We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient Jungle Palace”
other travelers have booked this property
The 2 level casona faces the rainforest. From the top level it is as if you are in a treehouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 2 level casona faces the rainforest. From the top level it is as if you are in a treehouse.
Bedrooms on top level have an outside entrance. Entrance into the casona.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The 2 level casona faces the rainforest. From the top level it is as if you are in a treehouse.
Bedrooms on top level have an outside entrance.
Entrance into the casona.
Lower level sitting area with TV with DVD's, games, books. This area opens to the porch.
Dining area that opens to lower level porch where there is a hammock and another table.
Top level bedroom #1 with 1 queen bed, safe, ceiling fan. Open to top deck.
Top level bedroom #2 with 1 double bed  & 1 twimm bed.
Drake Bay is remote exclusive destination.
Drake Bay is home to world famous sport fishing.
Mario and Nichole, your hosts.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
soxina
Italian Traveller
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient Jungle Palace”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at la Casona for 5 nights, and wish we had stayed longer. It is very convneinet being such a short walk from the tiny "town" and beach where excursions depart, yet backing up to the jungle with its colorful wildlife. Comfortable, spacious and clean with nice open air bathrooms and good mattresses. We loved sitting on the upstairs balcony watching the monkeys and birds, or in the garden amidst butterflies and birds coming to feed. Nichole handled our tour arrangements in advance, and while we were there, Mario was a welcoming host and kindly walked us to the start of our tours, even at 6.00 am! If you love wildlife and being in a remote place, yet with very comfortable accommodations to come home to, this is the place for you! There were even DVD's and board games to play, in case you could ever get bored with jungle life (we didn't!). We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: No toaster
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivien256
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very pleasant accommodation and Mario could not have been more helpful”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Good location, a short walk from the beach and 'town'.

Mario was extremely helpful when we were there and always available to help. Nicole was away but she helped a lot with our booking, provided directions and advice for driving and she booked trips for us before we arrived. We would love to visit again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy D
1 review
“Superb rental in Drake Bay”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We are a family of four (11 and 16yr old kids) and stayed at this wonderful place for 3 nights. The location is excellent and the facilities are beautiful and have everything one could want. It is also very conveniently located for all excursions. Even better Nichole and Mario were extremely helpful in organizing things for us, from the water taxi in Sierpe to excursions to Sirena and Isla Cano. They made our stay feel like we were at home! Thanks Mario and Nichole for your hospitality!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry105
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family of four spent a week at the Casona in July and it turned out to be the best vacation we have ever been on. Being nature lovers, we chose to stay in Drake Bay for its proximity to Corcovado National Park and Cano Island. We never imagined how much nature we would actually see from the balcony of the Casona or the gardens of this beautiful property. We saw howler monkeys, white-faced monkeys, an iguana, macaws, toucans, trogons, hummingbirds, and butterflies from the decks that overlook the rainforest. We even explored around the garden at night and found tree frogs, geckos, anoles, and some amazing insects.

The house is modern, clean and well equipped. We ended up cooking about half of our meals and eating out the rest of the time. The town has a couple of small but well stocked grocery stores and several nice restaurants within a five minute walking distance of the property. The house is also close to the beach, walking trails, gift shops, and tour companies. There is no need for a rental car in Drake Bay.

The best part of staying at the Casona was the owners, Nichole and Mario (and Francesca). From our first email contact, we told them what dates we were considering and they helped us plan our transfers to and from Drake Bay. They asked us what we wanted to see and do in Costa Rica, and they helped us plan our excursions to Corcovado, Cano Island, and two night tours. Nichole called around to find us the best prices and recommended tour companies that she knew were reputable. This was the first vacation we did not book through a travel agency, and Nichole and Mario eased any stress we had and made sure everything went smoothly. The day before our trip, we received two emails. The first was from Sansa Airlines informing us that the Drake Bay airstrip was temporarily closed and we would have fly to another airstrip. We were ready to panic until we read the second email. It was from Nichole, explaining our connection options from the other airstrips. She made sure there was a taxi waiting for us at the airstrip that took us to the water taxi in Sierpe. Nichole and Mario were waiting for us at the beach when we arrived in Drake Bay. We can’t say enough about them.

It really was a trip of a lifetime. We would not change a thing, except to maybe stay longer next time. We highly recommend the Mango Street Casona with Nichole and Mario.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of nature, wildlife, we were exposed to.
Liked least: One week was not long enough.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elchoAriz...
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the tropics of Costa Rica”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This two bedroom house/casita is a perfect jumping off place to explore the wonders of the Osa Pennisula. While in the small town of Drake Bay it is tucked away off the Main Street, on the property of the wonderful local owners - Nicole and Mario. Your balcony view looks into the jungle where one can spot sloths, tropical birds and monkeys. A kitchen affords one the option of cooking yourself but nearby are local restaurants where fresh fish is served daily. Very close to the beach where the boats take off to Corcovado Park, Cano island or the mangroves. Nicole and Mario are incredible helpful in terms of offering suggestions or making arrangements for you. All the comforts of home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, hosts and casita.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelWit...
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Idyllic spot for time in Drake Bay and the rainforest!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have been to Drake Bay many times and know the range of accommodations quite well. Mango Street Casona is perfectly situated for those who want easy access to town coupled with peace and quiet of the jungle. I just concluded my second stay there and will definitely return!

The Casona is situated on a beautiful, private property that includes a lovely yard and garden with spectacular rear facing jungle views. It's not unusual to spot troops of monkeys and/or a sloth in a nearby tree. It's far enough off the main road to not hear the regular street sounds, yet a very easy walk (5 minutes) to the small pulperias (grocery stores) and restaurants. It's also a 5 minute walk to the beach where boats depart and arrive for tours to Corcovado, Cano Island, and the mangroves.

The Casona is a spacious two story unit and works well for a family, two couples, or friends. It is comfortably and tastefully furnished with a patio and an upstairs balcony. There is local artwork on the walls, an indication not only of good taste, but also the owners' desire to support talented individuals from Drake Bay and other nearby locales.

The owners, Mario and Nichole, manage their two on-premise properties and take care of their guests with lots of care and kindness. They are very welcoming and as long-time Drake residents with years of experience in the hospitality industry, offer outstanding customer service with a smile! They also know all the ins and outs of Drake Bay--tours, guides, places to eat, etc. They'll help with any or all of the arrangements you may need in order to make your time in Drake Bay, Corcovado National Park, and the Osa Peninsula as special and memorable as possible.

What else can I say about Mango Street Casona? Pura Vida, of course!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and peaceful with amazing rainforest views!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miriam V
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing