We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We loved the professionalism and the kindness of the staff! Lovely and relax area! Lost to do: hiking, visiting surrounded village, swimming, kayak, etc. the food is awesome!!
I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 499 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

A romantic getaway in a gorgeous setting. A very relaxed setting with wonderful service from attentive and personable staff. We ate nearly all of our meals for the week on-site and enjoyed the food immensely. Some of the staff speak little English, but go far out of their way to ensure everything is to your liking. The lake is calm in the mornings with great views of the three volcanic peaks across the lake. Every direction you look is breathtaking with views from above along the trail that starts at the back of the lodge.
Large, beautiful cranes cruise by on a regular basis. Occasionally snagging a fish diner.
My wife and I had a great time with interesting activities (We went paragliding and on a trip to San Juan to visit a local Shaman in his home) and plenty of opportunity to relax and enjoy each others company. The local Mayan population seem very hospitable.
Highly recommended. Ask for Juan Manuel.
The photo is from our room at sunset(on the second level).

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor have private garden patios. The higher rooms have verandas with better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael20122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for four nights at Laguna Lodge (March 24-28). It was wonderful- very rejuvenating. We bought a very reasonably priced Groupon for a 4 night stay that included breakfast for two and a nice bottle of wine. The staff was wonderful, as was the setting, rooms, and the all organic/vegetarian cuisine. The hike to the hammocks was definitely a highlight of our stay (so bring your hiking sandals- we took the long route which took about 2 hrs), as was the included kayaking. Each night there were brilliant lightening shows that lit up the sky but no rain. We explored the lake on our own and did not go on any guided tours, and had a great time. We walked to Santa Cruz each day, and from there we took the boats to a different town each day. Our favorite was San Juan, which is not as crowded with tourists as San Pedro. San Juan is known for their textiles and artists, so if you are looking for souvenirs, this is the place to go. They have a wonderful weaving cooperative comprised of local women, and we were invited into the studio's/homes of several artists. We took a short taxi ride to the coffee plantation, which was amazing. There was a 45 minute hike that had glorious views of the lake, San Juan, and the coffee plantation. San Marcus is also a very pleasant town full of new age healers and travelers from all over the world. San Pedro was more of a relaxed party town. When we returned each night, we were able to relax in luxury at Laguna Lodge. I would highly recommend staying at Laguna Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level- from our room you could not see the actual lake if your were sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwifekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

verything about this hotel is gorgeous and peaceful. Every possible view you have is breathtaking. The ONLY issue I had was that the infinity pool was green and murky.
The coffee there was amazing. The people were super friendly. Breakfast and every meal is served with a smile. Their staff literally does everything our boat driver was also the man that served us dinner, drinks, cleaned our room, and served us breakfast, did the gardening. I give them a lot of respect. Bring a book.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jackandthebeanstalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaLodge, General Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would like to apologize for the appearance of the pool during your stay. As we use a salt water re-generator to clean the pool it requires occasional maintenance with sea salt which causes the pool to have a temporary cloudy appearance. The lodge has 15 staff members each with a dedicated service area and during high occupancy they are pleased to serve you in other areas. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friend and I had 3 nights at the beautiful Laguna Lodge and we were absolutely blown away. The room and the rest of the hotel was not only beautiful in every way but thoughtfully created with sustainable materials. Even the lamp shades were made of corn from the local villages! The location was perfect, just a 5 minute boat ride on the stunning lake to the main town of Panahachel where you can spend the day wandering through endless market stalls searching for locally made goods. When you're not off exploring the surrounding lakeside towns, the hotel itself has some great facilities to take advantage of including a day spa, gorgeous chill out areas and best of all a perfectly located infinity pool. And the food... Some of the finest vegetarian cuisine that ever did exist. Thank you to the wonderful staff for the impeccable service with a smile - Laguna Lodge is just one of those places that can not be faulted.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The good: the staff is friendly and make all attempts to be helpful, the rooms are beautiful, clean, and spacious, the preserve is a great place for a hike. The bad: no water pressure, very little hot water, no bathroom doors, rooms have very little lighting (headaches every night from eye strain), spotty wifi (more likely due to location, not bc of hotel), and food is very expensive. I have been a vegetarian for 15 years and I know that sometimes this increases costs, however, $40-50 per dinner is not the going rate for dinner per person. In the states I can get as much food for at least equal quality for much less. For as expensive as this hotel is, I would expect more comfort. Would recommend eating elsewhere on lake. Would like more specific info re water taxis by staff, not just its easy to grab one. Be careful to look at your check out bill, our bottle of wine was to be included in our hotel price but if we wouldn't have checked we would have been charged for an okay bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagunaLodge, General Manager at Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and helpful staff. Zotz restaurant's lunch menu ranges from $7 to $15. Four course dinner menus are priced at $40 which is $8 for soup, $8 for salad, $16.00 for the main and $8 for dessert, in keeping with other full service establishments located in an intimate and exclusive setting. Daily a la carte breakfast is included in the rate. Deluxe suites have an open plan bathroom style whereas Luxury and Superior suites have a more traditional layout. We apologize for the water interruption due to the system being upgraded at the time of your stay. Local water taxis are not on a set schedule and our staff are always at your service if requested to help flag down a passing boat. We hope you will return to Laguna Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved the Laguna Lodge - it's a quiet retreat in a beautiful setting, overlooking the lake and volcanos. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, starting with our trip preparations (via email with Juan Manual, who is so very nice and helpful) and concluding with our stay at the lodge. We were lucky enough to get a complimentary upgrade to the Jaguar room for part of our stay - the views were unbelievable! We also spent 2 nights in Ceiba, which is also quite luxurious - just on a lower level. The food at the restaurant is exclusively vegetarian (which made us happy) and delicious.

Some things to know - the lodge is only accessible by boat and the public water taxis (lanchas) stop running at 5pm. Food and beverages at the lodge are fairly expensive (similar to prices at home in California), but you can order off the a la carte menu if the four course dinner is too much. The 4-course menu was absolutely amazing, but we felt it was too much food after the first 2 nights.

The walk in the nature reserve is also great, though not for the faint of heart! (ie, myself) I'm scared of heights and found it to be a challenge, esp the "left" side of the circular route (heading up) - the Mayan stairs are quite steep, and then the ridge is really narrow. However the views coming down were well worth the effort - stunning, stunning, stunning! If you want an easier trek, just head to the hammocks (the "right" side heading up) and you'll find it easier and still get the views. It's worth doing, just know what you're in for.

We most enjoyed our day visits walking to Santa Cruz (although that trail is quite haphazard at times too, given the recent rise in the lake level that seems to have washed out the original trail), San Marcos (leave enough time for a massage at much better prices than the lodge), and San Juan (quiet and great textiles). San Pedro is a back-packer's haven and quite busy (but fine) and we didn't enjoy Santiago - too busy. We didn't spend any time in Pana.

Definitely be sure to spend at least one day lounging at the lodge - all that beauty and peacefulness deserves a day in itself (or more!) to be properly enjoyed! And take the kayaks out - it's a great way to experience the lakes.

Thank you Laguna Lodge for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyous102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.7 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
Kaalpul Atitlan Eco Hotel & Spa
#31 of 55 in Lake Atitlan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve

Address: Tzantizotz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: $285 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laguna Lodge is on the lakeshore of the legendary Lake Atitlan and exclusively nestled in its own nature reserve. Entry into this Mayan world begins by boat. In a privileged setting our luxuriously natural 5 star boutique hotel commands sweeping views over azure waters to a trio of dramatic volcanoes. Inspired by nature and created from volcanic stone, adobe and palm our spacious lakeside suites are individually appointed with comfortable hand hewn king beds, fine linens, intricate woven textiles and indigenous antiques. In the evenings our award winning Zotz restaurant is bathed in golden hues from a large stone fireplace and antique candelabras, a romantic ambiance for a fine dining experience. After the days tours and adventures enjoy a dip in the hot river rock spa pool and be pampered with a relaxing body treatment offered at our Hummingbird spa. Relax at the lava bar or lakeside pavilion and watch the surreal sunset turn into a star studded night. The Mayan highlands are rich in culture and the lodge’s indigenous staff look forward to offering you a unique and memorable experience! - Utz Ipetik! Welcome! Come and explore, discover and experience with us and see why Time magazine says – Laguna Lodge is pure Maya magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Hotel Santa Cruz La Laguna
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort And Nature Reserve
Laguna Hotel Eco Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve Guatemala/Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing