We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful getaway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I am living and teaching for a year in Guatemala and, when my cousin decided to come and visit for a week, I decided a getaway to Lake Atitlan was a good idea. I found La Fortuna on homeaway.com and it was absolutely the perfect place for us. Picturesque (this is one resort that actually is more beautiful in person than in the pictures - and the pictures are breathtaking!), tranquil, elegant feel with incredible personalized service. Katherine and Steve were helpful on every step of our trip from offering to arrange a shuttle, to storing our backpacks in Pana, to providing a private boat taxi to planning how best to spend our limited time at the lake. Breakfast and dinner were served on our porch and our room was kept tidy and comfortable. The snuggly, down comforter was warm and welcoming on the chilly evenings. We had a wonderful time and I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
T-
It was such a pleasure to have you stay at La Fortuna. We hope you have an amazing year in Guatemala and come back to see us anytime!
S&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
338
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

It can be a bit overwhelming leaving Panajachel in the evening to get there, as some of the boat captains were not aware of where to go, but upon arriving, it felt like paradise. The best choices are the large cabins. They offer a decent amount of space and wonderful views of the lake. The smaller ones are nice and rustic as well but are a bit tight. Steve and Kat were very nice, accommodating and helpful in planning our time around Lake Atitlan. It was overall a fantastic stay and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Happy Travels,
S&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife & I were married back in August and as part of our honeymoon we stayed in the lakeside suite for four nights.

Of all the places we stayed while we were away, La Fortuna is the one that keeps coming back to me. It's the one I show people pictures of when they ask and, without exception, they all say 'wow'. Even now I struggle to find the words to describe how beautiful everything is.

I'll never forget waking up early on the first morning there and, not being able to sleep, went for a walk and watched the sun come up over the lake and volcano. One of the most serene and simultaneously epic sights I've ever seen. Likewise, sitting on the porch in the evenings, eating the delicious food and watching the spectacular lightning displays on the far side of the lake, is something that will stay with me for a long time.

Steve was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble; he was helpful, informative and he makes a good cocktail too.

We were proud and honoured (and possibly a little nervous) to be the first guests to try the hot tub!

Looking forward to visiting again sometime. Hopefully by then Steve will have built his reception/bar, complete with Maximon shrine...

Thanks again Steve & Kat for giving us the perfect start to our honeymoon.

Ben & Alice

p.s. I really miss Sasha!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but stay by the lake if you have the choice. The view will take your breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
B-
So glad you joined us for your honeymoon. We are working on the reception now, hopefully to include a Maximon shrine...
All the best,
S&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights at La Fortuna in September. perfect place for relaxing away from the crowds. amazing view of the lake and the volcano. reasonably priced. Kat and Steve are perfect hosts. do not miss Steve's cooking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Amir-

Great to hear from you and glad you left relaxed. All the best from this side of the globe to the other. Saludos!
S&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from spending the weekend at La Fortuna and it was amazing! If you're looking for a place to stay on the lake, don't look any further...book this place immediately! Words can't adequately describe our experience! I have visited many places in Europe, Australia, Russia, China, Canada, Dominican Republic, the Virgin Islands and the US and I have to say that this is probably my favorite hotel that I've stayed in. It is a unique experience to be among nature, and yet, have such luxuries! We stayed in suite 2 and it was PERFECT! It is tucked away, so you have plenty of privacy, but you can have a lake view in just a matter of seconds with a short walk to the pier. We loved it! Often, we would eat breakfast in our room and then drink our coffee on the pier. It is obvious that Kat and Steve love what they do and have put their love, time, attention, and energy into creating an amazing environment where you can be refreshed. The hotel is just a short boat ride away from the other towns, so it's easily accessible. If you have a strict agenda and enjoy the bar scene, this isn't the place for you. However, if you want to have access to those things, but want a tranquil place to stay, look no further! The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the bungalows are delightful! There's no AC (but who has AC in Guatemala), but that wasn't a problem because all the windows open up and it's such a great feeling to be in the midst of nature (and luxury!) We enjoyed hiking the property and going to an overlook high above the hotel, sitting by the dock, playing games, taking in the view, resting in the hammock on our deck, and visiting the surrounding towns. We took a boat to Jabilito and hiked to Santa Cruz. It took about 45 minutes and was an easy hike with AMAZING views and lots to see! We also took advantage of the breakfasts and dinners at La Fortuna and we were not disappointed. The food is reasonably priced and is TOP NOTCH! The bed was very comfortable- in fact, it was so cozy that I didn't want to get out of bed! If you want to experience the lake, but have a restful and peaceful place to stay, La Fortuna is THE PLACE! After looking at other hotels after we arrived at the lake, it was obvious that we made the BEST choice!...oh, and they are eco friendly!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texas_nutmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
M&D-

What a pleasure to have you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your break from your work in the D.R. Thank you for your kind words and please do visit us again soon!

S&K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

then I can't even imagine how great the Suite must be! My wife, who is stationed in Guatemala with the Foreign Service, and I spent a wonderful weekend at La Fortuna in October. Every detail was absolutely first rate; from the lakeside wood fired hot tub (!), to the amazing meals, to our luxurious one-of-a-kind bathroom complete with beautiful recycled bottle wall. La Fortuna is a very short five minute boat ride from Panajachel and another five minutes to Santa Cruz, where we set out on a picturesque three hour lakeside hike to San Marcos. Steve and Kat were the perfect hosts! We are planning on returning soon and will recommend this wonderful retreat to all of our friends visiting Lake Atitlan.

Room Tip: The only room available when we reserved was a "Standard". It was so nice we thought we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RunnerSapper33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review. We really enjoyed having both you and Shannon at our little slice of paradise. We look forward to seeing you both again, and wish you the best! Thank you again for the positive feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had booked 6 nights in Antigua for our 7 year anniversary. We have 20 years of Starbucks experience between the two of us, and we were desperate to see coffee grow. After some research, we convinced ourselves to break up our stay in town with a jaunt to Lake Atitlan. When I found La Fortuna, I was unsure that my husband would be interested in outdoor restrooms. We booked it for an adventure, and the experience is unparalleled. When we rode up from Panajachel on the boat, I saw the property on the right, looked at my husband, and declared "Now those people over there have it made!" After a moment, I realized it was La Fortuna. "Oh my gosh! That's us! We have it made!"
Back story aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Fortuna. It is unlike anything I have ever experienced. The scenery is lush. The food was fantastic. Steve and Kat are gracious. The beds are comfy. AND the coffee we enjoyed was harvested from the property! And it's wonderful.
Something to note if you come is that there are bugs in the outdoor bathrooms (duh). At any time you can have a spider making a cozy home in your toilet paper, or crawling on the toilet seat, or under the toilet seat. Just be sure to check;)
We will definitely make an effort to return. We had such a great time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelBiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so glad that you both enjoyed yourself at La Fortuna. Thank you so much for the review and for the positive feedback. We wish you the best back in the States, and hope that we will be fortunate enough to have you as guests again!

All the best,

Kat & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Property: La Fortuna at Atitlan
Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing