We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and humid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

It's hot! It's humid! No air conditioning! No ice! There are no screens on the windows, so you may be sharing your room with bugs of various sorts (your bed does have a mosquito net, although I think we saw maybe two mosquitoes our entire time there).
As long as you understand what you are getting into, I agree with the many people who say that this is an excellent place to spend a few days in Costa Rica. The staff is attentive and the tours are nice. I was particularly impressed with the dinner meals, which somehow are close to gourmet even though you are basically out in the middle of nowhere.
We hiked to Cocalito Beach one morning and were fortunate enough to see 6 macaws having breakfast in an almond tree right on the beach. Later, a few whitefaced monkeys came by and allowed us to take a few pictures within just a few feet of them.
Just a couple of notes:
If you feel like a hike, it takes an hour or a bit more on the "public trail" to get to the Rio Claro where Ricardo will take you on a tour of the little river in his small boat. He is excellent at spotting birds and animals. You will also make a short climb to a waterfall and where you can cool off in a small jungle pool. A very nice tour for only $10 per person.
If there is low tide when you get to the Rio Claro, you can simply walk across at the sandbar. If the tide is high, continue to follow the trail to the end, where there is whistle and Ricardo will come and get you. He lives in a small hut in the trees on the other side of the river.
Also, we bought a couple of nice molas from one of the cooks, whose mother makes them. They were quite simple and yet colorful at the same time. They are a nice souvenir of our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watsup1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 401 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed for five days at this beautiful place and did never regret it. These "cabinas" are located directly at the carribean sea at a private beach. The view is stunning - nothing but the open sea. The hotel has only space for a few guests which creates a very familiar atmosphere. The staff is always very friendly and helpful, the rooms (little houses) are small but cozy and clean.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served at a long table. The food was always a highlight of the day and a perfect and fresh mix of continental and costa rican kitchen.
Various activities are offered by the hotel such as diving, snorkling, canoeing, horseback riding, expeditions to the Corcovado Nationalparc, night walks, whale and dolphin watching ect.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegreenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at Las Caletas for 5 nights in early February during a month long visit to Costa Rica. Drake Bay and Las Caletas were by far our favourite place in the country. We would wake at dawn to the calls of the Scarlet Macaws flying by and enjoy our morning coffee marvelling at all the fantastic birds and wildlife! The lodge is set high up on a hill, making it excellent for birdwatching in the forest canopy and for catching the evening breeze. It is a great location for hiking to nearby beaches or Rio Claro, or you can snorkel and swim right out front. The tours to Cano Island and Corcovado National Park far exceeded our expectations, due in large part, to Jose, our friendly, knowledgeable and engaging guide. Dolphins, turtles, tapirs, spider and howler monkeys, trogons, sloths, anteaters, boas, tree frogs, toucans and more!

We choose Las Caletas in part because it was small. With only a handful of cabins/tents, you feel right home with the other couples and families in no time. We stayed in the Tureca, a very quiet and private cabin, with a porch and fan (which was essential - its hot and humid!). The front duplex is not as private, but seemed like it caught more of a breeze in the evenings, and the honeymoon cabin looked awesome! All in all we thought it was very good value for such a wonderful place, and we did not find its match in the rest of our journey. There was nothing better than sipping a cold Imperial while lounging in a beach chair looking out at a canopy alive with birds, and enjoying the ocean breeze.

Spectacular scenery, delicious food and wonderful people at Las Caletas! We hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_snow_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We had a wonderful and relaxing time during our stay at Las Caletas. First, I would like to say that we had no worries at all. We booked our trip and the communication leading up to our stay was fast and easy. We flew into Drake Bay and our driver was waiting for us when we got off the plane. He drove us to the shore where a water taxi was waiting for us. When we arrived at Las Caletas, Jose the guide, was waiting for us. He helped us with our luggage and directed us to the lodge where lunch was waiting for us. We loved our entire stay here. We are vegetarians and they accommodated this with delicious meals. The beaches outside of the lodge are beautiful and isolated. My husband and I spent a lot of time just enjoying the peacefulness of the surroundings. We also took several tours. We did the zip lining, hiking in Corcovado, and snorkeling at Isla del Cano. All were arranged by the Caletas staff. David and the staff members were helpful and friendly. Yet, we never felt bothered and enjoyed plenty of time to just ourselves. We didn't use the internet there. We also didn't miss air conditioning or TV and didn't need the mosquito netting on the beds. This is not a place for someone looking for a "typical" beach resort with lots of parties and ammenities. It is quiet and laid back. There is nothing to buy there and no one selling anything. Make sure you remember to bring sun screen and toiletries because you probably won't be able to buy it there. Caletas provided plenty of food and snacks for us, however, if you are a big eater you may want to bring additional snacks because there are no stores.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sworldtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We just stayed 5 nights at Las Caletas and overall we have to say, that it is a little too basic for what you pay. Before we booked we read all the good reviews and were a little disappointed. We did stay in the most expensive room though: the shower did not even have a shower head, the pillows and the mattress were really bad and smelly. The food (lunch and dinner) is excellent, the breakfast though is lacking some variety. In all the places we stayed in Costa Rica we never had to pay a surcharge for paying with credit card. Las Caletas is charging a 3.5% surcharge. I don't think that this is appropriate considering that the rates are quite high. Overall, we had a really nice stay and the location is just great.! Would we stay there again...? I am not really sure...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My wife and I just returned from our two week Osa adventure and decided to spend our last 5 nights at Las Caletas. We arrived by boat and felt welcomed as soon as we landed. The ground keepers offered to carry our bags up to the hotel which sits on a great lookout over the ocean which comes into view as you take the last few steps up. Jose, the knowledgeable tour guide, greeted us and was very friendly and showed us around the grounds.

We stayed in one of the two tents and I must say that the older photo shown on this site of the tents doesn't give them justice, check out our newly posted photos. These tents were awesome. Very clean, lots of space and shelving to put your belongings on, two beach chairs out front on your own spacious platform. There was a great breeze that flowed through at night, no fan was necessary, we slept like babies. The shared washroom, only a few feet from the tent, wasn't a problem because it is only shared between two tents and we never felt like we had to wait to use it. Also, because the tent zippers closed, we had no insects inside the tent.

The main trail along the coast that runs from Drake Bay to Corcovado park is easily accessible from this lodge. We walked along this stretch a few times to Rio Claro (note that this is a different Rio Claro than the one near Sirena-there are 2 Rio Claro’s in the Osa) and Josecito beach. It would take us 1-2 hours to get there, depending on what animals we spotted (Capuchin and Spider monkeys, macaws and other birds, Basilisk and Anole lizards, and such beautiful forest). We felt that we didn’t have quite enough time to relax at Josecito beach and if you want a relaxing day, you should get the hotel to pack you a lunch. Apparently at Rio Claro, you can get a ride to the waterfall by canoe for $10 per person. We did not do this but another traveler told us that you follow the signs for the canoe, then you whistle and a guy will ferry you to the waterfall.

The property is lovely, lots of flower trees that attract numerous hummingbirds and larger trees which we spotted more variety of birds than in the jungle. The toucan was heard every morning and spotted occasionally as well as macaws flying overhead as we lounged in the afternoon. Our favourite spot to hang out after breakfast was the front section of the property which sits at a hundred feet or more above the ocean, offering a great view of Drake Bay. There are plenty of comfortable chairs to sit on and my favourite was the hammock which was always available despite the many guests.

The meals were great! A large buffet -style breakfast was served from 6:30am to 8am, including fresh fruits, eggs, toast, pinto, pancakes, cheese and sliced meats. There was tasty coffee and orange juice as well. Lunch was at 12:30pm and was served at the tables where you join other guests and share your travel stories. Lunches were never once the same, always different and fresh juice was plentiful to go around. Dinners were served at 6:30pm, and always started off with appetizers of freshly baked bread and a bowl of soup made that day. Then the entrees were very tasty, and different from night to night. There was also dessert after each meal, from cakes to puddings. MMMMMM. Throughout the day, the kitchen staff would bake up some treats to satisfy you between meals or to take with you on the trails, like cookies and squares. Filtered water was available where you can fill your water bottles to your hearts content.

The staff was awesome, very friendly and always smiling. The owner, David, made us feel welcomed and would do anything to make sure you were 100% satisfied. We loved the cat, Tico, who made us laugh when he would lie on his back with all four feet in the air in the middle of the floor.

I say this place met our expectations and beyond because originally we chose this place because they had a guitar on site and a cat. And being a musician and cat lover, this place suited us fine. It was beyond expectations because we didn't realize how beautiful the property really was or how amazing the view over the ocean was, how friendly the staff would be and how great the tenting arrangements would turn out. All in all we give this place 10 out of 10, making it the perfect destination to end off your Osa adventure. Pura Vida, Tuanis man!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed in Las Caletas for six days and everyday we had a great experience. Everything was an adventure. Like sleeping in a tent with howler monkey right beside, observing sloth, toucan, crocodile, koati, monkey, etc in their own environment. Having a couple of Scarlett Maccaw flying just up you, that was incredible, and what about a tapir resting in the mud. Wowww!!!
If you want to live the jungle life with a bit of luxury go to Las Caletas. The food is fabulous and you sit with everybody there and you share your experiences of the day.
I've planned my trip with tripadvisor and every comment is true.
You will never forget your trip to Las Caletas.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandraj2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
1 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.1 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
2.3 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Caletas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Caletas Lodge

Address: Playa Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: $149 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Caletas Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Caletas Lodge offers comfortable and clean accommodations; fresh and delicious food and a friendly and helpful staff who will make the best effort to make our guests stay an unforgettable nature experience combined with a family atmosphere. Enjoy the great panoramic ocean and rainforest views and awake by the sound of the rainforest and ocean. You'll be surrounded by an exuberant vegetation with wildlife of all shapes, sizes and colors. Careful landscaping highlights our natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Las Caletas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Caletas - Drake Bay Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing