We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Osa”
Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in Osa”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful location in Osa. Stayed in the deluxe private cabin which had a perfect view of the ocean from the balcony hammock. Great food--you will not go hungry! The owner, Fred, is wonderfully accommodating and took great care of us. Very helpful in arranging our tours, and guiding us through the river crossing. Would love the opportunity to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    14
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
60
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a high-priced, extravagant hotel that is completely out of place in Costa Rica, Hotel Ojala is not for you. If you are looking for a great stay that is culturally appropriate and gives you a real Costa Rican experience, then you should consider booking a few nights with Fred, the owner and operator of the hotel. The hotel is clean and quaint and it is in a great spot near the beach. The small village of Drake is a 25 minute walk away, but we hitched rides to town with Fred in the afternoons.

From the moment that Fred met us at the beach in front of the hotel, our family felt right at home. Fred is the kind of person that at the instant you meet him, you feel as if he is a long-time friend. He is warm and caring and he truly makes every effort to ensure that his guests have an enjoyable stay. Fred found out that our daughter was soon to have her birthday and he went out of his way to make her chocolate cake with candles and everything. This was totally unsolicited by us. He truly is a great and personable guy.

All of the food is served family style and it is delicious. Fred is a fishing charter captain and he prepared us some the best fish we have ever eaten. If you'd like to go fishing, book a charter with Fred. We did not fish on this trip, but some other guests while we were there did. I saw the pictures of the fish that they caught: Tunas, Wahoo and Snappers that were huge!

Fred hooked us up with a guy named Alex, nicknamed Chancha, who arranged all of our boat transportation from Sierpe to the hotel. Alex also arranged our visits to Corcovado National Park on Day 1 and to Isla del Caño to go snorkeling and to a beach named San Josesito and a paradise named Rio Claro on Day 2. The prices were reasonable and we got great service from Alex and the park guide that he acquired for us. In 2 days we saw: tropical fish snorkeling, numerous dolphins, humpback whales, 3 species of monkeys, tons of tropical birds, iguanas and even 2 tapirs inside of the park. It was an amazing family adventure. I would definitely recommend using Alex for your trip arrangements. Fred has his number.

I will conclude by saying this, the next time we go back to the Corcovado area, we will for sure be calling Fred and Alex because we could not be happier with the service that they offered us and the bond of friendship that we built together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed with Fred 3 times now 2x on a guys adventure trip and last Thanksgiving with my nieces. Everytime Fred goes above and beyond to ensure you are comfortable and things go smoothly. The food is fresh and fantastic and the fishing even better. Like others have said the other factor are the wonderful guests that Fred just seems to naturally attract. We have met some awesome people and are friends with them back here in the states. We have decided to do every Thanksgiving at Hotel Ojala with Fred. He even cooked us a Turkey.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with AC. Fred can help you coordinate any activity whether its fishing, diving/snorkeling, Corcovado, horseback riding, zip lining, nature tours and I just named a few of the things we have done.

I highly recommend Hotel Ojala whether you have just a couple of days, weeks or months. The service, hospitality and food here rivals the 4-5 star properties I have stayed at. This is the real Costa Rica and I look forward to every trip there more and more each time. Pura Vida

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Ojala 3 times now! I love the place! The walk to the village is about 25 minutes, and their is a nice beach across the road. Drake Bay is a very remote village that is close to the entrance of Corcovado National Forest, an amazing rain forest. The animal and plant life in Drake Bay is amazing. I've stayed in 2 different rooms, both very nice. Fred is an awesome cook, and he also does vegetarian well. 3 meals a day are included with your stay. I will continue to go back to Hotel Ojala each time I go to Drake Bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
2.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Property: Tranquilo Lodge
Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing