We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesomeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drakes Kitchen, Casa El Tortugo

Drakes Kitchen, Casa El Tortugo
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This little place is just on the way into or out of the tiny town of Drake Bay and let me just say that it's #1 ranking is more than justified! The food was AMAZING!!! We ate here our 2nd night in town upon the recommendation of our awesome tour guide Carlos, in addition to having read many stellar reviews on Trip Advisor prior to us leaving the US. There were many Ticos dining at the tables when we arrived, which is always a good sign, and the server took a second to get to us but was SUPER sweet when she greeted us. At this point I should say that half of the charm of CR is that things run at a slower pace... enjoy it, don't be an impatient hater. I took advantage of the hammock and when our food arrived it was freakin AWESOME!! You MUST eat here if you are in Drake Bay! I more than promise you that you will not be disappointed. The pasta with tomato cream sauce (totally American meal) was to die for and the red snapper (local fish in season) was melt in your mouth. Make the short walk from town to this hidden gem!!

Helpful?
Thank bowwowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best place in Drake Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Drake Bay and we had a fabulous meal at Drake's Kitchen. Not everything is a hit but the whole fish is a must have!
Given the "off the beaten path" location of Drake Bay, the quality was phenomenal. The whole Red Snapper was exceptional. Fresh, properly spiced and cooked especially given the usually lackluster quality of food in Costa Rica. Service was great and the beer was poured into chilled glasses to help fight the heat.
I have to say that the other things we tried like the garlic shrimp or ceviche were nothing special, however the whole fish definitely made dinner memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Spent 4 days in Drake, ate here 3 times. Teressa and her husband Juan Carlos provide service and food that is truly unbelievable for the price. As a backpacker, I thought I'd never be able to afford 5 star restaurant quality while traveling but this place IS IT! Getting there involves a bit of adventure (like everything in Osa Peninsula) but it's worth it. Never too busy, fresh ingredients, vegetarian friendly, and AFFORDABLE. Drake Kitchen (Casa El Tortugo) is the first place I'd recommend eating in Drake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
“They have it down to an art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Food was perfection in taste freshness and presentation. Atmosphere was lovely and unpretentious. Service was better than any five star I've been to anywhere else. They actually enjoy their customers and welcome them like they are friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneMallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Everyone in Drake Bay will advise visitors to visit El Tortugo for a meal. We decided to make the 30+ minute walk from our hotel one night. It is quite out of the way but worth the walk. We had very tasty grilled red snapper with salad and Teressa, our waitress & spouse of the chef is absolutely darling. She speaks perfect English; she is chatty, friendly and very knowledgeable about the area since she was born and raised in Drake. We enjoyed her company as much as our meal.
The only thing we struggled with was how unbearably hot and humid it is because of the restaurant's location nestled in a treed area very much below the main road so there is absolutely no breeze that can reach you and the candles burning on the tables only made things worse. I would suggest that an investment in ceiling fans would be well worth it for the comfort of diners. The tree-stump seating is quaint but not the most comfortable if you sit for a lengthy dinner.
Overall, we enjoyed our food and would recommend El Tortugo to folks in the area - perhaps for a daytime meal if you don't like walking in the dark.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank intlroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakes Kitchen, Casa El Tortugo also viewed

 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Drakes Kitchen, Casa El Tortugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing