for the price of a coffee and be transported to any one of the different and highly varied villages that surround the lake, each one with a different vibe and atmosphere, the flora (the hostel grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained by local cheery Guatemalans), the fauna (I'm not sure how many species of hummingbird their are around the lake but if you want to get up close and personal to these incredible creatures this is the place), guitar singing around the camp fire, star gazing, the cozy film room (or hang over room perhaps suits it better), open mic night, family style dinners and so much more....

But above all what elevates this hostel for me is the beautiful atmosphere, and the feeling of being immediately part of the "Iguana family" (even though we only stayed for a week we really felt like we were part of the whole buzz) . The staff were so welcoming, and really seemed to bend over backwards to make us feel comfortable and at home.

What a unique place !! Thank you to all the staff, wish we could have stayed longer....I will be back !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCX2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are all so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. Christmas is always great when people get into the festivities and have fun! Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful view from this spot at lake atitlan. Serene setting. A beautiful place to visit during day or night.

Rooms were cool and open air.

We found it a bit difficult to navigate getting to and from cities like San Pedro from Santa Cruz as it gets pricey to take direct boats and after 5pm your transportation options dwindle to nothing unless you want a private boat (300Q is what we were quoted for a private boat to San Pedro).

Great restaurant next door where you can get a nice meal cooked for you for between 10-20q, and the woman cooking is a saint.


But then the bad:

As a female traveler I was bummed out by the fact that a staff member took my friends photo with his camera inches from her face when She was kissing some guy on New Years. When she asked him to stop, he moved on to me. It made me feel super uncomfortable so we left the bar area. I dont care where I'm kissing someone, it's inappropriate for staff to make guests feel uncomfortable/embarrassed when everyone is partying in a bar on nye after hours. I don't want anyone photographing that regardless of what their intentions are. That's just weird and inappropriate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This an amazing hotel/restaurant in the middle of nowhere, it is located in Atitlan lake, in order to get there you have to get first to Panajachel and take a boat from Tzanjuyu muelle, there are boat every 20mins. The place is good with a beautiful view to the volcanoes and lake as well, it is the perfect place to relax and find yourself. The service is good as well as the food... I recommend you the Saturday parties since guys wear dresses and girls dress like guy, it is funny how they act... the building is good, maybe it just need some repairs in the bathroom since it is kind of smelly but is not that bad...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We decided to spend Christmas at Lake Atitlan; fellow travelers and other hostel owners recommended this place as the best around the lake. This place has been around for somewhere around 14 years. The building's aren't the newest/cleanest but that comes with the location; the dorms are a bit cleaner than the private room we stayed in. The community is super friendly and open here; it's a good place to socialize with fellow backpackers.

A note for people who enjoy local food or are on budget: there's a tiny homestyle restaurant run by Dona Etelbina run out of her own house literally twenty steps up the hill from the dock. This lady KNOWS how to cook. She does delicious made-to-order, fresh Guatemalan breakfast/lunch/dinner for 20Q or under. Also does surprisingly great pancakes. The hostel can start to get pricey, so this was our go-to for the nights we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oreo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the hostel friendly and open, we try to keep a social environment for all. We will definitely have a look at some of our budget private rooms and see what improvements we can make on cleanliness. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the Iguana Perdida over Christmas and had a truly wonderful time. Our room was extremely spacious, furnished in Guatemalan style, with a lovely ensuite (plenty of hot water), and a balcony giving us a fabulous view of the lake and surrounding volcanoes. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming and we loved the communal evening meals where we had the opportunity to meet people from all over the world. It was liberating not to have to choose what to eat, and the food was all excellent.
There was plenty to do, all just a short boat ride or lakeside hike away, and the staff were always on hand with suggestions or to help with arrangements. Alternatively there was plenty of activity on the dock if we just wanted to sit and watch, as well as activities offered by La Iguana, such as diving, yoga, kayaking, backstrap weaving, Spanish lessons etc. There were also evening events- quiz nights, open mic nights and dressing up!
We would definitely go back ourselves and recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: If you want a treat, go for Atitlan or Toliman- stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toshtwinkletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for you positive review. We really loved having you guys here over the Christmas and hope to see you both again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My friends and I reserved three nights and only stayed two. The staff were rude to us for our entire stay. It felt like an exclusive club that we were not welcome in. The first thing they told us before we could even put our backpacks down was that we would not be getting dinner because we did not call them to reserve it. We watched them serve every other guest and we're told there was simply nothing they could do for us, and that we would be lucky to find food in Santa Cruz. Luckily we walked a couple of doors up from la iguana and found a wonderful woman who was able to serve us delicious Guatemalan food for 1/3 of the price of what La Iguana charges.

The facilities are impressive. They have a wide range of rooms at various comfort levels and prices. We stayed in the open air dorms for just a few dollars a night, which was a good value. You can definitely be very comfortable at La Iguana.

The most upsetting part of our stay, and the straw that broke the camel's back was that our group of four girls just did not feel comfortable/safe staying at this hostel. It was brought to our attention that some staff had taken pictures on a personal camera of personal/intimate displays that some of the people in our group had. There were no apologies made by staff, only excuses in the favor of the particular staff member who took the photos. It was brushed off as something that was just not a big deal, and we left feeling that we had been sexually harassed. I just really do not recommend staying there if your are a woman or group of female travelers.

My overall opinion of La Iguana (harassment aside) is that it is the place to stay if you want to go to Guatemala without really experiencing Guatemalan culture. It is like a low end sandals resort. You never have to leave the facilities once you are there. After talking with staff we learned that all of them had not even left the facilities to experience the town and culture they live and work in daily. The easy way is what a lot of people want, but if you are looking for any kind of authentic experience, do not stay at La Iguana.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2DollaGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
I'm sorry that you didn't have a good time staying with us, but the claims of sexual harassment that you are making are not only unjust, but must be taken very seriously. It is not an accusation that you can simply throw out there without really thinking about what it is you are claiming.

First of all, you all arrived late on the night before New Years eve, which is our busiest time of year when we had over 60 people to feed. We specify in our confirmation email to all of our guests that we put on a family style dinner every night and that guest need to sign up before 3pm so that we can give the kitchen girls the number to prepare for. We received no reply from any of your group and unfortunately we just didn't have enough food at such short notice, we have to give priority to those guests who did sign up. I believe we recommended that you could eat at the small place a short walk from here and i am glad that you had a good meal there and that they were still open!

On New Year's Eve we held a party and as you can imagine lots of people had cameras and where taking pictures. Your friend was kissing someone in the middle of the bar/restaurant area, if she had wanted more privacy, then perhaps she should have gone to somewhere a little more private. I do not believe that the photo was taken specifically to upset her, who she kisses and where is totally her choice. I can only apologise that she was upset by the photo, but i have spoken to the staff member who took it and it was not done in malice and certainly not as an act of sexual harassment! Our hostel is extremely safe and for you to insinuate that it is not a safe place for female to come is just ridiculous and unfair. Thousands of female travelers have passed through here with not a single problem. Your friend was not forced to take part in anything she didn't want to and seemed very happy on New Year's Eve to have hooked up with someone for the count down.

Comparing us to a sandals resort is also quite surprising as we are a hostel/hotel and don't claim to be anything but. We certainly do not trap or force any of our guests to stay within the compounds of the establishment, in fact we encourage guests to explore the town and go hiking during the day and can organise a whole host of activities to do such as spending a day with a local family learning the traditional method of back strap weaving, or renting our kayak and exploring the lake. What our guests do in there free time is not really something we hold responsibility for, you are on holiday, so what you choose to do and see is entirely up to you. If you wanted to have a totally more cultural experience i would suggest you did a homestay up in the village. I find it very hard to believe that you heard that none of our staff had been anywhere apart from La Iguana because i actually see then go off during their free days to do stuff all around the lake, but again this is their choice and i don't really see how this can be a reflection of La Iguana Perdida as a hotel..........................

Please in future think about the claims you make and what consequences they may have for other people before making them.

We wish you all the best and once again can only apologise that you felt unwelcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana Perdida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Property: La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the idyllic and less-visited north shore of Lake Atitlan, Santa Cruz is an indigenous Kaqchikel village with around two thousand local inhabitants. This quiet village has long been a favorite destination for those in the know who want to get away from it all, and La Iguana Perdida is proud to have been active in the community here since we opened the doors in 1996. We’ve been an “eco-hotel” since before the term became popular, converted to solar in the last few years, and we’ve always been active in the environmental movement on Atitlan. The choice of lodging at the Iguana runs the gamut, from the original wood construction consisting of spacious dormitories, private rooms with shared bath and a rustic cabana, to the more modern side of the hotel with luxury rooms with private bath, balcony and lake views. Shared bathroom facilities are scattered around the spacious property tucked behind the bouganvillas and banana trees. Our restaurant serves delicious breakfasts and lunches from 8am until 3pm daily and family-style feasts every night at 7pm often followed by activities like open-mic and trivia. All meals are prepared by the lovely local Mayan staff, and vegetarian, gluten free and other dietary restrictions are always available upon request. The climate (warm in the sun and cool in the shade) is perfect for whatever level of activity you’re seeking, even if it’s lounging in a hammock with a good book all day. Located right on the waterfront, La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer. Start the day with a yoga class on the patio overlooking the lake with the volcanos framed in the distance then go for a kayak or follow shaded trails and paths along the shoreline for a dip in the magical waters of Atitlan. After a day of hiking or kayaking, fire up our traditional Mayan sauna or treat yourself to a massage with one of our experienced practitioners. There’s no reason to be bored even on a rainy day with our pool table, dartboard, book exchange and TV room at your disposal, and if you’d like to immerse yourself more in the local community we can organise backstrap weaving classes in a local home or one-on-one Spanish classes. We have a computer room available free of charge if you need to get online, but we don’t offer Wi-Fi (WHAT!?) as we like to keep the vibe more about great conversations, board games, acoustic guitars and sunsets rather than posting selfies and status updates. If water sports is your bag, we are home to ATI Divers, the only scuba operation on Lake Atitlan since 1996. Enjoy a fun dive or take the four-day PADI Open Water Course and become a certified diver. Atitlan is a collapsed volcanic caldera with massive volcanic rock formations, fish, crabs and even volcanic hot-spots you can plunge your hands into. One of the few spots in the world where you can get the high-altitude specialty certification without freezing! We’re open to travellers of all ages, and with over twenty years in business we hope we can find a way to make your visit to Lake Atilan a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Iguana Perdida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing