We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked a 3 nights package over My Costa Rica - this included transportation, food, accomodation, tour to Corcovado National Park and Snorkling on Isla de Caño. Everything worked out perfectly, the staff was extremly friendly and helpful, food was delicious. As the name of the hotel says, it is camping (monkeys are walking on the top of your tents, Iguanas lay in front of your tent, etc,) - beeing aware of that, the accomodation was great: comfortable beds and electricity in the tents, view on the ocean. I would defenitly go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selinicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    39
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
82
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here first part of our trip in early feb this year. Arriving here is like arriving in paradise! Staff met us at the boat to carry our bags. We stayed in the honeymoon tent which has the best view of the ocean. From the very beginning we felt we were finally on vacation. You don't miss the tv or a/c-great breezes from the ocean constantly. You start focusing on the important things-the ones you are with-great activities and enjoying each others company. We stayed 3 nights and did the snorkeling and park tour-both were so amazing I can't even describe. The guide snorkeling made this experience the best for me-I have had bad experiences and he made me want to go more-maybe even get a diving license. But one of the best parts of our trip was the night tour we took with one of the staff members at our tents. It was just us and another girl. We had the best time! The food here is fresh and I thought pretty good compared to restaraunts we ate at in San Jose. They really cater to you here. The showers are an experience in themselves but if you have ever camped before they are actually good. Some even have heat. Glad we went here and we are coming back in a few years!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjordan128b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were in Costa Rica for 3 months, the last part of our journey being here at the tent camp. We had a tent right up front, the closest to the beach that's just across from the creek. We stayed 6 nights near the end of February 2013.

What we liked:
- Views everywhere were amazing
- Loved kayaking out from the shore to watch the sunset and explore the coast - recommend avoiding trying to get in/out at high tide, especially during a full moon; fun, and an experience, but not really the smoothest transition.
- The snorkeling trip was excellent and would highly recommend taking part. We were in the water for at least 2 hours. My wife was a bit timid as she's not the greatest swimmer, but you're required to have a life vest (whether you wear it or just hold on to it is up to you; allows for letting it go and diving down for a bit).
- The day out to the national park and hiking the jungle was also exceptional. Word of advice here, take an extra bottle of water, or 2. Recommend the same for the snorkeling above. They do provide water at lunch, but for the amount of time we were in the sun/heat, we needed more, so made sure we had it with us on the national park trip following the day of snorkeling.
- Hike to Drake's Bay. A couple of miles, at most. Nothing hard about the hike, and get to see more of the costline.

What we didn't like:
- Probably #1 on the list would be the beds. Soft? Yes. Comfortable? Not so much. We camp a LOT, so staying in a tent is no problem, and figured the bed/mattress would be a "luxury". We wrapped towels around our pillows as they were moldy. The bed itself? It's a tropical environment, and we were there outside of the rainy season, and a mattress + tons of humidity really don't mix well....refer back to the moldy pillows. There's not much that can be done about it, but if we had it to do over again, we'd have taken our lightweight sleeping bags with us and just laid them out on the bed, then hung them up during the day to de-moisturize. Every night, no rain, but the mattress always felt like you were sleeping in a wet sock. The fan in the corner didn't do a lot, so not much use. A French couple and American couple had the same opinions of the beds. Nice idea, but not with the moisture I wouldn't really classify it as "luxury".
- Tom, the bartender, needs to either find something he enjoys or relax a bit to add to the enjoyment of the guests at the camp. Multiple times we heard him state, sometimes directly to us, "I'm the bartender, I shouldn't have to be dealing with this sh--!" Add the F-bomb being tossed around by him at various times, sometimes loudly when he was annoyed (quite often), and in multiples, whether kids were present or not, and we weren't impressed.
- The food. We arrived the same day as a temporary manager. I can't remembe his name, but he was there to try and figure ot what needed to be changed (or that's what he said), and Tom was showing him the ropes. As soon as we arrived we were provided lunch. The manager, who had just arrived and was eating with us, and I had a debate over whether we were eating a piece of fried chicken or a piece of fried fish. We kept changing our opinion with each bite. I think we finally decided it was fish. A few days later, for lunch again, we were given "something". There were 6 of us at the table, and only one of the 6 ate whatever the meat was(we think beef, but no way to tell what cut). We hadn't seen the monkeys for a few days, so.....who knows....joking! They get the food brought in by boat, so there's not a lot of options as to what the cooks can actually cook, and not faulting them, but you can bring in good food and cuts of meat just as easily as you can bring in mystery meat. Because it was noted that so many of us didn't care, or eat the "beef" for lunch, they cooked up a fish one of the employees had caught that morning for dinner. Everyone enjoyed this, and it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to incorporate this as a meal as often as possible since most people we met were staying for 3 days, not 6 like us.

Overall experience was enjoyable for what it was, especially the excursions and beauty of the place. I'd recommend 3 days, not 6. Our final few days were spent hiking and then lounging around in hammocks; which now that I think about it would, in my opinion, be a better idea for inside the tents than the beds with mattresses.

Would we do it again? No, not with the mattresses, maybe if we brought along our own sleeping bag and/or they put hammocks in the tents.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the beach....In February, make sure to ask for one that's not under the big fru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and took both the snorkel and the state park tour.

First things first....if you don't want to get dirty, DON'T GO HERE. You are camping. The showers are cold but clean and the tents have no AC (obviously). That being said, sleeping is tough because it can be a bit warm. The sights and views however are WELL WORTH IT. Monkeys right on the beach, mangos falling from the trees, and coconuts all around. It's a true paradise.

The service was great. No complaints about anything. Shout out to Adrian for being such a cool tour guide and host.

This was one of the stops for my graduation trip. I would for sure recommend this place for anyone who doesn't mind roughing it a little and wants an adventure!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank W I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night trip here, even with some bad weather. We booked through Vista Serena hostel in Manuel Antonio which was a far better rate than booking directly with the Tent Camp. The location is just beautiful, and if you can get one of the front tents you have a veranda with your very own ocean view. We were unfortunately in one of the back tents next to the toilet block which was a bit dark under the tree canopy, but I'm sure they would have moved us if they had space. The staff were friendly and helpful, but consistently forgot that one of the group was vegetarian. Every single meal they accidentally brought him a meat or fish meal, then had to apologise and find an alternative. The food was good and plentiful, particularly breakfasts. The jungle walk day trip was really excellent - our guide knew everything there was to know and was fascinating. The snorkelling trip was fun, but not ground breaking if you've come from the Carribean coast where the sealife is more diverse and the water clearer. We were lucky enough to see humpback whales on each of the 3 days of the trip, and to be surrounded by a pod of dolphins on the way out. If you're moving on towards Panama, it's easy to leave the Camp on the morning boat and be in David, Panama by 2pm. Thanks to all the staff here we really enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent in the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Corcovado Tent Camp is located on the ocean south of a town called Aguijats, in Drake Bay. The lodge has tents only. The tents however are set no platforms, it is so much more than just camping. It has a real wooden bed, a fan, electric light all night long. The setting is great. We stayed in a tent located beside a creek and at only just about 10 yards from the beach. There are tree platforms and aerial bridges , trails, a restaurant and even a bar service. We stayed for 2 nights which included a guided tour to Corcovado park. There is a trail going to Rio Claro, a beautiful beach with a pristine river where we swam. The camp is not recommended if you are looking for high end accommodation, but absolutely recommended if you enjoy rainforest, adventure, exciting, something different.

Room Tip: We realle recommend the beachfront tents. there are other tents set inside the forest which are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just an amazing trip, many Thanks to Jose and Tom and the rest of the staff. A truly memorable experience.Everything went as planned, the Tent Camp was a beautiful location and the excursions to Cano Island and Corcovado Park were truly a great experience. I would highly recommend it for anyone planning a trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredBower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.3 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
22.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp

Property: Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Address: Caletas de Osa Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp offers luxury tent accommodations on the beach with amazing views and abundant wildlife, a relaxing environment immersed in the natural wonders of the Osa peninsula. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Discover why National Geographic calls it, "The most biologically diverse place on the planet." Affordable comfort and luxury with full board delicious fare and a full range of Corcovado National Park and Cano Island tours on land and sea. Unique accommodations in full-size tents with wood-frame beds, private decks, electricity, wireless internet and breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Hotel Drake Bay
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing