We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this place, loved the view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ollantaytambo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved this place, loved the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, the first nigh we slept at their small bungalow in the village of Jaibalito and the second night we were in one of the smaller rooms at the top of the hotel. The views are fantastic and the sit-down dinner with all the guests very enjoyable. From Jaibalito we were able to rent a small boat for the day and tour around the lake. The best thing about this is the fanstic setting with a view of the lake and volcanoes in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElAlbergue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    99
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
93
285
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
359 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

All of Lake Atitlan is beautiful, but our room, I believe #13, gave us a nice view of the volcanos, with foliage. We ate all but one meal here and were very pleased with the selections.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

The hotel is on the side of a cliff by itself which makes for a quiet, relaxing get-away from the cities around Lake Atitlan. The cliff-side resort has beautiful gardens that are well tended. The views from the many balconies and terraces are fabulous. It's a perfect setting to go swimming and lounge in the hammocks with a book. Although there's only the one restaurant on-site, they have a very good variety of food for breakfast and lunch. I'd advise bringing your own liquor with you, though they do charge a corkage and recycling fee. Promise to take your bottles with you when you leave and they'll waive the recycling fee.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank psgriffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
207 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

I must agree with all of the other wonderful reviews. The food was great & we loved meeting other travelers from around the world. Our room #3 looked over the lake with amazing volcano views. The steps were a little tricky even with a small suitcase but well worth the climb. It was unbelievably inexpensive (even the beer & wine) for such a unique place. We cannot wait to return!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saltspringsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Casa Del Mundo in July of 2009 as part of a two week trip in Guatemala and Belize and it was a truly amazing place to stay. I really cannot say enough positive things about it.

First of all, the views and the location are spectacular. Very relaxing, and a great place to slow down, talk to other travelers, and take in the sights of the lake and the volcanoes. The hotel itself is very beautiful as well, with the rooms dispersed in clusters throughout the cliff area. There are many stairs to climb, but for us that was not an issue.

The food is extremely delicious. We did not have a meal there that was not totally enjoyable. The morning breakfasts are hearty and filling (I recommend the french toast); the multi-course candlelit dinners are a special treat as well and definitely more than worth the price.

We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bathroom which for us was not a problem at all. We never had to wait, and always had hot water. The bathroom is literally a few steps away, like it would be at your house. The view in our room was awesome, waking up looking directly at a huge volcano.

The swimming is great, and the hot tub is fun as well. There are many different spots around the property to lay out and enjoy the sun, or just hang out in a hammock in the shade. The property is so beautifully landscaped - so lush with lovely flowers everywhere.

Overall, it is almost unbelievable that the hotel is as inexpensive as it is for what you get. Between the fantastic location, friendly staff, great food, and just all-around wonderful vibe, we honestly can't recommend it enough. Just a really special place that is probably one of our favorite places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellysteveadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

I stayed here with my girlfriend after celebrating new year's in San Pedro. This unique place built little by little is a gem on the shores of Lago di Atitlan. Yes indeed it is a lot of steps up. If you cannot do it at once, then just stop and look over the lake and enjoy the view of the Volcanoes majestically surrounding the lake, which is at 1500m. I find this a very magical spot.

You can ask the owners to heat up the hot tub, done by a fire. In the evening you can relax in the hot tub and watch the stars.

Only accessible by boat or by foot!

Our bedroom was facing east with a view of the lake and the volcanoes. This was just superb and very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Just returned from a brief getaway- and this was by far one of the best places I have ever stayed!! The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms perfect down to every detail, you can tell there is was a lot of love going into this hotel. The communal dinners were enjoyable (although notably not native influenced - but offered a great opportunity to connect with other travelers). Book ahead and make sure to spend at least 2 full days here, you wont regret! Make sure to bring extra cash as its all cash only.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaibalito
1.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villas Balam Ya
Villas Balam Ya
#9 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Property: La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Address: El Jaibalito | Accesible Solo en Lancha, Jaibalito 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Mundo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 19 Rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing