We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny - but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Funny - but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This lodge is very different. It´s located in an incredibly beautiful area. It´s a fun experience to sleep in tent and kids just loves it. The tents are kept clean and do have a nice view.

But you pay quite much for a very simple place. The food is really nothing to brag about, just basic. The place is a little bit run down.

On the good side are the tours, with very good guides and a lot to see. And the staff are nice and does their best to make your stay as good as possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty_SWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Owner at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Marty,
Thank for taking to the time to write this review for us. We really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to have the best guides and staff working for us. We believe this really makes the biggest impression on our guests.

We are sorry that you feel it was over priced. But if you compare us to other accommodations in the area you will find we are equally priced or in many cases cheaper than the competition. Guests need to keep in mind everything is more expensive in this area of costa rica. All food items and supplies must be brought in by boat, and carried by hand. There are no roads here :)

We are constantly doing maintenance and repairs. The jungle environment is very hard on everything here but little by little we are making this place better. We appreciate your feedback, it can only make us better. We are also in the process of adding new meals and snacks to our menu.

We thank you again and hope to see you and your family in the future.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    39
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
82
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

A tent camp in the middle of an idyllic location that suffers from a lack of cleanliness and lousy food. Run by men, maybe this place needs a woman's touch as service and cleanliness is lacking. Young keith has a great attitude and tries hard to make everyone happy, but for the price, the execution should be better. Tour guides try hard but aren't as equipped as other area hotel counterparts, lunches are cheap luncheon meat and the mattresses should be wrapped in plastic to ward off the dampness that pervades the tents. A used tampon stayed in a shower stall for the duration of my stay, and at times the camp smelled like sewage. Still the nature is spectacular and since thats what you are here for, if you're not like me, expecting a level of comfort, you cant beat the proximity to sights and nature..you will see dolphins, monkeys, tapirs, crocodiles and more. and the frogs!! bring bug spray and a low expectations and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: ask for a beach front tent as the ones in back suffer from darkness. the omne with the boat in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigkimnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Owner at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Kim,

We are sorry we could not meet your unrealistic expectations. Our staff did their best accommodate your special requests and dietary needs. All of our tents are cleaned every day and the bathroom facilities are cleaned three times per day. Despite your impression we do have a diverse staff of mixed genders, you may have thought there are only men working here but that is simply not true.

Our guides have the same equipment (high quality telescopes, and field guides) and knowledge as other guides in the area. Many of our other guests have said the food here is exceptional. We do not know what your expectations were coming to our camp but this is not the all inclusive mexican resort you may have been expecting.

Keep in mind this is the jungle, humidity is always high and as a result things are constantly moist and humid. The majority of our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stays with us and recommended it to their friends.

Our bathrooms are cleaned three times per day, the tampon you speak of was there for 1 day and was promptly removed when you notified us. It did not stay there "for the duration of your stay". You even told our staff "most people would not see it in its location, but because you are a tall woman you could see it" . We have since put new cleaning standards in place to check these locations that are generally not visible.

Lets all keep in mind this is an Adventure Tent Camp and not an all inclusive resort. Our lodgings are not for everyone but the majority of our guests have fallen in love with this place and return year after year. Our reviews reflect that fact.

We welcome any constructive criticism, it can only help us improve our customer's experience here with us. If you have any other thoughts please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

They have probably the most luxurious tents I've ever stayed in. A very welcome alternative to camp in my own tent. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Location is very scenic. Overall everything was well organized and clean. Food was fresh and delicious. If your looking for something in between camping and a hotel this is it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man-on-moon82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Owner at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Man on the Moon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We really strive to have a very clean, comfortable, delicious, and exiting stay for all of our guests.

We wish you happy travels and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Don't come here if you like to fly places and get a limo to a golf course hotel, but if you want to see and live amongst the best of nature, this place is amazing. The staff are super helpful and the food is excellent. Fresh fish every night. I highly recommend this place for a costa rica adventure.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCHammock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Owner at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
MChammock,
Thank you very much for your review. Your review describes exactly what we are working for here. This camp is not for everyone but for those who want a little different experience in nature, this is it. We enjoy catching and cooking our fresh fish for our guests and we are happy you enjoyed it too.

Thank you again, we are looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the tent camp in November 2011 on a family vacation. We have traveled pretty extensively and it was one of our favorite destinations ever, truly a one-of-a-kind experience. The tent camp is in a gorgeous location, on a rocky point but about 5 minutes walk from a great swimming beach. The tents are very well set up and the staff really bent over backwards to help us have a great trip. We're vegetarians and they were completely accommodating, plus they helped us arrange transportation and logistics for an overnight at the Sirena ranger station which was one of the highlights of the trip. They also arranged our day trips to San Pedrillo ranger station and Cano Island which were also excellent- very knowledgeable guides and very safe boat drivers with good equipment! That being said, I think it's important to have the right expectations when you visit this region: it is very much off the beaten track and you definitely need to be ready for an adventure. It seems to me that the people who are disappointed in their trips to the Osa area are mostly expecting amenities that are not available there, but if you go with the right expectations it will be the trip of a lifetime!!

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront tent!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
cmckayboulder,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really enjoy helping our guests have excellent and memorable stays with us. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you and your family here again.

Happy Travels and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

After travelling costa rica for about a month this was my last stop before heading to panama. Its location is perfect is you are heading south to panama or if you are coming north from panama.

I enjoyed every aspect of this trip. I took the bus from san jose to palmar norte where I got a taxi to sierpe. The boat was waiting for me behind a nice little cafe. The boat ride was very nice, a calm trip winding down the river through the mangroves and across the bay. We saw some beautiful birds and crocodiles. The boat ride was much better than i could have expected. I think some people pay just for this tour but it was all part of the journey.

As we approached the beach I could see the tents surrounded by palm trees and facing toward the ocean. A beautiful and inviting sight. I was greeted at the beach by larry the owner and celso one of his employees. celso helped my with my bags and led me to my tent.

The tents were very nice, exactly as described. they sit on a platform with a seating area and have a nice roof over them to block the sun (and later the rain) After i put my bags into the tent I was invited up for lunch. Lunch was amazing, fresh ceviche, tuna, a small salad, and of course rice and beans. This was just a sample of the nice meals to come.

I booked their three night package with a trip to cano island, and corcovado. Both of those parks are amazing. Snorkeling at cano was the best i have seen in costa rica. Corcovado is also equally amazing and I am happy i paid the extra to see it. We saw all types of monkeys, birds, insects, a few snakes, and of course just walking through the jungle was really nice in its own way. We had a very knowledgeable guide (david), funny and smart.

Although I only booked the three night package i ended staying for two additional nights. They gave me a bit of a discount and rearranged the boat schedules so i could catch a different bus. I would have stayed longer but i had already booked some activities in panama.

overall this place is exactly what it sounds like. "adventure camp" it is definitely a camp, full of luxuries that you dont normally get while camping (hot water showers, cold drinks, really good food, etc)

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a really memorable costa rica experience. the osa peninsula is a place that I will come back to. I could keep writing but I think i have made my point here. If anyone wants anyother advice contact me,

Room Tip: ask for one of the tents near the water. Fresh breeze and the soft sound of waves make for an awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest_dude_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Owner at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Honest Dude,
Thank you for your detailed review. We really appreciate the time and effort you put into it. We are very happy that you enjoyed yourself, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Happy Travels and Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Terrible experience. While I can't blame them for the rain I can for having a generator that needed to be thrown away ages ago. When the storm knowked out power my husband worked on it himself to no avail. No lights OK but no refrigerated food and we wended up sick. Also filthy. Owner is not there so employees don't keep it clean until he was arriving as their two boats where wahsed away in the storm and he came. I had to clean my own area and there was a used condom under my daughters bed, Disgusting. Nice people, very nice but way too much money for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truthrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorcovadoCR, Guest Relations Manager at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hello “Truthrules”

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your time here with us at Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp. First we would like to add that we did refund you over half of the cost of your stay, something you failed to mention in your review. On a positive note we have since retired our backup power generator and installed a new redundant power system relying on hydro power (pelton wheel) that charges a bank of batteries. If there is a power outage we use this bank of batteries to run our refrigerators.

We are wondering if you had spoken with any of the tent camp staff about the cleanliness. Our staff would have been very happy to assist you in any way possible.

Please contact us with anything else you would like to add, your comments can only help us improve the tent camp and make it more enjoyable for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.4 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
22.6 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp

Property: Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Address: Caletas de Osa Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp offers you an affordable and comfortable opportunity to vacation on one of the most beautiful places on the planet; the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica. We provide comfortable accommodations in full-size tents with wood-frame beds. Our tents are covered by a large tarp to protect them from the tropic sun and rain. Each has a front deck with chairs and a great view of the Pacific Ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Hotel Drake Bay
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing