We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

What a trip of a lifetime! This is the place to go for an unforgettable vacation. The service we received from Herb, Mary, Emilio, Rafael, Alonzo, Jorge, Mario, Marisa and our guide Eric was like no other. The meals and desserts were delicious. We stayed in room 8 and it had a phenomenal view of the Pacific Ocean. The flowers on the grounds are beautiful. Macaws ate almonds from the tree near our room. So much to do here. Our activities included fishing, zip lining, national park tour, horse back ride to waterfall and swimming, snorkeling and beach. Also, love the hammocks for relaxation. Quaint town with an ice cream shop and little grocery stores. The people are very friendly. Our trip ended with a wonderful massage at the hotel overlooking the ocean. The age range in our group was 8 years old to 84 years old. Everyone throughly enjoyed the stay. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarnieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jourdanton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our first stay in Costa Rica was a great experience. The staff at Tranquillo lodge couldn`t have been friendlier or more accommodating. The food was outstanding. Enjoyed the tours and walks on the beach searching for and finding sea glass. The local people were very friendly and helpful. Beautifull sunsets over Drake Bay, birds and monkeys within site of the lodge. The airport being within twelve to fifteen minutes was a plus.Will definitely return. James and Delaine Baker, Texas

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was back in December when we stayed at Tranquilo Lodge. We drove past it when driving into Bahia Drake because I thought they were closed and still preparing to open for high season. We decided to drive around to look for a place to stay closer into the town of Drake and most of the places to stay were only boat accessible. Since we had a car we couldn't get over to see if these other places had availability and any place we could get to by car was booked or not to our liking. By the time the sun was setting, what we could see since it was raining, we felt like we were running out of luck. There was a small little info center in town and the gentleman who was running it was nice enough to call Tranquilo Lodge for us to see if they had a room. They stated they weren't really open for business yet but to come on by and they would set us up. Talk about above and beyond!
We enjoyed 2 nights staying at the private room that is up the stairs from the main house/rooms. What a LOVELY view and the room was nice. The bed is a king size but unfortunately very springy so not too comfy. Water pressure is great with hot water ~ nice and clean bathroom. A little refrigerator for placing cool drinks and ceiling fans. There is a huge deck in front of the room that has a hammock and chair for lounging. It was quite a lovely spot for me to do my morning yoga. We were unfortunately rained out the time we spent in Drake but we didn't really care since we had the lovely deck and the ocean to look at while humming birds zoomed around from flower to flower. Definitely pura vida! Very peaceful and great way to recharge the batteries.
We were able to meet Herb, the new owner, and Mary, the manager/gourmet cook. Every meal with them was cooked to perfection and served at the time we wanted it. We didn't expect food for lunch our 1st full day there. We came down the steps to get into the car to drive to town for a meal when Mary asked if we were ready for lunch ~ we were very hungry at this time. She said great ~ one of the guys just pulled a few red snappers out of the ocean and they were all cooked up ready to eat. We really felt spoiled at Tranquilo Lodge and we could tell that Herb and the rest of his staff will go above and beyond for his guest to make sure they have a nice time and are well taken care of. I look forward to going back sometime in the very near future.
Thanks again Herb and Mary for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dannielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryMaria33, Manager at Tranquilo Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Wow your review is so nice. Thank you. We will love having you visit us again. And just so you know, we did purchase new orthopedic mattresses. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I loved it here...pretty beaches, great food prepared and served 3 times a day by nice staff :) Its only a short walk down the road to the water and a quiet beach. Everyone was really helpful and I find the jungle here so lush and lovely.........

Room Tip: Choose a room with new bedding, private deck and a hammock of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eveinhergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEREDIA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had been staying at tranquilo lodge when it went under its old name and when under old ownership.
It was always the best stop off before hitting the rain forest of Corcovado N.P.
I was a bit anxious to see what changes their would be, and after just spending 4 nights there am happy to report it is better than ever, and better than I imagined. it is clean, cozy, and comfie. The new owner and management did everything they could to see that I was comfortable, fed well and happy. They even got up early enough to have my breakfast ready by 4:45 A.M. as I had to leave for the jungle by boat early enough to get to the park and see the morning critters of which there were many! Thought about only giving 4 stars so no one is mislead - this is not a 5 star resort - this is a great comfie B.and B. style place that offers ocean views, good comfort, home cooked meals, tour planning, deep sea fishing, and so on, and not for a vast amount of dough. If you are headed to Corcovado via drake bay - you will be happy with a stay at Tranquilo lodge!

Room Tip: Spend the xtra money and get an ocean view room! They are building a few more as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDITODEHEREDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had a great time at Tranquilo Lodge. All the staff, Mary, Jimmy, Herb, Hugo, Alonzo and Raphael were all very friendly and accommodating and the meals were excellent. We went scuba diving and fishing. Everyone we met were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend Tranquilo Lodge and will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_BGTSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed at Tranquilo Lodge for 2 days, 4/9-4/10…..Had an absolutely fabulous time. The staff was excellent and accommodating….we were cordially greeted by Mary and Jimmy along with Herb. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the meals were excellent……thanks chef Raphael!!!! We went diving at Cano Island and saw many types of sea life, including sharks, turtles, lobster, and man-0-rays. We also fished and experienced whales, flying fish, dolphins, a water-spout!, …….and caught a huge 45# red snapper, yellow-tailed tuna, and a bonita fish. Thanks Captain Hugo and Alonzo for another awesome time! We highly recommend Tranquilo Lodge and would definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
2.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Property: Tranquilo Lodge
Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing