We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even better the second time!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We thought our trip last year was just about perfect, but with the addition of the hot tub and the wonderful trail to the overlook - this year's stay was over the top! Still the same lovely accommodations and gourmet food, and Kat and Steve are the most gracious hosts ever! Looking to making this an annual trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
It was so great having you both back a second time! You guys were one of our first clients last year, and we really hope that this becomes an annual visit! Thank you so much for the great review - and for coming to visit us again. We wish you both the best, and will wait patiently until your next visit!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
350
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Don't miss this place! Luxury living on the shores of one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. Astonishing woodwork. Gourmet food. Volcano views. Courteous, genuine hosts (of both the two and four legged variety). Too many perks to list. Must be seen to be believed. Thank you Kat & Steve!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much guys for your great review. We absolutely LOVED having you guys as guests (love having Canadians too!). Thanks so much for choosing to spend your time at the lake with us at La Fortuna and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such positive feed back - much appreciated. We wish you guys the best, and hope that one day our paths will cross again. Please come back!!!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved our stay at La Fortuna! The property is gorgeous and Kat and Steve were very helpful.Definitely take advantage of the hot tub at night and take the small hike up to top of their property in the morning- great views.

We loved the outdoor bathroom, especially since mosquitoes weren't a problem, they only come out briefly after sundown.

A tip to travelers-know when the last boat leaves the dock from the towns you visit (if you do) and if you take the last one expect to pay more because they know you need to take it. If you are looking for a great place to relax, this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmer612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you both for choosing to spend your limited time at the lake with us at La Fortuna, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our time here, and wish you both the best in your future and particularly with the projects you are working on in Guatemala.

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are looking for a unique experience with views and service second to none, then La Fortuna is your place. No traditional hotel can come close in comparison to what owners Steve and Kat have built on the isolated and stunning piece of property on Atitlan. It was quite easy to travel from the dock to the villages along the lake (save your textile purchases for the weaver co-ops in San Juan, our personal favorite). The surroundings are surreal and the pace so wonderfully relaxed. I just wish I had the time to stay longer and am already planning the next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for bungalows 1 and 2 closest to lake if available (bungalows 3,4 a bit smaller but still really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Kelly thank you so much for your kind words, and glowing review (and for sending more people our way!). We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your time here and hope that you can return in the future with your husband. Thanks for choosing to spend your time at the lake with us, and thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feed back.

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

La Fortuna is such a beautiful property. The bungalow was amazing and the bed was so big and comfy with soft sheets and fluffy comforter. It was definitely what I needed after 2 flights and 2 shuttle transfers.

Every piece of furniture was designed by Steve and made with locally sourced materials, with Bali as inspiration. The loft was so cute and altho a bit precarious to reach at times offers beautiful morning views. The outdoor tub is so relazing to soak in at night (they have candles and also an ipod dock).

Service was amazing, food outstanding. Steve and Kat were very gracious and it was nice to hear about their travels and play with their dogs. Definitely a treat to myself at the start of a 2-week backpacking trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemyn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at La Fortuna and hope that the rest of your Central American adventure was just as enjoyable. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such positive feedback - much appreciated. We wish you the best back in SF - and hope that we may be lucky enough to have you as a guest again in the future.

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lake Atitlan is a little slice of heaven and staying at La Fortuna made it a LOT more heavenly. My bf and I stayed there for 4 nights- Where do I start! From the coal-powered hot tub to the solar powered cabins to the outdoor bathroom where you can shower under the stars-Steve and Kat have paid so much attention to detail and that's what truly makes this place divine. A big plus- Steve is a great cook, so if you're planning on lazing around- order in and your palate will than you- all the fresh produce is grown on the property, it's a real treat to pluck bananas right from the tree and taste them! At the current price, the place is a steal- We just came back this weekend and I am already dreaming of my next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HavCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lake Atitlan is a little slice of heaven and La Fortuna makes it a LOT more heavenly. I was there for four nights with my boyfriend-- Where do I start! From the coal powered hot tub overlooking the lake to the solar powered cabins- to the outdoor bathroom where you can shower under stars-the experience was just divine. Kat and Steve have paid so much attention to detail, it really shows. A BIG plus-- Steve happens to be a great cook so if you decide to stay in for your meals--your palate will thank you.- almost all the produce is grown on their property. AND all this is a steal at the current rates. Steve and Kat also have great advice for places to see and things to do around the area. I just got back from Guatemala 2 days ago and I am already dreaming of the next time I can go unwind at this amazing place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Havovi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We are so glad that you guys enjoyed your time at La Fortuna. Thanks again for choosing to spend your time at the lake with us and thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience. We really appreciate the glowing review and hope that we are lucky enough to have you both back as guests in the near future.

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
490 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Property: La Fortuna at Atitlan
Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing