We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location”
Review of La Casa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Rosa Hotel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good location”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Warmly welcomed by owner Rosa and gave us options to various rooms. What was available was not the best, we ended up on 1st floor in a very simple standard room in the back with no view but plenty of light coming in through the bathroom window. Cleanliness can be improved, the floor in the room had not been swept in a long time, pillows had to be changed, no soap until asked for it.
Garden could need some more tending, was a bit overgrown. The whole place seemed to lack a bit of maintenance and care, good value?, not so sure. Maybe a bit overpriced.
Fabulous location of the lounge below by the water front serving meals. A lovely jetty bed for sunbathing. Very slow wi-fi, not working in the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    10
    13
    16
See reviews for
22
63
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I discovered Casa Rosa several years ago and spent one night there on a recent return trip to Antigua. We had planned to visit other towns on Lake Atitlan while we were there...however, once we "decompressed" at Casa Rosa we didn't have a desire to go anywhere else! Rosa has owned this charming B&B for a long time. Her darling daughter, Nichole has recently added some wonderful touches such as the covered flower-filled lounging and eating area. We spent most of our visit in this comfy spot reading, chatting, eating and throughly enjoying Nichole's hospitality and the absolutely breath-taking views! It really is a slice of paradise! Thank you Rosa and Nichole!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Amazingly beautiful grounds & great Thai curry at the restaurant !!! Rosa's is a great romantic spot to eat dinner & watch the sunset over the lake. The owner is very friendly & we felt very welcomed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NattyV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved staying at La Casa Rosa! I stayed there with my husband and daughter. The rooms were tasteful, clean and bright, with gorgeous views of the beautiful garden and Lake Atitlan. The garden is a paradise full of many different plants and flowers, and various hammocks and benches to hide away. The food was outstanding - we ate breakfasts and dinners there, but never felt pressure if we decided not to order all meals there. Rooms and meals were reasonably priced. Rosa, Nicole and the staff were so friendly . I fully recommend this place and would love to return there. (We actually travelled there in Dec 2011, a while ago now, but I couldn't click that far back as an option - anyways, better late than never to spread the word. Muchas gracias, Rosa y Nicole).

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I would recomment La Casa Rosa to anyone doing a tour of the Lake Atitlan area.

You can relax in a sun bed on a dock and watch the sunrise or set or simply take in the extraordinary views of this magical lake!

There are places to sit and read and relax throughout the property.
From hammocks to little nooks in rocks to sit and read, work or relax.
Comfy chairs and sofas everywhere.
And, a lovely dining area right at the water or in the main foyer.
Wifi is available in the foyer area too.

The owner Rosa is exceedingly kind and helpful.

A great place to relax or work on a big project.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OccupyHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, ID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ended up staying at Rosa's because the Iguana was full. It was a very pleasant surprise. The room was nice with HOT water and quiet. We were the only people there. The view from the bar was epic. Both Rosa and Nicole were very accommodating and always happy to help. They did not try to sell us anything extra, such as tours or goods which was a nice change. We also got a great deal on our room....180Q. That was probably due to lack of other people staying there, but price is probably negotiable.

The lake is gorgeous as are the gardens on the hotel grounds. We'd highly recommend it, however we have one small complaint regarding happy hour. We aren't positive we always got changed happy hour prices for happy hour drinks. We would suggest to just be careful and keep track of what you order if you're on a tight budget. Gin and tonics and piña coladas are awesome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarrod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xela, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't stay in the hotel but in one down the road (i.e. boardwalk made of planks -- issue of the rising water in Lake Atitlan), however, we did take the opportunity to get some drinks here. First off, the lounging area which is comfortably open for guests is well kept and has a beautiful view of the water and environment. However, there is a 2 for 1 happy hour from 4 to 6PM which seems to be on whichever drink you did not order. So, just a word to the wise, while the menu and ads may imply that the 2 for 1 special is on drinks--it is on specific drinks and, if you're a little cost conscious, it is best to clarify this before ordering. Otherwise a very pleasant experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MM_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.6 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Rosa Hotel

Property: La Casa Rosa Hotel
Address: A orilla del lago, Santa Cruz La Laguna, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosa Hotel Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing