We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
$415
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
$114
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
352
44
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
44
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitetent cabinsother guestscano islandcosta ricario clarohost davidboth directionsprivate beachmain buildingscarlet macawshill overlooking the oceanlong tablewater landingcoastal trailbag lunchnight tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 415 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere! Las Caletas is an amazing place in an amazing location, with great service. Very communal atmosphere -- everyone staying there becomes family as soon as you arrive. It was sad to leave. Food was delicious and fresh every meal. Breakfast made to order and they will pack you a lunch if you aren't around to dine there. The honeymoon suite is in the main building though, so if you don't want to rise early in the morning, choose a different location on the property. Jose is a fantastic guide for Corcovado or Cano Island tours.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was the highlight of a marvelous vacation. We went there with our two sons, 11 and 15 years and stayed in one of the duplex cabins. Our hole family enjoyed the stay. The location was awesome, the host and staff were super friendly and helpful with everything, the tours were great with smart guides. The food was excellent and varied.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibylle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved our one week stay at Las Caletas (my wife and I, together with our 3 children). This was a real fun experience. The hotel rooms are large tents built on a wooden platform, with a real bed inside. Very comfortable, and you can breathe and listen to the rainforest sounds all around you - including the eery howler monkeys that wake you up as the sun rises!
The staff is very friendly and always smiling, absolutely willing to accommodate you as best they can. You eat all together at a large table and can discuss and share experiences with other travelers in a very convivial and friendly fashion. The food was excellent all along, with a different menu, a different fruit juice and cookies every day!
We celebrated new year's eve on the beach, with a gigantic bonfire on the beach.
Hot water is sometimes a little lacking, but you quickly get used to that, and the cold water is actually refreshing after a day in the heat.
The tours are very nice and instructive, and the guides very friendly and helpful. You can actually see a lot by yourself around the hotel - toucans, white-faced monkeys, hummingbirds, etc.
This is the ideal location if you like nature and want a real break from it all!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We (my daughter and I) had a wonderful stay at Las Caletas on the Osa Peninsula of Costa Rica.
The room was very comfortable, the food excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful in every way. The tours of Corcavado and the reef at Cano Island were interesting and the guides (Jose and David) always were willing to talk about what we saw. I think it was the best vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arctopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

To whom thinks of going to a unique place:

I spent a week at the Caletas Lodge. getting there was the beginning of a magical trip. The place is very private and you really immerse yourself in the rain forest. I have never been on a Eco-Hotel doing al the Eco-tours and stuff. The lodge is right next to a waterfall that puts you to sleep like a baby. The monkeys, humming birds, tucans, and all the exotic animals are all around you. They have a tour guide ( Jose is his name I think) that takes you to all the places by boat, walking or walking on paths.

The food was the best. Mary and all the cooks and house keepers are a big family that make you feel like a family.

I am going back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews