We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Hotel, Amazing Views, Gourmet Food & REAL Eco Focus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious Hotel, Amazing Views, Gourmet Food & REAL Eco Focus”
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our family had a fabulous stay at Laguna Lodge earlier this year. Its lakeside location is perfect and serene with amazing views over the Lake to the volcanoes. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable, the gourmet vegetarian food was fabulous and the service great. We really loved the fact that we could stay in such luxury but also know that the owners are doing so much for the local community and environment through the responsible and "eco" way that they operate the hotel.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank beckycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    58
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
73
274
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I had the most wonderful New Year's holiday ever at the Laguna Lodge. We loved it! Many things make this lodge magical, including: it is only accessible by boat; the lodge is phyiscally beautiful and has 180 degree views of the most stunning lake in the world; the staff could not be more helpful or friendly; the food is delicious and made of only the very best natural ingredients; the owners are incredibly hospitable; and watching fireworks from all the villages around the lake at the stroke of midnight from an all natural stone hot tub made for unforgettable memory! During the day we went cliff jumping, we travelled by boat to diferent villages around the lake where we visted temples and bought local crafts, we hiked up one of the mountains, we read in hammocks, and grr... wish I were still there! For a real get away, I can't recommend this place enough! The rooms are gorgeous... complete with a lovely large iron chandelier over the bed, iron sconces on the walls, marble bathrooms, a large balcony, and even your own coffee plant in your bedroom. Yes... at Laguna Lodge they even roast their own coffee beans!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PingandPong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We had the good fortune to stumble across Laguna Lodge just as they were opening their doors. The position overlooking Lake Atitlan is stupendous as is the Lodge itself. The owners, Mayah and Jeffro have created a cozy hideaway easily accessed by boat from nearby Panachel. The private dock leads you up to a gazebo where you can perch to enjoy the Lake scenery. We sat here for a sunset pre dinner cocktail in total contentment.

The interior spaces - rooms, dining area, and public areas are decorated with an earthy luxuriousness combining stone, wood, and artwork with subtle lighting for mood ambiance. The attention to detail was apparent throughout. Their chef Raul prepared us an exquisite four course vegetarian dinner. I do not believe I have ever had such a gourmet vegetarian feast. The majority of the produce comes from the Lodges own organic garden.

Next time we hope to stay longer and have the chance to explore the Lodge’s 100 acre nature reserve. Lake Atitlan is a special place on the planet and staying at Laguna Lodge provides a perfect marriage for a heavenly experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CetonaDavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planetarian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Hi - I just treated myself to a night at the Laguna Lodge - and it was indeed a treat, for all the senses. It is a unique creation, carefully designed and decorated by its friendly, tasteful, and conscientious owners, Maya and Jeffro. The adobe walls, which ensure sound and temperature insulation, and a really cozy natural feeling; the antique furniture, hand-selected piece by piece; the spacious terraces overlooking the lake, equipped with sofas and tables and chairs; the huge comfy beds: all these guarantee a real rest. There is a wonderful palapa area for watching the sunset, a dock for swimming, and a warm bubbly back-restoring hot tub and a sauna to complete the cure. The food is gourmet vegetarian and aesthetically presented in the lovely firelit, lakeview dining room. Everything here has been created with care, including architectural details and a sumptuous lounge and game area above the restaurant. My only reservations would be the bathroom design, open somewhat on the sleeping room; I was alone so it was not an issue for me, but that feature that might present a privacy problem. However, the owners assured me that they are going to make interior shutters to resolve this. The lighting too was a little low for reading - I am an avid reader - but this too, will be taken care of, I was told, and in the room I chose, the lowest one with a little garden, the lamps were adequate. The waitstaff is sweet and eager to please. This is a new venture and already a truly wonderful one, and, considering the sincere and enthusiastic attitude of its creators, will only improve. So, if you want a special experience, this might be just the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
774 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
287 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Property: Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing