We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“*restaurante* jade mar”

Restaurante Jade Mar
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Jade Mar restaurant is a place designed for everyone. You can enjoy of our great variaty of national and international dishes. We count with a long variety of meat cuts. large parking, pool tables and all the sports you want.
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
1 review
“*restaurante* jade mar”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

To be clear: the restaurant is 1) *not* the same as the hotel/cabinas and is 2) under new management as of February 2014. Many of the reviews found here are either for the hotel or, if they're for the restaurant, are for its previous incarnation.

Claudio is a terrific host, very friendly and knowledgeable, focused on high quality ingredients. The restaurant is open and airy and nicely furnished and decorated.

We had steaks, a tenderloin and a bacon-wrapped filet mignon. Both were thick and juicy, perfectly done, medium rare. I can't say what a rarity (haha!) meat of this quality is out here in such a remote area. The tenderloin came with a red wine/mushroom sauce, fresh steamed veggies and mashed potatoes that were really tasty!.

We had a pitcher of fresh starfruit juice (Claudio prepared it as we watched) to drink, and the kids had nachos (with chicken, delicious lettuce and ripe tomatoes, and fried tortillas) and Hawaiian pizza, which they happily scarfed down.

The menu is more diverse than what I describe with lots of fresh seafood, including a number of ceviches, and of course, typical Costa Rican fare, but since these are easy to come by here, we went straight for the high-end red meat. We've eaten at most of the restaurants in Drake, and this is one of the best by far!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blake g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    14
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived in drake bay pretty late at night and jad mar was the first place we looked for a room, the manager an his family are so nice and will help you out with anything, just a great experience! And the balcony offers amazing views!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gijoegijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay with Macaws, Toucans & more!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Staying at Jade Mar was a wonderful experience for us spending almost a week in Drake Bay. The family that runs the business are AMAZING and incredibly accommodating for anything and everything we wanted. They helped us arrange our hikes, made awesome recommendations for nearby beaches to visit as well as great places to eat clearly showing that their business is truly their passion. One of the great perks of staying in their very reasonable cabins was the landscape, the view the property had AND tropical birds like the Scarlet Macaws and Toucans would visit twice a day to feed off their trees and fruits they would leave for the birds. It's just amazing to be able to watch these beautiful creatures as you enjoy a meal or a nice cup of coffee with your binoculars getting WAY better views than you would ever get in the wild. If we ever return to Costa Rica, Drake Bay would be the spot we would return to in a heart beat and we wouldn't stay anywhere else other than Jade Mar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semiryusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Drake Bay”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We enjoyed eating at Jade Mar and had nice fancy drinks there. Also I walked in to see the cabins which are down the road a bit. They have the best site, fantastic view from the hammock area, you can see the whole town and the ocean. The rooms looked okay but not as nice as Cabinas Manolo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better! many changes have been made!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

last time i came here the place was adequate if that but now it has changed... the bar is set on the side in a separate area and it looks like a lot of the comments were taken into consideration. new stafff (some very good looking staff!) and different menu..i do have to say it was a lot better than the past
i recommend trying it out! arroz con camarones was my favourite thing i ate!! with a delicious imperial michelada... couldnt have been happier!
Go check it out! it is also fun to go out in since they have fun karaoke nights and latin dance stuff!

I relized a lot of changes have been made of the place and it is worth checking out if in the area!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Jade Mar also viewed

 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Restaurante Jade Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing