We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp was wonderful. Everything about it - wonderful: the people, the view, the food, the tents, everything.

Both tours included were fantastic. We saw everything from monkeys, red macaws, tucans, sloths, wild hogs, and more. We even were lucky enough to see a giant pacific manta on our snorkeling tour. Not to mention the monkey that woke us up one morning by peaking over the side of our tent - so amazing.

We also did the Canopy Tour (zip-lining) and I highly recommend it if you are going. The tour guides made you feel extremely safe and we were always hooked to something. They made sure there was a 0% chance of falling while zip-lining or climbing.

Keith, the main manager we believe, was really great. Very helpful and organized. His night tour was one not to miss!

We stayed for 5 nights - 6 days and honestly both felt as if we could have stayed longer. I felt bad for those who only stayed 3 nights - it's too lovely to not stay longer!

They clean the tents everyday to rid them of any sand you tracked in the day before - so they always feel very clean.The food is always extremely fresh and very filling. We never felt as if we were without anything.

Of course waking up in the middle of the night and having to go to the bathroom was hard seeing as how far the facilities are. But hey - you sign up for an adventure - and you get an adventure!

P.S. Make sure to request Tres Leches for desert one night. You wont regret it!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a beach front tent - they are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Caitlyn W,
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate you sharing your experience for others to read. We are so happy you enjoyed your tours and you complete experience with us. Our night tours our extremely popular so we are happy you mentioned that.


We have had other people mention the distance of the bathrooms. It is not far from all tents. Some of the tents closer to the beach have a bit futher of a walk to the bathrooms but that is the trade off to be so close to the water.

We are happy to announce that we now have 5 cabins very close to completion. They are self contained with ensuite bathrooms. The will be available from the first of feb 2013


Thanks again for sharing you experience and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 230 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I wish there were a button between average and very good but ce la vie. This property was an adventure, for sure. It is perfectly situated right on the water and in the jungle. The tents were clean and as bug free as possible. The food was just average and the bathrooms are in a rather inconvenient location. They are a walk from almost any tent. But if you go here you must be a person who wants adventure... and you can get ADVENTURE here. We did the tour to the National Park and saw LOTS of animals. We also did a horse ride which I would not recommend unless you are an experienced rider. Had a monkey show at the end which was great!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Laura908,
We would first like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. We do our best to provide adventure and help create great and lasting memories for all of our guests.

If you read through our other reviews you will find that many of our guests absolutely love our fresh food. Of course since our tents do not have bathrooms in them, a short walk is required. Our bathrooms are centrally located by the eating area and office.

Starting February 2013 we will be offering private cabinas with ensuite bathrooms for those who do not want stay in a tent or want a private bathroom.

Again thank you for your comments, if you have any other thoughts or ideas of how to improve the food, the tours, or any other aspects of our business we appreciate feedback.

thank you and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The staff at the tent camp make you feel like you're part of the family. They arrange tours (and pack lunches), provide boogie boards and make amazing drinks. Dinner is family style, and it was the best food i ate during my entire trip to Costa Rica. The private beach is perfect for sunbathing, boogie boarding and watching the sunset. I HIGHLY recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrienne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

adrienne k,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience for others to read. We feel like we are a family here and our guests are part of that family. Thank you for mentioning that.

We try to provide a friendly and social meal environment and encourage our guests to mingle. We do our best to provide high quality and creative meals so thank you for saying we had "the best food in Costa Rica"

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
-Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were looking for an adventure and thats what we got! We were there in October, the rainiest month of the year in this area. And it rained... a warm, tropical rain. We saw whales and dolphins (the water was too murky due to the rain for snorkeling), turtles, and the jungle tour was amazing. Our tour guide was a fount of knowledge about the animals and plants in the jungle. We saw several different types of birds, monkeys, other marsupials, and even puma tracks! We also went on a horse ride... across rivers, up and down mountain paths, along the beach, through rain and sunshine and through the forest.
Back at the camp, we enjoyed reading in the hammocks and in our tent. We enjoyed the fresh fish and fruit. The food could have used more creativity, including more spice for taste, and the meat was tough at times. But if a beautiful adventure is what you are looking for... look no further!

Room Tip: the tents closer to the ocean offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

DawnP,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you decided to come and "brave" the rain. Many people are turned away during the rainy season but it is very easy to have a great time even with the rain. There are less people here during the rain and that increases your chances of spotting wildlife.

We do realize that the visibility drops close to shore during heavy rains, making snorkeling not really possible. But the snorkeling at Isla Del Cano is great year round. With average visibility from 7-10 meters.

Thank you for your feed back on the food. The meals are something that are very important to us and we are constantly trying to improve what we offer. We have recently changed our menu and added new meals, snacks, and desserts.

Thanks again for your review. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
-Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I visited the Camp with my 2 daughters and we had the best vacation ever.
We went snorkeling and saw whales. The whales were everywhere and came right up to the boat. We also went horseback riding and the ride along the beach was beautiful. We saw monkeys and hawks. The ride was fun and we didn{t even take along water as the trails were full of young coconuts to drink from.
There are trails for walks all around the area and my girls were amazed at the variety of frogs, howler monkeys and plants in the area around the camp.
The staff was very helpful and Larry and Keith know how to treat people. Some of the best homemade bread ever. The tents are more like canvas cabins than tents. Electric fans and lighting made it very comfortable. My girls were not ready to rough it, and they never complained. The showers even had hot water.
It has always been my dream to enjoy whale watching with my girls; I cant thank Larry and the staff enough for the quality experience we had.
I will be back as soon as possible. A true value experience; and I have over 15 years of travelling around Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Richard L,
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate you taking time to write your experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed the time here with your daughters. The horse back tours we offer are popular, inexpensive, and a great way to see the area. We are happy you enjoyed the fresh coconut water but we do always recommend guests take water with them when hiking or doing any tours.

Our staff really enjoy what they do and we are happy this was noticed and shared. Thank you for mentioning our fresh bread. We make bread everyday and it is an unexpected bonus for many people. Our recently renovated bathrooms all have hot water showers which really is a luxury in our location.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
-Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My stay at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp was an unforgettable experience that I would totally recommend to all travellers, whether they are travelling alone, as a couple or with kids. The boat ride from Sierpe itself is an adventure, an hour and a half journey through unspoilt mangroves and along what must be one of the world's most beautiful coastlines. The tent camp is set on a picturesque beach, ensuring that you sleep well and wake to the sound of waves just a stone's throw from your tent. The tents themselves are very comfortable, set up on platforms, so each has a sheltered veranda to sit out on and enjoy the view. Covered by A frame shelters, they are completely dry and protected from wind and rain, and furnished with proper beds, shelves and fans. It was also the first time I have received wifi in a tent - the reception is surprisingly good in such a remote location!


The tour of Corcovado National Park was amazing, we saw three of the four kinds of monkey in the region spider, howler and squirrel, the other type the capuchin, I saw the next day in the tent camp along with scarlett macaws. We were also lucky enough to see a tapir as well as many tropical birds, reptiles and even some sharks! August is a season when many whales are in the area, and when we visited Isla del Cano we spotted many humpbacks, including a mother with a baby and a large whale breaching. Snorkelling around the island was better than many scuba dives I have done, with a wealth of marine life. Our guide for both tours were very well informed so we learned a lot about the local wildlife.


The food provided at the tent camp is excellent - delicious and healthy, great vegetarian food were available too, I enjoyed the freshly caught fish that was often served, espcially the sushi and ceviche, The staff are very helpful and friendly, very nice people who obviously enjoy their work. Members of staff often pointed out the wildlife that showed up, such as the pod of false orcas that could be seen surfacing out in the bay.Though I was travelling alone, I was never short of people to talk to as mealtimes are very social here, and it was great to hear other people's stories of their adventures. From the tent camp it is possible to walk to many unspoilt beaches and see a lot of wildlife nearby, or just relax in a hammock - it really is a tropical paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flaneuress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Flaneuress,
Thanks so much for your review. You have described the experience we strive for very well. We try our best to cater our service to all types of travelers and vacationers. The journey down the river through the mangroves is definitely a highlight on its own.

The tours in the area are amazing and the animals that you saw are not uncommon. For potential guests reading this, you have very good possibilities to see all of these things. The whales are not here year round but many of the land based animals are.

We are glad you enjoyed the meals and the environment we provide. We strive to create a social and friendly setting for all of our guests. There is never a shortage of stories or interesting people around mealtimes. Thank you for mentioning this.

Again we appreciate your review and hope to have you stay with us again.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the 6 night stay at Corcovado on the recommendation of a Waldorf teacher from Santa Fe. We want to go back as soon as we can! What a wonderful experience. The only way in is by hiking or boating. 7 days with no cars and watching all of the village folk and tourists from around the world walking up and down the beach was a once in a lifetime experience. The food was excellent and graciously served. The wildlife viewing was exceptional both at the camp and on the tours that we took. We had wonderful conversation with the other folks who were staying there. I practiced my Spanish with the family of locals who work the camp and they were more than kind tutors and helpers.
The owner, Larry, even transported my prescription glasses back to my hotel in San Jose so that I could retrieve them after I left them behind. These are really nice people!!! We were there in late May and the weather was perfect. Yes, it rained some and yes the sun shined and we basked in the perfect temperature Pacific waters on multiple beaches nearby. We walked along the coast for several miles in each direction on different days. Trully a rare and incredible experience in our modern man-made world.

Room Tip: We really liked the tent close to the water, but the ones on the hill are a wee bit more private, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angietru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Angietru,
Thank you so much for writing your review. It was great to have you for the week. One of our favorite things about our location is the lack of roads, cars, etc...
Our staff are very happy to help out with Spanish as well as English. All of us here absolutely love what we do and enjoying creating amazing experiences for our guests.

Thanks for sharing your tip about the tent locations... many people ask us for the beach front tents but the tents on the hill are just as nice, shaded, a bit more private, and you still have a view of the ocean. Many people enjoy being a bit more in the jungle.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience for others to read. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
-Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 49 in Drake Bay
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
1.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
#10 of 22 in Drake Bay
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp

Address: Caletas de Osa Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: $83 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp offers luxury tent accommodations on the beach with amazing views and abundant wildlife, a relaxing environment immersed in the natural wonders of the Osa peninsula. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Discover why National Geographic calls it, "The most biologically diverse place on the planet." Affordable comfort and luxury with full board delicious fare and a full range of Corcovado National Park and Cano Island tours on land and sea. Unique accommodations in full-size tents with wood-frame beds, private decks, electricity, wireless internet and breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Hotel Drake Bay
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing