We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I think I just stayed at the most beautiful site in the world! The views from this hotel are absolutely amazing! I could not take a bad picture.

The rooms in the hotel were gorgeous -- all had beautiful views of the lake. They had a romantic atmosphere -- definitely a good place to take your special someone. :) The rooms were also very clean.

I was a little worried about staying at this hotel as I am definitely a carnivore and their restaurant is vegetarian. Well, I had nothing to worry about! The food at Laguna Lodge is absolutely fantastic. Oh, and the coffee... the coffee was amazing.

All in all, if and when I am in the area again, I will definitely be staying at Laguna Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmg6cwru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    53
    18
    9
    11
See reviews for
69
266
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Had a great time at this beautiful oasis. I loved the vegetarian cuisine, despite not being a vegetarian. The food was unique and tasty. The fresh juices were some of the best I'd ever had. The view was gorgeous and the service was exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This place was truly a hidden gem. It was so calm and peaceful. I would love to come back. The rooms were great and I loved the access to the mountain so that I could go hiking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swandive87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

On arrival, any doubt or hesitantion we may have held for going to such a remote property, all slipped away, the moment we met the staff, they lit a fire, served a refreshing drink, and the rest was sheer bliss. The cultural influence is evident in every detail, from the stylish eco conscious design, to the local flavours and foods grown in their gardens which are served in the restaurant. Our room overlooked the lake and we loved a daily breakfast of fresh fruits and homemade breads on our private balcony. Basically our whole experience was sheer bliss. Needless to say we will be back

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASTA2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Where to begin....this hotel is located in an idillic setting and it is absolutely beautiful. The staff was wonderful and more helpful than any hotel I've ever been in. It was comfortable, clean and just enjoyable. The owner was a genuine, kind lady who double checks to make sure everything is perfect and we found her to be especially interesting and enjoyed talking to her. The food was great and we enjoyed it even though we are not vegetarians. The grounds are also spectaluar and I wish I had scheduled a day to do nothing but relax in the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederickMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, B.C.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have travelled in many high end resorts in the caribean and pacific and I want to take my hat off to Mayah and Jeffro. This is a great resort. It is a perfect combination of beautifull scenery, luxery surroundings, great food and friendly staff. This is great value for the quality level of the food, lodgings and location.

The resort itself is beautifully built and decorated with attention to detail. The view is incredible. The area is nice too......the park that they have created has great trails with stunning views. A nice way to pass a morning. There's kayaking and cliff jumping for more fun (keep your legs together for the big jump).

I applaud Mayah and Jeffro (the owners) for keeping their principles and having an eco resort with many eco features and having the credibility to have a food menu that matches the ecological and sustainable principles they hold. I personally saw the gardens where our dinner came from and it was very reasuring that when they say they grow your food....it is not just a token thing....it is core to what they do. I don't see how a customer could go here and not consider eating vegetarian more often with the level of food provided.It is exciting to find a resort that wears it's principles on it's sleeve.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanWalker072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

This was the best vacation ever. The hotel and staff and views were so amazing that my friend and I had a hard time deciding if we wanted to go sight seeing or if we just wanted to stay and enjoy the peace, beauty and perfection of laguna lodge. We went during the low season so we had the place to ourselves which made it even more fun. The staff was so polite and hospitable, we felt as if we were waited on hand and foot. The chef was superb, every meal was perfection. They grow all their fruits and vegetables organically in their garden (away from hotel) and every meals produce was picked just before it was served. Every afternoon they served us tea and freshly baked muffins, and every evening they lit a fire in the fire place for us to get cozy by. The area gets cool at night (not cold), which is just perfect. Simply Heaven. By the way, the sight seeing in the area is also great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
#30 of 58 in Lake Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Property: Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing