We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradisiac and ecologically responsible”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the place to stay if you are visiting lake Atitlan!! As soon as you arrive, you will be happy you chose it. Beautiful lodges tucked away in paradise. The food is great and the service excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcarrasco4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We greatly enjoyed having you and your father as guests at our little piece of paradise. We wish you both the best back in the States, and hope that we will be fortunate enough to have you has guests again. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and providing us with such positive feedback.

All the best,

Kat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for La Fortuna at Atitlan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 536 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Exceptionally beautiful and unique, a must stay to experience the accommodations. As close to living with nature as you can get,... comfortably on a bed. Where to begin?... Beautiful private villas with outdoor bathrooms and showers. Exceptional attention to detail and decor, windows all around that open to outside. Loft space with beautiful views and floor to ceiling windows. Rooms are thoughtfully equipped for a fun comfortable stay fruit, nuts, water, cell phone, umbrella, games, books, candles, robes and more. The grounds are immaculate and beautifully lush and manicured. The meals were delicious on par with top restaurants, Steve is a masterful chef. Steve and Kat were welcoming, kind, hospitable and informative hosts. We had a truly amazing stay at La Fortuna and feel lucky that we made the choice to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lbergst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for providing us with such positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at La Fortuna and on the lake. We wish you both the best back in the States, and hope to have you come and visit us again!

All the best,

Kat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The reviews are right... it's a small paradise!

From the warm welcome, clean room, great architecture, BEAUTIFUL setting & gardens... and did I mention the food! Just the coffee ( home grown ) is worth the trip! One can get use to live here! Wait till you see the bathrooms... amazing.

Every little detail is thought of: robes, candles, attentive staff, time YOU want to eat at... served right on your porch. There is even a cell phone you can use for free!

Thank you Kat, Steve, Maria, Josephina and Sr gardener ( oups... forgot his name! ). It`s like living in a post card! I just wish I could have stayed longer and I can`t wait to come back!

Great job y hasta pronto!

M & J

Room Tip: They are ALL great! Ask for a "forest room" for more privacy or a "lake" one for...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandJQuebec_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and pictures. It was great having you both as guests and we are really excited that we will see you again. All the best in Mexico! We look forward to visiting you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Guatemala which included a three night retreat at the gorgeous (and delicious) La Fortuna. There are not enough words to describe how wonderful our stay was...From arriving by boat with owners Steve and Kat and getting our first view of our accommodation (right out of the photo pages of any top travel magazine), to our first delicious meal served elegantly on our front porch by the owners themselves (who prepared it too), to enjoying the outdoor bath under the trees....seriously, there are not enough superlatives to describe the relaxing time we enjoyed there. There is WiFi for those who don't want to totally disconnect from their digital devices, but the serenity of the setting will make a visitor set them aside and well, just be.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinpascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

R&R-

So nice having visitors from our home town(S)! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again- maybe somewhere on the road in SE Asia or back in N America. All the best!
S&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Unfortunately my itinerary didn't allow me to stay another night at La Fortuna because it really was so comfortable and peaceful. The place would definitely suit couples/groups but as a lone traveller I really enjoyed the respite. Accommodation is really rather lovely with luxury tastefully presented amongst lush forestry. The food is absolutely delicious, both breakfast and dinner homemade with panache. The setting is tranquil and feels hours away from everything else even though it was a ten minute boat ride from Panajachel. I would highly recommend, treat yourselves! Thanks Kat & Steve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wptwomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

P-
Glad you enjoyed your stay and wishing you an excellent onward trip! Be well, S&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Amazing, wonderful, unbelievable. All of these words do NOT do any justice to even attempt to describe 'La Fortuna' at Lake Atitlan.

First of all, I have to admit that when we arrived, via the boat from Panajachel, we were amazed at the secluded spot that is 'La Fortuna'. You are greeted on their private jetty with the most lucious and green surroundings aswell as a welcoming smile. From your first step off the boat, you will have the most relaxing and laid back stay that you could ever imagine. It really is the closest to paradise that I've ever been.

We stayed in the cabana/lodge nearest the water yet from the water itself, you would not know it was even there. The setting is sublime and the building itself made from the most natural woods with an amazing deck area to the front, an unbelievably comfortable and spacious bedroom, a beautiful mezzanine area to view out on to the lake and then a full outdoor bathroom to the back. Now, this bathroom is nearly the size of the whole plot but has everything fully outdoors - shower, tub, sinks, toilet and it weirdly wonderful.

A friend of mine had lived in Central & South America some years back and had met the owner of this establishment, which is how we had stumbled across it. Well I say "stumble" but now I consider myself fortunate to, first of all, met the owner (Steve) and more so, to have stayed at his tranquil, idyllic piece of paradise.

Steve will kindly part with as much or as little information as you desire. If you want to talk, ask questions and discuss the beautiful surrounds then he will gladly oblige. However, if you wish to be left alone and relax then you won't even know that anyone is around as this setting is truly the MOST amazing place that I've been. The setting is truly fabulous. The only time that you will know anyone else is around is at 'feeding time'.

For breakfast you have numerous choices and all cooked carefully and will result in a hearty feed to set you up for the day. Whether that day be full of lazy walsk around the lake or to some of the surrounding towns, you WILL be well fed. And sepaking of well fed, I now bring you on to dinner time. This is when 'La Fortuna' really steps up a notch.

Steve cooks all the dinners himself (menu changes daily with two choices for dinner) all with the freshest of ingedients/local produce and what a feast you will be fed. We were there for two nights and both nights we really had a conundrum as to which we wanted to eat. We were not disappointed with any choice we made. The food is very, very tasty and with a big portion served too so you will not be hungry afterwards. Oh and another great choice, we had some Mojitos that acted like the perfect dessert on a balcony by candlelight.

In my opinion, 'La Fortuna' is a once in a lifetime kind of place that you will want to experience MORE than once, if that makes sense. The setting, the cabin, the staff they all combine to make you feel like you are in paradise. So make the best choice you possibly can and stay here. Trust me, afterwards you too will be writing a review like this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

B-

Thank you for your review! Hope all is well back home. Send my regards to our mutual friend and come back to see us. It was a pleasure having you!

S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for 3 days of just chillin' and La Fortuna gave us that. It is truely beautifully landscaped and the casita are awesome. My bed was great! We loved that we were able to bring out little dog.
There has been a lot of thought and care about keeping a balance with the surroundings and protecting of their small part of the Lago. One great thing is that we are early risers and were able to make plans to have coffee --their awesome coffee, available at our porch early in the morning.
Steve and Katz are very warm and helpful hosts We will return!

Room Tip: If you want to sit on your porch and view the lake #1 (which is a bit more pricey) And # 3 is up a l...
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dwr512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

R&D-

Hope you had a safe trip back to Huehue. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can make it back soon!

S&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
288 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $66 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing