We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great People”
Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed with Fred 3 times now 2x on a guys adventure trip and last Thanksgiving with my nieces. Everytime Fred goes above and beyond to ensure you are comfortable and things go smoothly. The food is fresh and fantastic and the fishing even better. Like others have said the other factor are the wonderful guests that Fred just seems to naturally attract. We have met some awesome people and are friends with them back here in the states. We have decided to do every Thanksgiving at Hotel Ojala with Fred. He even cooked us a Turkey.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with AC. Fred can help you coordinate any activity whether its fishing, diving/snorkeling, Corcovado, horseback riding, zip lining, nature tours and I just named a few of the things we have done.

I highly recommend Hotel Ojala whether you have just a couple of days, weeks or months. The service, hospitality and food here rivals the 4-5 star properties I have stayed at. This is the real Costa Rica and I look forward to every trip there more and more each time. Pura Vida

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Ojala 3 times now! I love the place! The walk to the village is about 25 minutes, and their is a nice beach across the road. Drake Bay is a very remote village that is close to the entrance of Corcovado National Forest, an amazing rain forest. The animal and plant life in Drake Bay is amazing. I've stayed in 2 different rooms, both very nice. Fred is an awesome cook, and he also does vegetarian well. 3 meals a day are included with your stay. I will continue to go back to Hotel Ojala each time I go to Drake Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La 8 que nous avions peut convenir pour 4 personnes, voir pour 5. Ni trop haute, ni trop près de La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank evelynegrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lenoucnous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chambres au niveau de la piscine ont la meilleure vue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zupermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cabaña junto a la piscina
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MmlArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
20.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $53 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing