We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Jungle Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 4, 2014

La Fortuna is a beautiful boutique hotel that manages to provide an authentic jungle experience while still providing basic western amenities (comfy bed, hot water and electricity). The place is beautiful, the food is very good and the service is friendly and caring. The owners do most of the work themselves and are very friendly and helpful, and their dogs are super sweet as well.

There are some steps to be climbed and some of the cabins require some jungle walking to reach, so not recommended for physically challenged individuals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zivziv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for squeezing us in to your honeymoon! We would have loved to have had you both longer, but are happy to have at least had one night! Thank you so much for coming to stay with us - it was a pleasure meeting you both. We really appreciate the time and kind words in the review.

Wishing you both the best -

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 566 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you are looking for an amazingly affordable, beautiful, and relaxing getaway on Lake Atitlan then you would regret staying anywhere else. A perfect spot for couples looking for some time away. Great food, great management. Living arrangements are amazing (if you are into Eco-friendly/outdoor amenities). Wonderful fresh water (no chlorine) hot tub to enjoy at night. There is some construction going on right now which once complete will tie the place together. We stayed in a petite bungalow which was perfect for us, but for a longer stay you may want to get the suite which has a bit more room. We would recommend suite 1 which is basically water front. Don't forget a rain jacket and hiking shoes!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shlove55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for not choosing to spend your weekend getaway at the lake with us, but for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. We hope that we have the pleasure of a repeat stay in October when you return. Thank you again for your kind words.

We wish you both the best -

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're searching for the best place to stay on Lake Atitlan (or Guatemala for that matter!); stop looking and book La Fortuna now! Everything about it is perfect, particularly for a romantic break (we stayed the first 4 nights of our honeymoon). It was one of the highlights of our 3 weeks in Central America. What makes it so great?

1. The Owners: Steve and Kat are so friendly and helpful. They organised our transport from Guatemala city airport, transport to our next destination and even a midnight pickup in their own boat from the Panajachel pier when we arrived. Brilliant advice on what to do on the lake, as well as a great story of the history of La Fortuna and their plans for the future. Also the staff are wonderful too.

2. The Location: La Fortuna is in a secluded cove with private pier, so it's totally private and relaxing but still only a cheap ferry ride from the towns around the lake. Feels like you could well be on your own private island!

3. The Lodge: We stayed in the lodge at the front which had a giant bed, outdoor bathroom (hot hot hot shower/bath!), veranda with deck chairs hammock & table, and a mezzanine upper deck with sofa. And an amazing view over the lake! I highly recommend this lodge, well worth the extra cost. Also, when we arrived the path to our lodge from the pier was lit up by candles and lanterns - lovely touch!

4. The Food: Breakfast is great (delivered to your lodge) and dinner is even better - beats anywhere else we tried around the lake. Again, delivered to your lodge. Luxury!

5. The Outdoor Wood-Fired Hot Tub: Stays hot late into the night; perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine and looking over the lake, and up at the starry sky (and fireflies!).

That's just my top 5 favourite points - there are many more! Do yourself a favour; book La Fortuna and find out the others yourself. You will not regret it!!

Hope to come back sometime....

James & Marianne

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ballyhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

WOW! Thank you so much guys for such a great review. I have to say though that with guests like you and your wife - you make work feel like a pleasure. Seriously - you were two of the nicest people we have met to date, and it was a treat having such sweet, funny and interesting people as clients. We wish you both the best, and are so happy that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon with us. The puppies say hi - and thank you again for taking the time to recount your experience here, and for such kind words.

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My favourite thing about the internet is being able to hear about the stories and experiences of others and try to learn from them before venturing into something unknown... I can honestly say that not a single review and praise for La Fortuna could have ever prepared us for the bliss and perfect serenity we experienced in this cute little bungalow by the lake.
From the grounds, views and location, get ready to have your breath taken away the second that you come within sight of La Fortuna. We were honored to hear the story of how their home came together, and all of the hard work Steve and his beauty of a wife Kat have put into designing every little detail from a chair to a door to a railing to the presentation and taste of the food.
The staff is fantastic and sweet beyond words. Maria, Magdalena and Paulina along with the rest of the ayudantes will go out of their way to ensure you're being well looked after.

The food was fantastic. The rooms were immaculately clean and had a great view, with plenty of privacy. The outdoor yet secluded shower/tub and bathroom was a refreshing change from your typical travel experience. You NEED to visit their wood fired hot tub! Just beautiful!

This is not a resort for those who need to be glued to their technology and media. This is a place to get away from it all, appreciate the beauty of the world around you, discover new towns and tastes, and immerse yourself into a culture so rich of history that you will wonder why you didn't visit sooner. Thank you to Kat and Steve for all of their attention to detail, their suggestions on what to do and where to go, and to their gracious staff for all their hard work. We can't thank you enough.

We are already planning our next visit and will be sure to share our story, photos, and enthusiasm with friends and family alike so that they may visit too. Muchas gracias!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is anything for you to worry about regardless of the bungalow you're p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieciseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

D &D -

Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We are so happy that you were able to disconnect and relax here. Thank you for posting some great pictures too. We hope that you loved Guatemala enough to return one day. Thank you so much for choosing to spend your vacation time with us.

Wishing you both the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I've stayed in many wonderful places in the western US, Alaska, Hawaii, Mexico, Virgin Islands, and Nicaragua, but this is my all-time favorite place to stay. We stayed in Petite Bungalow 4, which is in the middle of the jungle. It is like a mix of Swiss Family Robinson, The Jungle Book and Out of Africa. The open air bathroom is exotic and so cool. The designer of La Fortuna, Steve, has a great sense of style, and great care is given to each element at the hotel.

The food at La Fortuna is simply fantastic. We had gourmet food brought to the front porch of our bungalow each meal.

La Fortuna is an exotic hotel for those with a spirit of adventure - not for those who freak out at seeing a spider in the jungle while you take a shower in the open air bathroom or for those who are uncomfortable with moths flying to the candle lights around the front porch. As for me, I love the outdoors, and my daughter and I treasured every second at La Fortuna.

Room Tip: The Petite bungalows are perfect for two people, but three would be cramped. This would be a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We are so happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your experience here at the lake. We wish you both continued success - and hope that your travels bring you back to Guatemala some day. Your comments on your experience here are much appreciated - it really was such a pleasure meeting you!

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us - all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My week spent at La Fortuna was complete bliss. Kat & Steve are welcoming and made sure there was nothing we needed to think about. The food and views were amazing...Id recommend it in a heartbeat.

The ladies that bring in the food were so welcoming and recommended great places to travel. We are already interested in coming back soon. Thanks for everything La Fortuna!

Room Tip: Bungalow one had the most amazing view. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for writing a review and recounting your experience at La Fortuna for future travelers. We loved meeting you both, and hope that we will have the pleasure of a repeat visit. Thank you for choosing our property for your Guatemala getaway.

Wishing you both the best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I went here for a couple days and love it! Steve and Kat (owners) did a fantastic job creating an oasis in the middle of Lake Atitlan. There is beautiful forest everywhere and the individual private cabins are just perfect. And what a treat to be right by the lake and be able to jump in every afternoon after a long day of hiking. The water in this part of the lake is super clean and we really enjoyed going for a swim in it. It felt like we had a bit of rain forest and the lake all for ourselves.

This is not a fancy 5 star resort, but this is exactly why it's so special and why we liked it. It's a smaller eco resort with a lot of heart and character. During our stay, Steve and Kat bent over backwards to make the experience memorable for us and helped create a daily itinerary of activities while we were there. Food was yummy as well. Highly recommend La Fortuna. If we every come back to Atitlan, we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to recount your experience at La Fortuna - we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you both - and we wish you all the best. Thank you again for choosing to stay at La Fortuna during your lake experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
507 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
678 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
813 reviews
2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $66 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing