We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

My wife and I and 5 friends just stayed a couple of nights at Casa del Mundo and it was wonderful. The views of Lake Atitlan are spectacular and they can be had from nearly every room at the hotel. Simply excellent.

The food was excellent although your choices are dependent upon your meal. The lunch menu (nothing served after 2p) was lengthy and everyone had excellent food. Dinner has one seating (starts at 6:30p) and there is one option, whatever is cooked that day. I guess you could say the dinner menu is limited, but that one choice is good and include 4 courses.

There is a bit a walk up some stairs, but it's not bad. Staff is helpful. It is removed from any towns, so go with your loved one or friends and know your evenings will be tranquil. No goin' out to a club here. It is about a 1/2 hour lancha (boat) ride from Panajachel. Go and have a good time.

  • Liked — beautiful location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    104
    18
    10
    9
See reviews for
103
298
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

you can't beat the views. there are more nooks and crannies here that delight. there are also fascinating things to see which take a little digging. take a walk west of the hotel early in the morning and see subsistence fishing. the women who clean and sort the fish actually wear those beautifully multicolored skirts and blouses as they deal with the fish. also there is a tiny town in the same area that (forgot the name) is devoid of the tourism of the villages you will visit around the lake and will tug at your heartstrings.

we had some of the smaller, darker rooms in the hotel so take some care in choosing your room. the food is ok but not great. the vibe is way cool. lots of intersting short term visitors who delight in sharing their adventures at the family style dinners. the swimming is divine in the morning. the water got rough every day we were there in the afternoon. transportation is very easy off the hotel's dock. be prepared for climbing lots of steps.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vjplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This hotel offers the best overall stay experience I've had in Guatemala with clean, comfortable and hospital accommodations. The food was excellent as well. For those who are not used to climbing or walking short to long distances I'd not recommend this hotel due that it's somewhat remote and requires visitors to trek a bit by boat and foot to get there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Austiniter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

One of the best places we have every stayed!

You take the launch/boat out to their dock from Panachel. As you come upon the property you see how amazing it is. Wonderful landscaping, spectacular views.

You do have to walk up the path a bit to get to your rooms. It is worth it.

When we got to our room, my wife was crying because it was so beautiful.

We had an afternoon drink and nachos looking over the lake. I almost started to cry.

We had dinner with the other quests. I wonderful experience. The food was excellent.

We swam and used the kayaks.

We were sad we only stayed one night.

The reservation was an interesting experience. We went to the local bank and deposited money into their account (which they gave to us over the phone). We then called them back with the receipt number.

In 2005 we only paid US$20! It was definitely worth much more.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12272012c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I adore La Casa Del Mundo!

Okay, so it isn't a 5 star hotel in classification but it is an amazing place and one of the best values I have found in my travels. When we arrived by ferry, I actually had a bit of an audible gasp when I saw the hotel on the hillside. We only paid around $25/pp and it was much more beautiful than I expected. La Casa Del Mundo has great views, good food, clean, cozy rooms, and a great location. We were there over Thanksgiving weekend and I believe that the place was full.

Make sure you are in reasonably good physical shape. There are quite a few steep steps to hike up after you get out of the ferry to reception and then the rooms. We were all a little out of breath when we got to our rooms! But the views are worth it!

We only stayed one night and got 3 rooms for the 5 of us. 2 of the rooms had large, wall sized windows with stunning views of the lake and volcanos. I ended up getting my own corner room with 2 single beds and a small window - but even then I could still see the lake and volcano at an angle. The rooms are not extravagant but they are very nice and cozy. They have a lodge-y style with Guatemalan decor. The bathrooms are not ensuite (at least for our 3 rooms, I'm not sure about the others) but we didn't have to wait very long to use the facilities and they were 5 steps away from our rooms.

Dinner was at long tables with the other hotel guests. The place is pretty secluded and dark at night so there really aren't any other choices but it was wonderful. It was nice to meet all the people there at the table. There were some people that kept more to themselves but it was not awkward or anything. With the group of 5, we cornered part of the table and so it seemed intimate at the same time we were sitting with others. The food was great (a small salad, chicken soup, chicken dish, and dessert) and we were treated to a small fireworks display during dinner, courtesy of friendly neighbors.

The jacuzzi at the time was being rented out privately by a couple so we weren't able to use it. The next day it was being fixed so we weren't able to use it then either. I wasn't there for the jacuzzi so it's wasn't a big deal. But if you want to, you can make reservations to have a private jacuzzi rental.

The staff is sweet and the owners were friendly.

It is a great place to relax for a while. My favorite features of the hotel are the views and the layout of the hotel - it meanders and there are a lot of nooks and crannies to explore for a small hotel.

La Casa Del Mundo is a great hotel and a great value!

  • Liked — views, seclusion
  • Disliked — the steps but its part of the magic
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ca_glin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

My girlfriend and I were just awestruck, when we arrived in our room at the Casa del Mundo. The hotel was recommended by friends, but we had no idea it was this nice and great. The hotel really has spectacular views of the lake and the volcanoes. Our room was spacious, had a good bathroom and a nice bed. It even had a hammock inside. The restaurant served great food (try the french toast and smoothie for breakfast and the day is off to a great start) and the restaurant is packed, when dinner is served. The guests are all seated on the big table, which will lead to getting to know the other guests and thus to some nice conversations. The hotel itself is beautifully located and has serveral canoes to explore the lake by yourself. You can also sunbathe, lounge in hammocks, swim and explore the other villages around the lake. It certainly an unforgettable experience!!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank justinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed is this hotel several years ago and it is one of my favorite hotels in the world. It is located next to Lake Atitlan in Guatemala and is a wonderful location. The staff is incredibly friendly and the food is great. One of the highlights is the daily communal dinners where you can meet and talk with other travelers.
The hotel is not luxurious, but the rooms are comfortable and have beautiful views.

  • Liked — Location/View
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacefulexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaibalito
3.5 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
784 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
462 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
216 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mundo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mundo Hotel

Property: La Casa del Mundo Hotel
Address: El Jaibalito | Accesible Solo en Lancha, Jaibalito 07014, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Jaibalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jaibalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Mundo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guatemala's most magical hotel - Lonely Planet. 19 Rooms built upon a Jaibalito cliffside pleasantly house travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Casa del Mundo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Mundo
La Casa Del Mundo Hotel Guatemala/Jaibalito, Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing