We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Sumaya
Nearby Hotels
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel el Arca de Noe(Santa Cruz La Laguna)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$56
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
$182
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Fortuna at Atitlan(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel IslaVerde(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Schumann(San Marcos La Laguna)
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
326
28
6
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
28
6
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretreat centeryoga retreatpersonal retreatchickenlife changinglake atitlangroup retreathealing artsyoga facilitiesmagical placenooks and crannieshot tubeach mealspa treatmentsyoga roombeautiful retreatspent a week
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 370 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was my 3rd year at Villa Sumaya & 2nd time bringing a yoga group to the retreat center...what a treat. The staff is exceptional from Victoria the manager, to the fantastic kitchen folks, amazing massage therapists & body workers, & Wendy is so warm & welcoming. We had an amazing Protection Ceremony, enjoyed kayaking, hiking, & most of all exploring the Mayan culture & people. Lake Atitlan is truly an adventure & very unique in this world. Waking up every mooring to the lake & the volcanoes was breathtaking!

Room Tip: I love the older Maya Rose rooms, & the new rooms were lovely also.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbrookemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I just finished leading a yoga retreat at Villa Sumaya, third year in a row! This is a magical place, the 2 studios are beautiful, & perfect for yoga & meditation, healing arts...both with panoramic views of Lake Atitlan & the volcanoes across the lake...its a magnificent location. The food is delicious, healthy & fresh. The staff are gracious & helpful. The rooms are lovely, simple, clean, charming. We did a kayak & hiking tour with Lee along the lake which was spectacular. The Mayan villages on the lake are authentic, the women's cooperatives make beautiful textiles all by hand.... This is a very special place, the owner Wendy has built a beautiful sanctuary being Villa Sumaya for yoga, meditation, peace & quiet. Also they offer superb healing therapeutic massage & body work, & spa treatments. Everyone left rejuvenated, relaxed, inspired.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My partner and I live in Antigua, Guatemala and this is our absolute first choice of place to escape to when we can get away for a few days to the lake. Just a few hours in this tranquil oasis and you already feel your heart rate slow down and if I don't sound too New Agey, my aura actually expand. There are so many lovely little niches around the property to go and sit, read, enjoy the view, the sun or simply just watch the slowed down life go by on the lake. Their rooms are spacious and comfortable with beautiful touches and design. I believe all their rooms come with a stunning view of the lake. The landscaping of the property is also beautifully laid out (despite recently lake level rises/flooding) with an abundance of flora and fauna and many magical corners to go sit, relax & replenish your soul. The menu is great and suits our vegetarian palate well. They also have a lovely little shop with many beautiful and inexpensive hand-crafted items to choose from. The staff (many English speaking) are polite, work with a smile and always willing to accommodate any of our requests. I would also like to add that Villa Sumaya is situated far enough away from Panajachel (to be blissfully quiet) but a relatively short boat ride from the Panajachel dock, which is rather lovely when you are feeling tired and have already endured a long car ride from Guatemala City or Antigua. Dearest Villa Sumaya and staff - we shall be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I recently spent a week at Villa Sumaya as part of a writing and yoga retreat. The setting of this retreat center is beautiful and serene. Every room overlooks Lake Atitlan and has its own private patio or outdoor sitting area. The vegetarian meals (with a chicken or fish option for an additional cost) and are delicious and creative. The Temple, where we practiced yoga each day also overlook the Lake. All in all, a well run resort/retreat to which I would return in a minute.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have private sitting areas although some are larger than others; each room overlooks the lake and all are beautifully and naturally decorated. Some rooms have single beds and some have queen size beds with hammocks in the outdoor sitting area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97,869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

An amazing retreat Center nestled in the most beautiful surroundings.
The staff is there to meet and excede your needs.
The accommodations are spotless and beautifully decorated.
The food is amazing and plenty of it.
The therapist are well rounded in each of their specialities and willing to work very hard to get
everyone seen.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews