We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Drake Bay
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great dining experience - perfect for a honeymoon!”
Review of Kalaluna Bistro'

Kalaluna Bistro'
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food - especially the Italian food - was very good for anywhere, let alone a place as remote and beautiful as Agujitas.

My wife and I stayed at the hotel above Kalaluna (Jinetes de Osa) for our honeymoon and ate here several times over the course of a week. I was not expecting to find perfectly mixed negronis, affordable barolo, and actually al dente pasta in the middle of a tropical paradise... but there it was! We especially loved the seafood linguini and brut prosecco.

Shirley and the rest of the staff are incredibly warm. At the end of dinner, we felt not just waited on - but nourished and cared for. At the end of our trip, we were sad that we could not bring Kalaluna back with us to New York (if they come, we'll be the first patrons!). Maybe it's for the best, though. The incredibly starry sky over Drake Bay (when was the last time you could see the milky way while sipping aperitifs?) is certainly a more romantic backdrop than the Hudson river, in all its post-industrial glory.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adventure764948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio D, Gerente at Kalaluna Bistro', responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Gracias por tú comentario fue un placer haberlos conocido en nuestro restaurante kalaluna Bistro!!! Y que se sintieran como en casa eso nos satisface demasiado!!! Estamos para servirles....Pura vida costa Rica.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited twice while at Drake Bay. Once for lunch and once for dinner. Food is delicious. We had the fish ceviche for lunch for which was the best we had in Costa Rica.

When we had dinner there it took absolutely ages to get our bill which was a shame as it spoilt the experience.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank SWHN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio D, Gerente at Kalaluna Bistro', responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario fue un placer haberlos atendido en el nuestro restaurante y que la comida le gustó y estaremos más atentos en el futuro a que la factura llegue más rápido al cliente, seguro fue una distracción de parte del salinero.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

I can't believe we had diner 3 evening in a Row!!
Tuna at its best!
Pricey? No! You are in heavenly food territory!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank darathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio D, Gerente at Kalaluna Bistro', responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias fue un placer haberlos satisfechos.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

The best ceviche ever.
The best margarita.
So friendly welcoming and warm staff.
A place to be, to have dinner and some cocktails

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Bennji99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio D, Gerente at Kalaluna Bistro', responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario...fue un placer.
Pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

The restaurant was fully booked so we only stayed for a quick drink: best piña colada of the trip, plus the sunset view wasn’t too bad either

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank claired964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio D, Gerente at Kalaluna Bistro', responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias espero que la próxima vez podrá probar algunos de nuestros platos.Pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalaluna Bistro' also viewed

 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Kalaluna Bistro'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing