We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We spent 3 days at Las Caletas Lodge and we just regret it was not for ending our trip, as nothing was better than this place.
Even if the rooms are "basic" (you have everything you need and hot water), the location is just perfect.
From Sierpe by boat the landscapes are beautiful and then you arrive on a small beach just down to the lodge.
We have been welcomed by John, very friendly, who took good care of us. The meals included in the price are very good. The main place where we reunited is great and very relaxing. There are hamocs and chairs in the gardens from where you can enjoy the sunset and birds watching.
We did 3 great excursions with Greg, our excellent guide.
First one to Isla del Cano where we had the chance to see a whale and its baby + dolphins on the way (even if it was not the period). Greg and the boat driver Isaac took the time so we can enjoy the show. The snorkeling was cool and we had clear water.
Then we did the corcovado tour from la Sirena, Greg knows lots of things and took the time to explain.
And finally we did the night tour where we saw lots of insects, a snake and the green frog with red eyes.
There is also a path from the hotel where you can walk safely and reach other beautiful beaches.
There is no problem to swim down the lodge even if it is not a great white sand beach to lay down. But that's not the point of the stay in Osa!
Just a detail, the boss David could be a bit more friendly.
So I warmly recommend this place, but don't expect high standard of accomodation, you are in nature and in the middle of the rainy forest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurélia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 392 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

You can keep your fancy resorts and the people who frequent them. If your needs are simple, and don't include a swim-up bar and heated bathroom floors, Las Caletas will give you the best Costa Rica and its incredibly kind people have to offer. It is managed by warm, authentic folks that genuinely care for the needs of every guest. We enjoyed three meals prepared fresh every day in the wonderful, open-air, community dining area. I loved starting my day with exceptional Costa Rican coffee while watching toucans, hummingbirds, and macaws backdropped by the Pacific ocean. I met many amazing people from all over the world who also chose to stay at Las Caletas -- some return year after year. I loved swapping trip highlights over meals, and made several new friends that I'll stay in touch with. We stayed in the 2-floor cabina closest to the lodge for five nights. It was clean and met all our needs. Protecting and preserving the sensitive ecosystems that make Oso special is a priority of the hotel, and guests are asked to help in this endeavor. We were more than happy to do our part.

The guides provided by the lodge for our snorkeling outing and Corcovado hiking were both excellent. Snorkeling right off the beach below Las Caletas was quite good -- and David, the owner, was happy to lend us snorkeling gear. When we decided to go hiking on our own to visit Drake Bay, the staff packed up a generous lunch for us. This is exactly why Las Caletas is special, you're not going to be nickel-and-dimed, charged for every convenience and favor. The staff and owner are out to make you happy. It is exactly the kind of place where I want to invest my hard-earned vacation dollars. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valiant_Try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent 4 days at Las Caletas which is a perfect base camp for exploring Corcovado. The lodge is perfectly situated 1.5 hours by boat from Sierpe, 30 minutes from Drake air strip, 1 hour by boat from Sirena, 45 minutes from Cano island, and 100 meters from the beach and the sea. It is wonderful to wake up early in the morning in the lodge hearing sounds from birds and monkeys. The owners, Jolanda and her husband, are extremely helpful and arrange tours, transports etc. The staff, especially Greg, is very comptent. We, parents and 3 teenagers, stayed in a two storey duplex room that was excellent for 5 persons.

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are more expensive than other lodgings but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mansBromma_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We feel there is a need to balance all the positive reviews and share a few afterthoughts. We travelled CR for 10 weeks and looked forward to what we expected to be the absolute highlight of our adventures. Let it be said that much of the wildlife can be experienced without having to be isolated on a lodge at Drake bay. Also diving/snorkeling Cano Island can be arranged from i.e. Uvita/Domenical. In all fairness we didn't go hiking as our kids are young, but to be 'isolated' on a place where the beach is useless for kids, there isn't much to do. But what really annoyed us was the boatride where nobody informed us that we were about to climb 10 feet waves and fall down so hard that people fell over. This was a traumaticing experience, really unprofessional and scary, to say it at least. We are not novice to boathandling, we respect the captain's experience having travelled in/out Siempre river for 23 yrs, we were told it was full moon and blah, blah BUT it would have made such a difference if we had been warned.
On the good side we cherish the horse back ride.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We spend here 4 nights at the end of out two-week stay in Costa Rica. It is a pretty place surrounded by a beautiful nature. A view from the hill was amazing. Staff was very nice, helpful. Food was simple, but healthy and tasty. I liked afternoon´s cakes very much and so did a monkey which is living nearby - we met her with full hands of cakes :-). It is a great place where you can meet and talk to people round the world. I am very happy I have chosen this place. Jolanda, David, thank you that you have build your hotel in such a nice and place and make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

After three weeks of traveling through Costa Rica we decided to end our beautiful holiday in this lodge. Shortly after arrival we knew that that was the right decision. We spend three nights there, and joined two tours: the snorkeling and the hiking tour in the Parque Nacional Corcovado. Our guide was fabulous and we enjoyed it very much. The three meals included in the price were also healthy and very delicious. There is one thing: if you want to safe 20$ you could organize your Taxi Boat by yourself that costs you 15$ oneway instead of 25$.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dominik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jolanda H, Propietario at Hotel Las Caletas Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hello Dominik! First of all I would like to thank you for chosing Las Caletas Lodge for your stay in the Drake Bay area!! We really appreciate any comment and are happy to hear that your stay with us was one of the highlights during your vacations in Costa Rica. There is one thing I would like to explain though about the price for the boat transfer from Sierpe to Las Caletas (or viceversa). The Drake Bay boat owner association raised the price for this new peak season from $ 15 to $ 20 per person/one way. We do charge $ 25 per person because we accept your payment with credit card and would loose money if we'd charge the same price as we have to pay to them. Thank you again for your visit and we hope to have you back with us again one day in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our stay at Las Caletas was the highlight of our trip. We stayed there for 3 nights at the end of our trip and it was amazing. It is located about 5-10 min by boat down the coast from Drake Bay surrounded by jungle. We were able to see monkeys, sloths, toucans and much more just from the kitchen area and the hammocks on the point out front. All the staff was amazing as well. David was a great host, the food was fantastic and Isaac the boat captain was great as well, especially during the trip to the lodge from Sierpe. For this you travel down the river and then along the coast. It was quite rough during our transfer and it was a little scary. There is a little beach out front which is good for swimming. We did the day trips to Isla de Cano and to Corcovado and both were fantastic. David arranged for a guide for us and another couple staying at the lodge and he did a great job. I would highly recommend going to Las Caletas and Corcovado as part of your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.0 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Caletas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Caletas Lodge

Address: Playa Las Caletas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: $142 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Las Caletas Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Caletas Lodge offers comfortable and clean accommodations; fresh and delicious food and a friendly and helpful staff who will make the best effort to make our guests stay an unforgettable nature experience combined with a family atmosphere. Enjoy the great panoramic ocean and rainforest views and awake by the sound of the rainforest and ocean. You'll be surrounded by an exuberant vegetation with wildlife of all shapes, sizes and colors. Careful landscaping highlights our natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Las Caletas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Caletas - Drake Bay Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing