We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You never know!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge
Ranked #8 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Outstanding place to live, El Mirador has the most wonderful view of the bay and an uncompared service. Mikael the owner works hard to make your holiday unique. He prepares lunch when you leave for a tour, he changes hours of lunch when you go earlier, everything was just fine. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frogstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent value, good food, lovely hosts, and fabulous views over the bay including sunset (which many other hotels do not have). We were really impressed.
We are 2 adults and 1 child and stayed 3 nights but wish we could have stayed 5. We were in cabin 6 which was lovely and the shower had an amazing view over the bay.
The cabin was basic but had electricity, a fan, and comfy beds, which is all we needed. A lot of the cabins (including ours) looked like they had been recently refurbished. We often saw scarlet macaws flying overhead, and the first morning at breakfast a troop of white faced cappucin monkeys came and played in the trees next to us.
It is only a few minutes walk up a steep driveway to get there (5 mins if we went slow), and another 2 minutes to the lookout. All our bags were taken up on arrival and brought back down on departure in an atv. The food was yummy, especially when they made local dishes. There was filtered drinking water on tap in the dining area.
There is a new cafe at the bottom of the hill called tortuga drake kitchen (I think) which is nice for an afternoon smoothie/icecream/beer. And it's not far to walk into town.
The Corcovado & Isla de cano tours are great, but the boat to get there can be choppy. although the visibility wasn't great at the time for snorkelling, we still saw lots of colorful fish. And the Corcovado tour to sirena was packed full of animals - we ticked everything off our bucket list of animals to see, and more.
There is a beach for swimming just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel, but the water isn't clear. Apparently it's a 40 minute walk around to the next beach which is clear and good for snorkelling but we ran out of time.
We would definitely recommend el mirador and would come back and stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from Costa Rica trip which included a stay at Cabinas El Mirador Lodge. The scenery combined with Miguel and all his crews kindness where the best. The new cabinas in which our children stayed are just perfect. Good job -Miguel. The food prepared by miguels super crew are deliscious and served at longtable for all guest... Just the right way.
We will for sure recommend Cabinas El Mirador lodge to anyone travelling to Bahia Drake.
Gracias Miguel &co.
La familia Danese... Stayed late july 2013?..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MogensK930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent just two night in a cabina at Mirador Lodge. I wish we could have spent more...
The location of the place overlooks the Drake bay, perfect for sunset lovers. The cabinas are basic, very clean, the beds are quite comfortable.
The breakfast, lunch and dinner are exceptional. These were some of the best meals we had in Costa Rica. Our host was very friendly with a nice sense of humor :) - do not be late for dinner - it is always served at 6:44pm.
Michael can also arrange all kind of activities and day trips - horseback riding, boat trips, visits to Corcovado park, etc.

Once again, thanks for the great time. I hope to visit Mirador Lodge again... see you next week ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a few days simply driving around Costa Rica and seeing the sights/animals at our own pace. On the road towards Puerto Jiminez so we can get into Corcovado we happened by Cabinas El Mirador. What a great place! The cabins sit on a ridge top providing great views of the rain forest and are nice, clean, and very relaxing. Great food & full bar in the restraunt. Food was reasonably priced and eating outside provided great views of the rain forest & animals/birds. We saw our first toucans while sitting outside our cabin in the morning. We stayed only a single night but would love to return. One of the best places we stayed while in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 3. All cabins have good views from what we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lodge for 5 nights and it was by far our favorite place in Costa Rica for many reasons: the view from our lodge was beautiful and we got to see many animals at that very spot (toucans, monkeys etc), the family is so nice and go out of their way to give great service, the tours are amazing and the guides were very good, the 3 meals served (included in the price) are delicious and very filling and they even made me vegetarian food. If you decide to go on a personal day trip they even suggest to pack you a lunch! As the lodges are built out of wood it is normal to have some insects in your cabin especially at night if you leave the lights on. would not even think of staying any where else if I go back to Drake Bay! Thank you for the great service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabrinaHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Cabinas El Mirador in April before heading to Corcovado from Puerto Jimenez.

We arrived after a slightly hairy trip by boat from Sierpe (extra high tide so the waves were much bigger than 'normal'). after the beach landing we were met by someone to help with the bags and Michael was on the road with a quad-bike to take it up to the cabin. As the price was per person (plenty of home cooked food included) we were able to spread out into 2 cabins. We had the top cabin in a group of three about part way up the hill. Our room slept 6 and had great views of the bay. The kids had one underneath with their own bathroom. Our balcony was a great place to watch the birds in the early morning.

Many comments have been made about the insects and the steepness of the hill - yes there are insects - we saw very few mosquitoes, the biggest issues are the sand flies and you have those all up the Pacific coast - so use insect repellent! The hill is steep but short, I wouldn't recommend it for people with strollers or prams, or if you are super unfit but its hardly a show stopper.

Michael is certainly off the wall but he is funny and his humour is very European (by that I mean he understands and can deliver perfect sarcasm with the best of us!). He couldn't do enough to help us. The boat trip in was organised for us and he even drove us to Puerto Jimenez at the end of the trip!.

The rooms are clean and serviced daily. The food is simple and filling - certainly not Costa Rican in terms of what we have seen here but nice nonetheless. There is a water filter for you to refill you bottles but if you have a sensitive stomach as I do I would recommend buying bottled water. The shower is cold but manageable. As everything is open to the elements (mosquito nets not glass) expect your clothes to get a bit damp.

Michael organised a night tour with Tracie the Bug Lady and a trip to Isla Cano for snorkelling for us. The latter was worth the trip - we saw quite a lot including Eagle Rays and a shark. The divers saw Manta Rays. If you like frogs, a quick walk around the property and night with provide you with lots of opportunities to photograph them.

I would definitely stay here again if I every come back to Drake Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
377 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
379 reviews
2.2 mi away
Naguala Jungle Lodge
Naguala Jungle Lodge
#16 of 22 in Drake Bay
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martina's Place Hostel
Martina's Place Hostel
#2 of 22 in Drake Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Mirador Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Mirador Lodge

Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 79-8150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $46 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge has one of the most spectacular views in the Osa Peninsula. Spend the day hiking in Corcovado National Park, snorkeling on Cano Island or relaxing in a hammock watching the sunset over the pristine waters of Drake Bay. Our rustic installations is located 80 m above sea level, and the hotel has 3 hectares of land with 200 m of beach front in Drake Bay with an amazing view of the Pacific ocean. The bay has beautiful beaches and tropical forests as well as the flora and fauna that is characteristic of the Corcovado National Park. We offer the best value in Drake Bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Mirador Hotel Drake Bay
Cabinas El Mirador Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing