We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful property with magnificent views”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the balcony
Entrance to Casa Wenche Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
View from the balcony
Entrance to Casa Wenche
Kitchen
BBQ area
BBQ area
Patio with the view
Sitting room
View from the balcony
Flower and volcano
Garden
Main bedroom
Main entrance to the property
Stunning gardens part 2
Bananas grow all over the property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan, Solola Department, Western Highlands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
HSF6242
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful property with magnificent views”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We were told that this house was not for the handicapped or elderly because of the location up the hillside. On arrival, the task of getting suitcases up to the room, seemed daunting, but then Ramos appeared! This wonderful man carried my overladen bag all the way up and when we worried about getting food for the morning, he offered to go shopping for us. Ramos also suggested that his daughter, who had learned English and was also a chef, could come to our house and fix dinner. We had a delicious dinner the next night which Claudia purchased, cooked and served with the help of Minga. We sat on the veranda looking out at the volcanoes across the Lake while enjoying a delicious meal; extraordinary! Most impressive is that Claudia is only 17 years old!
We enjoyed other meals and conversations when we visited La Iguana Perdida. David and Davinia are truly warm and social and have created a very relaxed environment where vacationers are welcomed to gather and share experiences. We all would have liked to stay on a while!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view; the ambiance, lots of hot water with good pressure and food
Liked least: the hike, though good for us, was slightly daunting for me at age 74. It was part of the adventure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho. USA
Reviewed February 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Travel2Pl...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't get more Beautiful”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for a month in October as part of an extended stay working in the community of Santa Cruz. The land, its views, and everything about the property is almost unreal in its beauty. Sunrises on the porch never got old, and neither did the sunsets. The grounds took me days to explore fully, and I still don't think I saw the whole property. There are banana trees, lime trees, avocado trees, other fruits I couldn't even identify, patios, coy ponds, gazebos, hummingbirds, endless beautiful flowers...it just goes on and on. And Ramos, the caretaker of the property, is so sweet and receptive to anything you may need. It should really be a no brainer to stay here. The value for what you get is unparalleled. All I can say is, enjoy!

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly42rc
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An outstanding property - stunning views, excellent service, great value”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Casa Wenche for a week in August with my husband and 2 teenage children and it way exceeded my expectations. The house is in a wonderful location with stunning views of the lake and volcanoes. It is beautifully and tastefully furnished and the layout is really good - 2 decent size bedrooms, a lovely open plan kitchen and living area and a huge covered terrace with comfortable chairs and a dining table. There is also a lovely terrace outside in the garden to sit and relax on. The garden of Villa Eggedal is one of the most beautiful gardens I have ever seen and the caretaker Ramos is incredibly helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for him. My husband and daughter arrived by private boat late at night and he met them at the private dock and helped with the luggage. He was constantly coming to see us to ask if we needed anything and replenishing the water. Deedle was incredibly efficient in arranging the rental and gave us excellent advice about Lake Atitlan. She arranged a wonderful cook for us - Manuela - who cooked breakfast and dinner for us every day with her friend Michaela. Manuela and Michaela couldn't have been better - buying the food we requested for us and cooking it brilliantly. Manuela made the best guacamole I have ever eaten !

We stayed at several other locations in Lake Atitlan and Santa Cruz La Laguna was definitely my favourite location. The house was about 5 minutes walk from the dock where there were a number of nice hotels to have a drink or eat in and about 5 minutes walk up into the village where there is a lovely restaurant open for lunch run by students who have learnt how to cook through an excellent charity project. The public boat leaves from the dock every 20-30 minutes giving easy access to other villages and hotels around the lake.

The property was also incredible value for money - I would highly recommend it to anyone ( as long as you are happy to walk up a few steps to get to the house )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views; the layout of the house and furnishings; the terrace; the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MC038
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, excellent service, couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

For four weeks during February and March, 5 friends and I stayed in one of the houses on this property. We had a delightful 4 bedroom home (two rooms with double beds and two rooms with queen beds) that had two bathrooms. The house was exquisitely decorated and in pristine condition.

The property managers (also owners of a local restaurant and hotel) were extremely warm and welcoming. We often ate at their restaurant, La Iguana Perdida, and I highly recommend as well for dinner or lunch. The housekeepers and groundskeeper were second to none. Ramos, the groundskeeper, lives on site and was readily available when our internet malfunctioned briefly one night. He also delivered 5 gallon jugs of clean water to our door when asked for a minimal fee. The lovely ladies cleaned our house twice weekly and would also do our laundry for a small fee. It was well worth the convenience.

The grounds themselves are phenomenal. They are lush (even in the non-rainy season) and well-kept. Limes grew on our porch and there were a variety of other fruits spread throughout the property. And then the VIEW! THE BEST PART! We woke up every morning to unobstructed (unless by clouds) views of the volcanoes and Lake Atitlan.

We were all traveling with computers and camera equipment and never had an issue with security.

I will be staying here again when I return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the wonderful staff
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayeroCC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed October 1, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Very nice place!
The grounds of the villa are beautiful.
If you're a plant lover, this is it.
The Stone paths , with stone benches and covered reflection sreas, are so
well done, they reach an artistic level.
To enjoy this wonderful place you must be in resonably good shape, as there are
100+ steps up from the gate to the house. Each step is very rewarding.
The beds while all new are a little "orthopedic".
Thee manager and caretaker couldn't have been more gracious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Yard
Liked least: small water heater
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing