We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with family feel. Great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with family feel. Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A really relaxing place on a very beautiful part of the lake. Evening dinners were the best as you sat around and shared your travel experiences with other guests.

The family who own the place r really welcoming. Sat night was really fun.

And it's great value for money.

If u just want to chill out for a few days this is a great place to do that.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Beckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    96
    23
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
114
131
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henning, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed there for a retreat. The staff was amazing. The rooms were gorgeous and clean. The view from any part of the hostel is spectacular.They have an amazing dog named Balto that walked up the mountain with us. It was a truly one of a kind unique experience. Just beware of the costume closet on Saturday nights or you may have a drag of a time :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMW-MN-WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz del Quiche, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was at La Iguana this weekend for a retreat with my world race squad. The hospitality was outstanding. This is a family owned and operated hostel. They are such wonderful friendly people. The staff and family are always around as well as there super chill dog Balto. In fact Balto hiked all the way up the mountain with my friends and I this weekend. There is so much to do or if you are just looking for a quiet calm place to hangout swing in a hammock and eat some absolutely amazing food you should definetly visit. The entire staff is knowledgeable about the area and love helping you find what you want to do. AMAZING!!!! Just Go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was great to spend here almost a week, cause the staff was super nice and the location its great, u can see the volcanoes in the morning, taking the great breakfast.
The price is super cheap for what u get, and the dinners were awesome, like the fried rice with coconut milk, and chocolate cake.
You can move easily in boat to the other towns round the lake,and in the nights u share all ur experiences at dinner with the drinks specials,definetely i want to come back soon...:D

Room Tip: the privates rooms with lake view are great.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arivargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff was super friendly and accomodating, the room was small, but very comfortable, and the bathrooms were very clean. I enjoyed the food and bar as well! I definitely recommend it to budget travelers and younger folk. It is also right by the pier - super convenient.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, you should let them know. I had to make a mental note for my middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The staff here are superfriendly and helpful, and the barbecue that we had was delicious. All the food was good. The views of the lake are stunning. There is not much to do at Santa Cruz other than walk around or kayak, or dive in the lake, so you should come here to chill out and admire the view, but maybe use Panajachel or another town as a base for touristic activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Horrible horrible horrible. The dorm are not really rooms, they don't have walls or even bug nets... A simple soup and spagetti dinner cost us 60Q, and there is no other option around. beware an avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here and that the family style dinner didn't work with your budget. In regards to the dorm you stayed in, you did stay in our most basic accommodation on offer which is an open air dorm. However if you had have spoken to us while you were here and expressed that you didn't like the style of the room we could have and would have happily moved you to one of other dorms which is enclosed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hospedaje El Viajero
Hospedaje El Viajero
#12 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana Perdida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Property: La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the idyllic north shore of Lake Atitlán, Santa Cruz has long been a favorite destination for international tourists, back-packers and locals who want to get away from it all.And for more than fifteen years, La Iguana Perdida has been one of the main reasons for the popularity of this unique oasis, thanks to owners Deedle and Dave. The choice of lodging runs the gamut, from big dormitories, to luxury rooms with a private bath, balcony and lake views, to a rustic cabin. Seven bathrooms are scattered around the spacious property, all with hot water. The climate is perfect for lounging in a hammock or comfortable chair all day. La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer.A Yoga session on the deck is a good way to start the day. Next you can go kayaking, or follow shaded trails and paths with picnic spots for along the way. After a day of hiking or kayaking, treat yourself to a wood-fired sauna or a massage. Water Sports, ScubaATI Divers, based at Iguana and with an office in Panajachel, has many options for scuba diving and snorkeling. ATI Divers operates a number of PADI scuba diving courses include certification in high altitude diving as well as other courses for professionals. Lake Atilán is one of the few places on the planet where you can swim amongst huge underwater volcanic formations and petrified trees, and actually feel hot volcanic mud on the lake bottom. Fish, crabs and other marine life add to the color. World Famous BBQ The restaurant offers inexpensive breakfast and lunch. Dinner is a delicious three-course meal with an option for vegetarians. Meat-eaters: don’t miss Saturday night’s all-you-can-eat barbecue, topped off with chocolate brownies. Theme parties, poker games, and other entertainment round out the La Iguana Perdida experience in Santa Cruz, one of Guatemala’s top vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Iguana Perdida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing