We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I never write reviews. I use sites like Yelp and Trip Advisor all the time and never post my own reviews. Until now. I grew up in Guatemala and so when I was going back to visit with my husband I wanted to be sure that we stayed at the best hotels in Antigua and Lake Atitlan. I had already made up my mind where that would be until be husband, who is rather picky about hotels was not satisfied with my choice for Lake Atitlan. He found La Fortuna online and after reading all the reviews we decided to give it a try. And we weren't disappointed! We loved it so much that we made a short video to help capture this special place. Check it out at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuBPIVPRZFQ

La Fortuna is such a unique, beautiful, peaceful experience. It's not like any other hotel that we've ever stayed at. We both love nature but aren't that good at really roughing it, and when we go on vacation we want to feel like we're in paradise. La Fortuna gave us just what we were looking for. The way that the sides of the bungalow open up to reveal the beautiful coffee plantation '"jungle" around you, and the private open-air bathroom with a soaking tub that makes for special candle-lit evenings ... you just can't get better than this.

That being said -- you can't expect a 5 star luxurious hotel where there is no sign of anything natural. You have to be prepared to be surrounded by nature ... that means that moths come out at night so that you will be thankful for the netting that surrounds the bed. And while filling the hot tub you may have to turn the water off if it gets cold all of a sudden. But just give it a few minutes and the hot water will be back on soon!

If you are looking to rest and get away from all the noise, commercialism, and business of life, then this is your place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

M & K-

Thank you for your kind review- we very much enjoyed having you and are glad you enjoyed your stay. The video is stunning, we have gotten lots of feedback on your work.

All the best from Lago Atitlan
S&K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Approaching Patzisotz Bay on the water taxi, you know that you are in for a special experience. The property is just beautiful. It is an old coffee plantation that is now terraced with gardens (there are still coffee plants that the owners harvest and serve with breakfast).

We spent two nights at La Fortuna. It was a perfect break from the rest of the world. There is something about waking up in a private cabin, sitting on the porch for breakfast and listening to the waves of the lake that just relaxes the soul. The whole place is "off grid" and depends on solar power for electricity, so there aren't TVs and internet is limited. At night, there's not much to do other than sit in candlelight and talk. This is a perfect place for romance and rest.

We stayed in a larger casita. It included a king sized bed, a large sitting porch that had a dining table big enough to seat 4 as well as comfortable Adirondack chairs, and a lofted seating area whose couch pulled out for a second bed. The large outdoor bathroom was private and very exotic (it's fun taking a hot shower after a cold rainstorm).

Steve, one of the owners, is also the chef. He produces excellent breakfasts and dinners. The dinner options change daily based on whatever Steve wants to cook (and what he finds at the market), but the breakfasts are pretty stable. As Steve is an American, he can make traditional, fluffy pancakes that you usually can't find outside of the US. Everything that we tasted was very good, and the prices were ridiculously reasonable. (Breakfast was only $7/pp, and dinners were only $15. Sodas/juice was $2, beer $3, and a bottle of wine was only $15.)

If you want to escape from La Fortuna, Panajachel is the next water taxi stop over (it's only Q10/pp), and you can flag down a water taxi by going down to the hotel dock and waving down the taxi (taxis come by every 20 minutes). La Fortuna is well-situated for exploring other areas around Lake Atitlan while still being secluded enough to shut out the outside world if you prefer.

I heartily recommend La Fortuna to anyone looking for a peaceful escape from Guatemala City/Antigua.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mica178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for visiting La Fortuna. It was our pleasure to have you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Saludos,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Every time we go to Guatemala we spend some days in Lake Atitlan and this was by far the best place we have stayed at. Great Service!! Great food!! Great location!! and the Cabins are excellent!!
Best views to the lake and you wont find any other place for the same price. I would recommend it for couples, nature lovers, and people that enjoy privacy and nice dining!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cacao_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Really nice to meet you and hope you come back to see us again on future Guatemala trips but am looking forward even more to my first trip to Panama. Your suggestions have peaked my interest and I am already picturing white sand beaches on a tiny island. All the best from Lake Atitlan,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the moment you arrive onto the docks, you will be captivated by this beautiful property. So much colour, wonder, jungle, and fresh air! Steve was an amazing host! He greeted us at the docks and instantly we felt at home. The bungalow was PERFECTION! The lodging was so unique! Its like you're in the middle of jungle-nowhere and yet still have the luxury of a large comfy bed, adjustable windows, clean space, functional electricity and hydro, prompt service, ipod dock (great speakers) and an extremely safe surrounding. There was even an Energizer flash light charging on an outlet when we arrived; that's great attention to detail. The living room was upstairs. How cool?! We climbed up the bamboo ladder, opened up the windows, chilled out, and took in the lovely lake and beautiful/wild/lush greenery. We love the fact the entire property is 100% off-grid solar powered.

There is so much to see in Lake Atitlan and Steve helped us map it all out. We're so thankful! Furthermore, Steve's menus are FANTASTIC!!! The Mahi Mahi was devine! His Salmon blew my mind. The white navy beans, Ou Oui! 'The Mexican' order for breakfast is supreme! He definitely knows his way in the kitchen.

I can go on and on and on about how PERFECT, WONDEROUS, AND TRULY SPECIAL this place is. But I encourage you all to get your adventurous side pumped up and just GO!

Steve and Kat,
I am so impressed by your beautiful homes that you've made and now share. I am so thankful we were able to stay at La Fortuna. Our vacation was so enriching. Thank you! :)

Until next time (cause I definitely will return),

Cheers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PilapiTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Always happy to have Canadians! I really enjoyed meeting you guys and hope you come back to visit us.
Cheers,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My curiosity about La Fortuna was piqued after noticing that 36 out of 36 of past guests reviewed and rated the retreat on Tripadvisor as being "Excellent." And after reading all the raves, each one filled with robust enthusiasm and awe of the retreat (and it´s miraculous one-man-show owner Steve) I knew I had to stay there.

High off these reviews, my friend and I booked three nights. (We ended up changing our travel plans to stay an additional night.)

La Fortuna is in its own private bay in a pristine part of the lake. While some villages have garbage and septic issues, the waters off La Fortuna´s are fresh, clean and wonderful to swim. Before coming to the lake, we assumed we would be able to swim anywhere... this is not the case!

Steve met us at the private dock, accompanied by Sydney and Sasha, his faithful canine friends. The happy welcome wagon escorted us through the gardens of La Fortuna up a hill to our wood our bungalow, a work of art that the tireless Steve built himself. Enveloped in the forest, with an enormous outdoor bathroom and shower (I took at least two showers at day ... one under the stars and one in the morning, to a soundtrack of a host of singing birds).

Our time there was spent in a truly luxurious way... swimming, reading by candlelight in the cute loft at the top of the bungalow, reading, playing with the dogs, chatting with Steve who is a wealth of knowledge and eating his delicious meals delivered to our doorstep each morning and evening... Not only did he build the bungalows but he is an accomplished chef who whips up flavorful dishes as if it´s the easiest thing in the world to do. Clearly he is passionate about what he and his wife have created in this most beautiful part of the word.

We really enjoyed every minute at La Fortuna and were very sad to leave. I can not recommend this place highly enough... and really, while we were at the lake we visited many hotels, bed and breakfasts and private house and this is where we felt most at home, most happy, most cared for. Just, go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vixdesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevekmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
-Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This idyllic property was named after the Costa Rican volcano where the married owners, Steve and Kat met and I really hope it is their La Fortuna. When I realized Steve was there sans Kat, running the show on his own, I was triply impressed. Not a single detail has been missed at this stunning property. Steve knows guest services. You would pay two-to-three times the price for anything even remotely similar in luxury and service anywhere else on Lake Atitlan.

This is a gorgeous treat for anyone staying here and Steve, after 13 years of experience as a chef and another four as a guide in Central America, knows everything about how to make his guests feel pampered and about how to serve cuisine that is both delicious and beautiful (not to mention grown organically and fairly).

Steve is about the nicest person you will ever meet and without even asking, he ensures that every guest is taken care of in every way possible. His background has given him a keen sense of what his guests want to experience on their trip to Atitlan and he finds a way to recommend and provide what each unique visitor is searching for. Nice work, Steve.

All four bungalows are beautiful, with a special nod to the lakefront bungalow. The staff are excellent and very well treated by the owners. La Fortuna could not be a better choice. Stay here. Your trip to Guatemala will be enriched.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" or lakeside bungalow truly has the world's best bathroom. All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Steve is really glad you enjoyed your time at La Fortuna, and his meals. We hope that the rest of your time in Central America is wonderful - and that you enjoy the rest of your time at the lake. It means a lot to us, that you took the time to review us and let people know about your experience. Safe travels, and hopefully we will see you again.

Kat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Intricate woodwork, lush gardens and careful planning of this ecological resort are a few words that come to mind when describing La Fortuna. It is truly an exclusive getaway far from the hectic buzz of city life. Steve and staff are attentive, helpful and offer exceptional customer service. I recommend La Fortuna for anyone searching for the perfect 'eco-destination'.

Room Tip: Suite 1 has the best view : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArielaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It was such a pleasure finally meeting you and your husband. We are so happy that your wedding went smoothly in Antigua, and that you chose to spend part of your honeymoon with us at La Fortuna. We wish you both the best in your new life together, and hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience, while highlighting some of Steve's successes at the lake. We really are so happy for the two of you.

Thank you! Come back soon!

Kat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
516 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
695 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
260 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $66 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing