We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing swimming spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tzantizotz Nature Reserve

Tzantizotz Nature Reserve
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the area of Tzantizotz which in local Kaqchikel means Point of Bats, this mountainous area begins at the lake front and reaches high altitude tropical dry forest. Well maintained paths for every fitness level traverse old Mayan trails. Palm thatched resting pavilions offer panoramic views of the entire lake.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing swimming spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amazing swimming spot. I highly recommend!
Best swimming area on the lake, you should walk past the first "trampoline" to find a good spot to swim. Go early before the water gets choppy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank freidka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views of Lake Atitlan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I took the hike around the Tzantizotz whilst staying at Laguna Lodge and I was so happy I did! I did the hike in the middle of the day, which was very hot (maybe a trek in the late afternoon might be better!) and along the way the views were absolutely spectacular! I think that they were the best views I experienced of the Lake (apart from my paragliding experience!). And the best part is the hammocks and viewing platform, well worth it after the hike. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the view and get ready for the hike back to the lodge. Every part of the hike allowed for perfect photographic opportunities. There are viewpoints along the way where you can take pictures. I loved that you get views from all angles of the lake, which is not always the case in other hikes I did. The hike only took us around 90min, as we are fast hikers, however depending on how fast you walk, it may take longer. We didn't experience any bug bites, however another couple said they got bit, so I recommend taking bug spray just incase and definitely take lots of water and put on sunscreen before you leave. Apart from the views we saw some birds and insects. It really is a a must-do during your stay at Laguna!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The reserve has fantastic views, you should check it out at sunset!! It is a pristine pocket at the lake and has numerous birds, and shady spots to sit. Take a picnic and linger, it is definately worth the effort!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank miranda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best views to Lake Atitlan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

A quick walk and you will get to the top of the hill from where views to Lake Atitlan are amazing.
You will enjoy a nice walk admiring nature (flora, some birds, insects) and you will get a great reward from the top. Don't miss it while visiting Laguna Lodge.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guate360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exquisite Nature Reserve, Enchanting Views, Immaculate Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

You must go to this reserve while in Santa Cruz, it is an oasis of heaven right on the lake. Safe and just enough hiking to get your blood moving and grooving. You will love the hammocks at the top of the trail to rest in under a shaded palapa. The view will knock your eyes out, it is just divine. Don't miss it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tzantizotz Nature Reserve also viewed

Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
Santa Cruz La Laguna, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Tzantizotz Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing