We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel IslaVerde(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel el Arca de Noe(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Villa Sumaya(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Fortuna at Atitlan(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
El Dragon Hotel & Restaurant(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Schumann(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Lush Atitlan(San Marcos La Laguna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveler rating
554
114
20
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
554
114
20
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily stylehot tublake atitlanother guestslong tabledel mundothe cliffcommunal dinnernooks and cranniesshared bathother travelersincredible viewsroom numberopportunity to meetsteep stairsbeautiful hotelonly accessible by boat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 708 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer! We were in room number 10 and although it was quite a hike from the dock to the room, and a little bit from the cafe, it was well worth it. There was a small patio outside our room where we could enjoy the scenery and a small window in the room as well with views. You could tell that there were quit a few cottages amongst the hills but they have done an excellent job in planting beautiful plants all over their property and you feel like you're the only one there. Coming from NYC, that is exactly what we had in mind.

Dinners at night are communal and the food is very good. The people who work in the hotel, and those contracted for gardening, etc, were all very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel and would be very nice to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Make your reservations early for this gem on Lake Atitlan. Dinners, served to the group, are fabulous and the people you meet are interesting. Service is impeccable. Awakening to a view of the volcanos and the water lapping at the lake's edge is like being on a land cruise. Our second visit and it did not disappoint. Advice: You do not need the highest room ...just more steps to climb. One small point, now that Casa has a fancy new coffee maker, they charge by the cup. I would prefer to pay more for the room and have access to a communal urn. Let the Starbucks types pay..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbeeSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in March 2014. Absolutely superb hotel, with stunning views, clean facilities and attentive staff. The breakfasts are great and the family style dinners, where several excellent courses were served to hotel guests around a shared table, were a social highlight of my trip, allowing us to engage with fellow guests and discuss the sights we'd seen during the day.
With its own dock, CdM is an excellent spot to use as a base to explore the lake, not to far from the main hub in Panajachel, but far enough to feel wonderfully secluded and peaceful.
My advice (based on a minor grumble) would be to avoid room 5 if possible as it's a bit of a walk to the nearest bathroom and the communal relaxation balcony is right next door to it, so it's not the most private room. As I say, a minor grumble which takes nothing away from the overall experience.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank HarryHarrison83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A concert of birdsong in the morning and twinkling fireflies after dark - what a wonderful place to spend several days. The setting is spectacular, clinging to the hillside above Lake Atitlan, the rooms are lovely, modern amenities and traditional decor, with windows all around to take in the views of the lake, volcanoes and villages. The dining room is a little noisy, with conversations buzzing as we met travelers from all over the world at family style tables. But the food and drink made up for it. Always a soup and salad choice, meat entree and a vegetarian option. Desserts to die for, and the breakfast choices were wide, although I always went for the oatmeal. I was with a group, but would feel very comfortable there as a solo traveler - friendly and private at the same time. The grounds are spectacular, and as a 72 year old woman I was able to manage the famously daunting stairs just fine, stopping frequently to admire the view, the flowers, and catch my breath. This was truly a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I loved this place as a solo traveler. The combination of being with others in the evening for a community dinner and having my own little quiet world during the day was perfect. I think the owner is an incredible man to have created on his own such a unique little paradise. He designed and built it! Yes, the steps are a challenge to even a reasonably fit 68 year old woman, and the pillows are lumpy and the sheets a bit scratchy but I can certainly make do for such a hospitable and beautiful place. When you travel, you realize that perfection is not always what you are going to find but this place comes very close. Oh! one afternoon I sat on the little terraces down buy the lake's edge and watched the incredible waves crash to the shore. There is even a hammock down there for those who are interested. Book early as I was verity lucky to get two night's with no reservation after leaving a fairly dreadful place in Pana. I did have to change rooms and have a shared bath for the second night, but it worked out fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejandr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews