We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Iguana Perdida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I was at La Iguana this weekend for a retreat with my world race squad. The hospitality was outstanding. This is a family owned and operated hostel. They are such wonderful friendly people. The staff and family are always around as well as there super chill dog Balto. In fact Balto hiked all the way up the mountain with my friends and I this weekend. There is so much to do or if you are just looking for a quiet calm place to hangout swing in a hammock and eat some absolutely amazing food you should definetly visit. The entire staff is knowledgeable about the area and love helping you find what you want to do. AMAZING!!!! Just Go!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was great to spend here almost a week, cause the staff was super nice and the location its great, u can see the volcanoes in the morning, taking the great breakfast.
The price is super cheap for what u get, and the dinners were awesome, like the fried rice with coconut milk, and chocolate cake.
You can move easily in boat to the other towns round the lake,and in the nights u share all ur experiences at dinner with the drinks specials,definetely i want to come back soon...:D

Room Tip: the privates rooms with lake view are great.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arivargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The staff was super friendly and accomodating, the room was small, but very comfortable, and the bathrooms were very clean. I enjoyed the food and bar as well! I definitely recommend it to budget travelers and younger folk. It is also right by the pier - super convenient.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, you should let them know. I had to make a mental note for my middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unbeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The staff here are superfriendly and helpful, and the barbecue that we had was delicious. All the food was good. The views of the lake are stunning. There is not much to do at Santa Cruz other than walk around or kayak, or dive in the lake, so you should come here to chill out and admire the view, but maybe use Panajachel or another town as a base for touristic activities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Horrible horrible horrible. The dorm are not really rooms, they don't have walls or even bug nets... A simple soup and spagetti dinner cost us 60Q, and there is no other option around. beware an avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laiguana, Manager at La Iguana Perdida Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here and that the family style dinner didn't work with your budget. In regards to the dorm you stayed in, you did stay in our most basic accommodation on offer which is an open air dorm. However if you had have spoken to us while you were here and expressed that you didn't like the style of the room we could have and would have happily moved you to one of other dorms which is enclosed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thank you Shona and the team at la Iguana Perdida, you made our stay memorable! the atmosphere was perfect for what we were looking for, especially enjoying the Saturday dressup party. You offer a wide varity of really good food, good portion size and drink selection. I like the tree house style dorm room, it provided good ventitalion on the warm nights. La Iguana was a perfect place to relax after three months of some hectic travels, the cozy movie room, the sofa with the worlds best view and your friendly staff definately made the iguana a place to recommend to fellow travelers (which we have without a doubt been spreading the word).
The sauna is a must!

Room Tip: if you like the outdoors or the novelty of it, the castillo dorm is great, three walls and no power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This property right on the shores of Lake Atitlan will spoil you rotten, if you let it. There are a range of accommodation options to suit each pocket but I would recommend upgrading (or having a generous friend do it for you) to one of the private, lake view rooms. There is a little or as much for you do here - I chose the former. Lounging in the sun in hammocks, reading and occasionally raising a lazy eye to take in the stunning volcanic views. The food served here is AMAZING and dinnertimes are an optional communal affair. Happy Hour is a great time also to meet people if you are a solo traveller. Bar/reception staff appears to be voluntary but my experience was all good. There is a movie room/library, optional yoga, diving etc but to be honest I had the best time acclimatising by just eating, drinking and being merry.

Room Tip: Try and tie in with one of the legendary party (cross-dressing) nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.7 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
678 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
259 reviews
3.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
289 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Iguana Perdida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Iguana Perdida Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the idyllic and less-visited north shore of Lake Atitlan, Santa Cruz is an indigenous Kaqchikel village with around two thousand local inhabitants. This quiet village has long been a favorite destination for those in the know who want to get away from it all, and La Iguana Perdida is proud to have been active in the community here since we opened the doors in 1996. We’ve been an “eco-hotel” since before the term became popular, converted to solar in the last few years, and we’ve always been active in the environmental movement on Atitlan. The choice of lodging at the Iguana runs the gamut, from the original wood construction consisting of spacious dormitories, private rooms with shared bath and a rustic cabana, to the more modern side of the hotel with luxury rooms with private bath, balcony and lake views. Shared bathroom facilities are scattered around the spacious property tucked behind the bouganvillas and banana trees. Our restaurant serves delicious breakfasts and lunches from 8am until 3pm daily and family-style feasts every night at 7pm often followed by activities like open-mic and trivia. All meals are prepared by the lovely local Mayan staff, and vegetarian, gluten free and other dietary restrictions are always available upon request. The climate (warm in the sun and cool in the shade) is perfect for whatever level of activity you’re seeking, even if it’s lounging in a hammock with a good book all day. Located right on the waterfront, La Iguana Perdida is one of the best places to enjoy the beauty and serenity that Lake Atitlan has to offer. Start the day with a yoga class on the patio overlooking the lake with the volcanos framed in the distance then go for a kayak or follow shaded trails and paths along the shoreline for a dip in the magical waters of Atitlan. After a day of hiking or kayaking, fire up our traditional Mayan sauna or treat yourself to a massage with one of our experienced practitioners. There’s no reason to be bored even on a rainy day with our pool table, dartboard, book exchange and TV room at your disposal, and if you’d like to immerse yourself more in the local community we can organise backstrap weaving classes in a local home or one-on-one Spanish classes. We have a computer room available free of charge if you need to get online, but we don’t offer Wi-Fi (WHAT!?) as we like to keep the vibe more about great conversations, board games, acoustic guitars and sunsets rather than posting selfies and status updates. If water sports is your bag, we are home to ATI Divers, the only scuba operation on Lake Atitlan since 1996. Enjoy a fun dive or take the four-day PADI Open Water Course and become a certified diver. Atitlan is a collapsed volcanic caldera with massive volcanic rock formations, fish, crabs and even volcanic hot-spots you can plunge your hands into. One of the few spots in the world where you can get the high-altitude specialty certification without freezing! We’re open to travellers of all ages, and with over twenty years in business we hope we can find a way to make your visit to Lake Atilan a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Iguana Perdida Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing