We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
174
15
1
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
15
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolthe upper leveloutdoor showerevery mealupper partscarlet macawsfishcosta ricajack russelperfect place to watch the sunsetprevious hotelfloat tripincredible viewssteep hikelovely personshort walk down the roadzip lining
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 195 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2017

Great choices of excursions, delicious and well presented meals and a wonderful staff. The view from the pool breathtaking. Landscape was always clean and beautiful.Easy walking distance to the beach. I recommend visiting this resort.

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neilsen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Thank you for such a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your excursions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

We stayed here on our final night in Costa Rica. Everything about this was above expectations.

Our room was spacious (3 beds - 2 singles, 1 double), the bathroom was huge - the shower head alone was humongous. Plenty of towels.

Meals were provided - lunch, snacks, dinner, and breakfast. All of it was delicious and well made. The snacks were served up on the roof top view by the pool - amazing space. There was also a bar up there, so you could get drinks while relaxing with the view.

The infinity pool is beyond incredible. The view was second to none.

The service may have been the best part. The manager Mary, was so helpful. Our flight got cancelled, and she reached out to the airline (Sansa) for us, as well as set up the water taxi (from Drake Bay to Sierpe) and the taxi from the water to the Palmar Sur airport. Left us as worry free as we could have been! The staff was all so nice and polite and generous.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmg617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Meeting and exceeding our guests needs is something we strive to do. We hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Tranquilo Lodge. It truly felt like paradise; with glorious views and surrounded by beautiful flowers, trees and scarlet macaws flying overhead. The swimming pool and bar area is very relaxing, and the eco lodge had everything we needed. The balcony and hammocks were great! The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made the holiday even more special; recommending the best tour guides and booking transport and trips which suited our interests. Mary and her team looked after us very well. The food was absolutely delicious, and chef also accommodated my husband’s lactose intolerance, which made things stress-free. Even making him a lacto-free cake on his 40th birthday! We loved our time in Costa Rica generally, and we were particularly sad to leave Tranquilo Lodge as it was the highlight of our special holiday. Thank you to Mary and all the staff at Tranquilo Lodge.

Room Tip: our room was very close to the restaurant area, which we found very handy!
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank siania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope you are able to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017

I stayed at Tranquilo Lodge with my husband and 2 kids aged 9 and 11 in early December 2016. We stayed at Tranquilo Lodge for 5 nights. We flew from San Jose to Drake Bay in a small 21 seater plane - this was an adventure in itself. Small planes fly close to the ground so the views were fantastic along the way.We were fetched from the local "airport" (its a gravel landing strip) minutes after we landed. We arrived at the Lodge after traversing a relatively deep river. Mary was there to welcome us with refreshing drinks, snacks and fruit. Our cabin was lower down near the main reception/ dining room. The Lodge is set on a failry steep hill with the reception/dining area at road level and cabins dotted up the hill towards the pool.The cabins are neat, clean, spacious and with lovely natural decor. Each cabin has a deck with either hammocks or couches, chairs and rocking chairs. Our cabin was a family cabin with a huge double bed and bunkbeds for the kids. we did have a slight issue with the aircon and shower at first but all maintenance issues were attended to immediately.The pool area, which is on the top of the hill, has a bar area where you can relax, swim and have drinks, cocktails and snacks, and take in the most incredible views of Drake Bay. There are 2 beautiful cabins near the pool. if you stay in the lower cabins you will get fit walking on the zig zag pathway to the pool on top of the hill. But you will need to work off all the delicious food you will be eating at Tranquilo Lodge.The food here was probably among the best I have ever had. Every single last meal, snack and cocktail was absolutely delicious. The staff also made meals for the kids on request. The staff made breakfast for us before we headed out on excursions every morning at the crack of dawn! The service was amazing with the polite, friendly, efficient staff attending to all our needs. Mary can organise any excursions for you and provide any info you need (organise excursions in advance if going in peak season as the tours fill up and Corcovado national park limits the number of people let in per day). We saw ground squirrels and many bird species including scarlet Macaws, Toucans, raptors, the fabulous hummingbirds, the morph (huge blue) butterfly and many other insects right near our cabin. We also saw a number of reptiles and amphibians including the black iguana at the lodge. We also saw Howler monkeys in the surrounding areas. The Lodge dog "Happy" is adorable. The beautiful rugged beach is a short walk from the lodge. We saw a small pod of whales passing by on one day.Tranquilo Lodge, Mary and her staff are gems in the rainforest!

Room Tip: All cabins have ocean view. Cabins lower down more secluded but a steep walk to the pool. Cabins at top - great view
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CoetzeeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to provide it. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017

This was the perfect place to stay in Drake Bay. The hotel is just off the road, across which is a little road leading to a beautiful and almost private beach we swam at every day (there is one hotel and a very few houses). We were a group of 4 celebrating, belatedly, our father/father-in-law's 80th birthday (just before his 81st). We chose to stay in rooms #6 and #7 down in the main lodge -- closer to the road but with a fantastic porch outside 7 that had a loveseat, two chairs, a hammock and a fantastic view. #6 is a very plain room with a light on a motion sensor outside it, but it's a good choice for anyone with limited mobility and allowed us all to hang out together, and #7 was great. This kept us from having to go up and down to the pool area for each meal, though we watched the sunset almost every day with a cocktail and snack by the infinity pool (ask Melisa for advice on the drinks). The cabinas all looked beautiful. Really, you can't go wrong.

The food was fresh and so delicious -- thanks to Rafa and all the kitchen crew for your amazing cooking!

Mary was always accessible and so helpful. And, of course, Happy made friends with everyone in our party.

All the tours we signed up for were excellent, especially the ones with Erick (try the Rio Claro Jungle River Safari Adventure). The small size of the lodge makes it a very friendly place to hang out and meet other travellers. We loved this little hotel and are so glad we found it.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Dalton48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquiloLodge, Public Relations Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Thank you for such an awesome review. We strive to make sure that all our guests are happy during their stay and after. We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews