We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, tranquil, beautiful rooms & property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I found this lodge randomly on Google.com. My husband & I wanted to relax for a night before going back to Guatemala City from Antigua. We decided to stay here instead of Panajachel. The pictures & reviews of this place were wonderful. So I did the initial contact with Juan Manuel (the manager) He's very prompt and easy to work with. We exchanged some emails, he sent me the Paypal link for the payment (prepare to pay in advance as soon as possible. This place is quite popular, if you don't put down a deposit/pay the room when it's due, they'll give it to other folks, which is fair). Juan Manuel confirmed via email that we are booked. So we took a shared shuttle from Antigua to Tzanjuyu dock in Panajachel (easy to find). Call Laguna Lodge 10 min before arriving so they can send a boat to pick you up. The pick up/drop off service is free. It took about 15 minutes of wonderful boat ride to get to the lodge. It's a beautiful property. The view of the mountains & the lake was heavenly. The room, the jacuzzi, the palapa, sun bathing deck, etc are so beautiful. They food is vegetarian only, but delicious. We had a nice hike at the reserve to watch the sunset, and had a candle light dinner that night. What a wonderful stay. The next morning we went back to Guatemala City with a great memory of Lake Atitlan. We will come back again but next time we'll be staying more than 1 night. One important thing, the staff at this place was so great, polite and helpful. We met the owners too. Wonderful people.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siska39SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 499 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

I read about Laguna Lodge in GQ Magazine and booked three nights there before a month-long stay in Anitgua. From the moment we set foot on the dock and were greeted by Juan Manuel, hotel manager extraordinaire, we were treated like royalty. The location of the lodge and the lodge itself are exquisite. The rooms were capacious and beautifully appointed; the bathroom was huge and luxurious. Then we had our first dinner! It had been our intention to eat at the Lodge only one night and then spend the rest of the time sampling other restaurants. But that was before we tasted the food. Laguna Lodge has an all organic, all vegetarian menu. And although none of us are vegetarian, all of us are foodies and we know good food when we taste it: we ate there every night. The food was unfailingly delicious -- creative, flavorful, and well-presented (AMAZING soups and a banana dessert I am still dreaming of...). We drank margaritas every night before dinner, and the Lodge's selection of wines was impressive as well.

Be sure to hike the trails of the stunning nature reserve. Linger and swing on a hammock at the palapa and you'll never want to leave. On our third day we met Mayah and Jeffro, the owners of the Lodge. They were lovely: upbeat and committed to giving their guests both an eco-experience and a luxury hotel experience: they succeed beyond measure. I could go on and on about this splendid hotel, but words fail me. Just do yourself a favor and check it out. It was an unforgettably first-rate experience, and we can't wait to go back -- for a full week next time -- with friends in tow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

"I felt like a king." Never before have I experienced such attentive service. The food was fantastic, organic and pure. Bedroom and bed, and overall, comfort, were beyond expectations. The Lodge itself is stunning with a warm ambient cozy feel. There's a lot to do, whether it be cliff jumping, strolling the near by villages or climbing one of the two volcanoes that looms over Lake Attitlan, time for leisure aint the only pleasure this resort offers.
Take it in, because it's absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivefromVancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Staying at this hotel was a magnificent experience. The service was as good or better than any 5 Star hotel I've stayed at. Just a small example - we were checking out at 8:30 in the morning and our beds were made while we ate breakfast. The staff were delightful. They didn't speak much English, so they often had to get the manager, Juan Manuel, to attend to our needs. I don't think we ever waited more than three minutes for him to show up.
The rooms are beautiful with spectacular views. You can even see the lake from the bathroom through a cleverly designed window - you can see out, but no one can see in. When I wasn't in the room, I was in the comfortable living room with sofas and big screen TV or lying in the hammock in a hidden spot at the top of the hotel. I enjoyed my morning coffee on a deck overlooking the lake.
I traveled with the 19 year old son of a friend of mine and there was plenty to do for both of us. The owner took him out cliff diving and the manager went along to take some great photos he could share with friends. We swam, sat in the hot tub and visited some of the local towns along the lake. The food was excellent and we chose to stay at the hotel for the four course dinner every night.
If I had it to do over, I would spend more time on the hotel's nature trails and skip attempting to hike the volcano. It took up most of the day and even though I'm an ardent hiker, it was too tough for me. My young companion completed the hike, but said he had never been so sore in his life. It got chilly at night and I wished I had taken sweat pants and a heavier sweater for lounging. All in all, the lodge was by far the highlight of our trip to Guatemala.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Beautiful views and rooms, the food is magnificent, it's a warm felling of relaxation on a vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewett630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Words cannot describe the beauty of this eco-friendly lodge. Our stay at Laguna Lodge was absolutely magical. The views are breathtaking and the memories will stay with us for many many months. We are already planning our next trip.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
Thank cara_hewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel is in an amazing location - every area of the hotel looks out onto the volcanoes. The staff was extremely friendly and wonderful! The organic vegetarian food was fresh, home grown and amazing! Definitely will return as soon as I can!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clev50207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.7 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
479 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
#31 of 55 in Lake Atitlan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $286 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing