We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveler rating
582
121
27
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
121
27
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family style hot tub lake atitlan other guests long table communal dinner room number beautiful hotel opportunity to meet only accessible by boat interesting people private balcony amazing views shared bathroom unique place enjoy the view santa cruz
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 751 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last month, we (myself and two girl friends) stayed at Casa Del Mundo for 6 nights. We started by booking one night in advance and then continued to add additional nights because we just couldn't leave this wonderful spot. The staff is extremely helpful with planning local activities as well as with offering advice on other parts of the country. I highly recommend reading the information in the notebook in your room upon your arrival. It includes helpful information about the hotel and surrounding area. We did the 6 hour highland tour (listed in the book) and absolutely loved it - it was a highlight of our three week trip. The owner's son, Sebastion, led us up the mountain and through different villages telling us about the history of the area. If you are up for a challenging hike with amazing views and information - do this hike! The other villages around the lake are all unique and are worth exploring. And last but not least, the food was incredible (and affordable). We looked forward to the family style candle lit dinner each night and continued to crave the food as we journeyed to other parts of Guatemala. You will not be disappointed in your stay at this wonderful hotel!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

background: I am 24 years old and was travelling with my 23 year old husband. we had to stretch to afford la casa del mundo - but every cent paid was worth it!

the good: la casa is located in the most beautiful place I have ever been. we have stayed all over the place (in new zealand, kenya, barcelona, france, panama, costa rica, mexico, etc.) but this view took our breath away. you know how after you've travelled for a few years it's difficult to be awed? Well, look no further than la casa del mundo and lago atilan, and you'll be as excited as ever before. after years of being amazing, la casa has customer care to a science, they've everything you need on premise (they'll even mail postcards!) ranging from snorkel gear to gum. the food is delicious and was one of the highlights. you can hike (relatively) easily to nearby locations and the boat ride form the dock at Pana to Jabalito is awe-inspiring. I'd definitely suggest a snorkel and exploring the sunken terraces - so cool. absolutely amazing. everything about this place was amazing. we will definitely return. definitely. definitely. room 13 was perfect - especially if you are less fit and would prefer not to walk up infinite stairs :) the view was incredible and the room, fabulously decorated.

the not so good: if you aren't fit (and even if you are) prepare to sweat and pant as you walk up the steps.it's great exercise though and makes you feel comfortable pigging out a bit more :)

be prepared to spend a bit of money - we ate all our meals and drank liberally during our stay and escaped with a bill of about $300 USD. pretty awesome! Do know that you need to bring cash (quetzales) or pay to exchange USD. secret option: if the wifi is working they will let you pay using paypal!

Room tip: room 13 all the way. perfect view. great location. plenty of space.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspeifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you want to get away from it all for a few days then this is the place to go. Unfortunately it rained a lot during our stay but if you get good weather the views from the hotel are amazing, you can see 3 or 4 volcanoes scattered around the lake from most of the rooms and balconies. We also had to share the hotel with an American college group so it got a bit noisy at times and the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed. The food was some of the best we had in Guatemela and really good value for money. I would recommend either getting the hotels private boat or a public boat to some of the villages around the lake if you want to see the real Guatemala. Try and catch market days at Santiago and San Pedro in the morning before any tourists get there, they are much more interesting and cheaper than Chichicastenango.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

After a disappointing arrival at nearby Vulcano Lodge (the manager was away and we finally found a maid to give us a key, along with a bare-bones cabin for which we were overcharged), we switched to Casa del Mundo. We were invited to arrive in the morning and use their kayaks (free of charge) while our room was readied. We had a small but nicely-decorated room with an incredible view.
Great food and very friendly and professional staff. They were always ready to help plan boat trips to nearby villages.

Room tip: Our room had a view of the lake from the room and from our patio. I believe some just have one or the other. You can check out the rooms at their website.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spend one night at La Casa del Mundo and loved it. It was a magical place. Each room has its own view and is each perched on a bit of cliff nestled among blooming plants, humming birds, mayan-looking sculptures and other charming touches. This hotel is also a feel good place because it strives to be environmentally friendly, which makes savoring the natural environment all around you that much sweeter. We spoke no spanish and the staff were still wonderful to us. It was the most beautiful hotel we stayed at in Guatemala.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews