We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice! ”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

It is a very nice place as a get-away. If you really want to have fun at Panajachel, like night life and stuff, I can recommend some other places... Because here, you can't go out at night like to Pana for example. Even though, it's a very nice and calm place to stay over.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mynor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    100
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
98
291
37
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our family just didn't want to leave! From the moment we arrived...it was enchanting. La Casa del Mundo is only accessible via boat...which is the first amazing piece of the adventure. When the heavily-packed boat pulled up, we were already ooh-ing & ahh-ing at the Swiss Family Robinson-like structure greeting us from the steep rocky hillside. The dockhands helped us out, grabbed our luggage, and offered to hoist it up the hill to our rooms. Glad we accepted. Pack LIGHT! You won't need much. Wish we'd left our heavy (long, complicated travel itinerary) bags in Panahachel & just brought day-bag stuff to LCdelMundo. Every room is unique & fun. Each has an amazing view of Lake Atitlan. Dining on location is great & easy - and the food is really good (but we heard you can walk to another little place just down the shore/next door, if you want more variety during a longer stay). The breakfast was amazing! Smoothies, gluten-free options, great coffee, and delicious local-style offerings. The one odd thing was the hot-tub. You can "reserve a place" & split the charge with whomever else signs up. But people can also reserve it for "private" for just $35...and that was what happened each of the nights we were there...they grabbed it & had it the entire night. All we wanted was 15-20 mins...but "not available"...didn't like that system. Instead, we sat on one of the many comfortable patios areas & enjoyed star-gazing & a night-cap. The paths are very steep - lots of stairs (no one with mobility issues would do well here, sorry to say)...but well lit at night. They had pitchers of purified water for us. The tile work & room decor is lovely. It's all very elegant and charming, though not "fancy". Prices are terrific...for rooms, meals, services. You can rent the kayaks, swim near the dock, relax in a hammock (they are everywhere!)...and, best of all, take day trips to the near-by villages: San Marcos, San Juan, San Pedro, Santiago...and so on. Do note that LCdelM only accepts cash...which you'll need to bring with you - or hit ATM in Pana or San Pedro. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The higher up you go, the more stairs you'll have to climb. Rooms near the dining area incur a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoFlashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My son and I spent three days at La Casa del Mundo at the end of March. It was truly relaxing! Birds singing, pretty gardens, wonderful friendly staff. The owner and his wife are very conscious of the environment, and it shows in the way the hotel is run. Look forward to returning one day in the not to distant future!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

What an amazing stay! I can't stop raving about the place! The only thing I wish had been different is to have more than 2 nights here! We arrived at the dock and were greeted by one of the staff who told us to leave our bags and he would carry them up -- we didn't realize the steep incline it took to get up to the room, but the workout was worth it once we got to the top! The room looked out over the gorgeous lake. Dinner was family style seating, and delicious! Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was probably the best breakfast I've ever had! A breakfast burrito rolled in rice tortillas (I'm allergic to gluten) and made with a tofu and veggie mix. Covered in lettuce, sauce, and beans on the side. Delicious smoothie. I mean I would have been happy if all they had was good food. But it didn't stop there! We did an early morning swim, and could have rented kayaks (ran out of time). There's also a hot tub available to rent -- and this is where my only problem with the place happened. The hot tub is available to rent but it's first come first serve and if a group has rented it, they have it for the whole night. Well there was a group there that ended up renting it out every single night, blocking everyone else out of swimming. We even asked the people if we could join, letting them know we would pitch in for the cost. They were standoffish and not-so-politely declined the offer. I think the hotel should have a policy of only renting it out for a max of 1 or 2 hours, so to allow the 40+ guests staying there every night the opportunity to enjoy the view while sitting in the fire-heated hot tub. Like I said, only issue. Loved it here and will definitely be coming back to stay longer. Book in extreme advance as this place fills up quickly!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macjweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We were in room number 10 and although it was quite a hike from the dock to the room, and a little bit from the cafe, it was well worth it. There was a small patio outside our room where we could enjoy the scenery and a small window in the room as well with views. You could tell that there were quit a few cottages amongst the hills but they have done an excellent job in planting beautiful plants all over their property and you feel like you're the only one there. Coming from NYC, that is exactly what we had in mind.

Dinners at night are communal and the food is very good. The people who work in the hotel, and those contracted for gardening, etc, were all very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and would be very nice to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Make your reservations early for this gem on Lake Atitlan. Dinners, served to the group, are fabulous and the people you meet are interesting. Service is impeccable. Awakening to a view of the volcanos and the water lapping at the lake's edge is like being on a land cruise. Our second visit and it did not disappoint. Advice: You do not need the highest room ...just more steps to climb. One small point, now that Casa has a fancy new coffee maker, they charge by the cup. I would prefer to pay more for the room and have access to a communal urn. Let the Starbucks types pay..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in March 2014. Absolutely superb hotel, with stunning views, clean facilities and attentive staff. The breakfasts are great and the family style dinners, where several excellent courses were served to hotel guests around a shared table, were a social highlight of my trip, allowing us to engage with fellow guests and discuss the sights we'd seen during the day.
With its own dock, CdM is an excellent spot to use as a base to explore the lake, not to far from the main hub in Panajachel, but far enough to feel wonderfully secluded and peaceful.
My advice (based on a minor grumble) would be to avoid room 5 if possible as it's a bit of a walk to the nearest bathroom and the communal relaxation balcony is right next door to it, so it's not the most private room. As I say, a minor grumble which takes nothing away from the overall experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryHarrison83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaibalito
1.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Property: La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Address: El Jaibalito | Accesible Solo en Lancha, Jaibalito 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Mundo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 19 Rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing