We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Drake Bay is an amazing destination and the hotel was everything we could have wished for - friendly staff, fantastic views, incredible wildlife wherever you looked.
Waking at sunrise to the smell of fresh coffee on the balcony and a caphony of bird sounds was particularly memorable, and the monkey stealing the sugar bowl and trying to crack it open proved to be very entertaining.
Rooms are basic but clean and as not much time is spent in them, it didn't matter.
Having meals with travellers from all over the world added to the ambience.
My only regret was not get around to painting a piece of driftwood to hang alongside the many that adorn the bar area.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cr0cDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 360 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2009

My wife and I, on a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there 1 month earlier, stayed at Jinetes for 4 nights. The place is right on the beach, overlooking Drake Bay.

We did a 1 day snorkeling tour to Cano Island. That was great except it had rained the day before so the visibility wasn't the best. We still saw a fair amount of marine life - shark, manta rays, schools of fish that were swirling in front of you. It was good.

We then did a day long hike in Corcovado Natinal Park. Saw all types of monkeys and birds. Wear light clothing since it can be hot. They told us to wear mosquito repellant but we didn't and there were no mosquitos that time of year. We had a couple of older ladies that were a bit out of shape and probably shouldn't have come, but overall it does give you that jungle experience. It's popular, so do expect to meet other guided groups and people who are camping at the ranger station. We took the hike that was farther from the resort so we had to get up at 5:00 am since the boat ride is 1 hour. The boat ride is an experience itself, driving along the coast and on the way back we stopped and watched a group of dolphins feeding.

We also did a 1/2 day bird watching tour just from the hotel. It was great. We saw 50 different species of birds in little over 3 hours. We justed walked around the town and surrounding coutry side. If you are an experienced bird wathcer then you could just do it yourself but the guide we had was awesome. We are both not bird watchers but after this trip we have become some what interested.

Last thing was the meals are provided at a set time. Nothing fancy but they are well prepared and definately hit the spot after walking doing a lot of activities.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a great beach to swin at that is about 1 mile away, maybe less than that. Not many people at it and the water is warm and clear.

Overall a great place to relax at.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgoatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

we spent 3 nights at that nice cosy place.

we had a superior room which was pretty basic but fit to the whole ambience of the jinetes. since you have lunch and dinner at a set time you will meet all the other guests and find out who will be on the next day's excursion with you, so interaction and finding new friends are guaranteed.

sleeping well is a bit hard, since the waves are really loud and breaking right in front of your door, birds are singing, fruits are falling on the roof. when it rains in the night or the morning you will be well awake.
But there are wonderful scarlet macaws looking for food everyday at about 3 pm right infront of your room. That is amazing!

Be prepared for a wet landing when you arrive by boat!

I really liked and enjoyed the place but if you look for comfort, romantic secludedness and pampering, I would also spend more and go to the more luxury places.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We ended our two and a half week trip at Drake Bay and were looking forward to the seclusion after Manuel Antonio - we weren't dissapointed by the Osa Peninsula. The journey there is an adventure in itself through the sea and landing on the beach.
The accomodation is backpacker style. There are single rooms that share a bathroom and about four superior rooms that are definately worth the upgrade as they aren't that much more expensive, the room is a lot more spacious and the view from the scared balcony is beautiful!
Aguilla de Osa is literally next door - this is a slightly more upmarket option (and reflected in the price) we did go and have a drink there one night (although you need a torch!) as it stays open at little later at night.
The food is basic but tasty and the service is very friendly. we met some lovely people during dinner as you all sit together.
Drake bay itself is totally amazing. we would recommend the trip to Serena range station it's worth to pay the extra as you do see a lot more from what we heard. We found the trip to Cano Island a little dissapointing but I think it's just the luck of the draw you can't predict what the fish will be doing that day! We also took the bug lady night tour (ask at the desk) which was great fun!
The beach accross the beach is a lovley place to relax and if you have a spare day go in the morning when most people are on tours we had it totally to ourselves a couple of times. Monkeys often came down onto the tree right outside our room too! If you can get up early enough then the sunrise is amazing!
Would definately recommend flying back to San Jose - beautiful views and very quick and the roads can really get a bit bumpy after a while!
Overall, we had a great stay. Next time I think we would pay the extra and try Aguilla de Osa or La Paloma as they are just slightly more secluded and away from the main stretch of activity. Jinetes de Osa was great value though and we would had an amazing four days.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gandtzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

The kudos of other reviews are well deserved. Wife and I stayed March 8-15th and with the exception of one minor rough spot, we had a grand time. The food and dining along the table with people from all over the world was superb. I can't say enough about how
well the staff interacted with us and made us feel welcome. The kayak trips up the jungle river, hikes to the water fall, (accompanied by one of the lodge dogs), the Bug Lady night tour and Corcovada NP were all highly worth while. There was plenty of wild life just around Jinetes. Birds wake you up in the morning, monkeys do steal the suger, Macaws
scrap in the trees above the rooms, lizards are every where, then there is the 8 ft Boa Constrictor hanging around the dive shop.
Jinetes is not a quiet place. The birds do let you know it 05:30, the high tide crashes on the rocks 30 feet from your door and the community express way, ie beach path, passes just below your rooms. All of which adds a certain charm but takes a day or two to get use to.
The one minor rough spot was the dive operation. The dive boat was small for 8 divers, 2 dive masters and a skipper. One regulator was a struggle and the BCDs are looking well used. The operation was adaquate, just be sure you are comfortable with the equipment issue. The dive staff did a good job.
Jinetes was the best part of our CR trip. You will have a good time.




All in all I can very happily recommend Jinetes de Osa.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I just came back from Drake bay where I stayed for 3 nights at the Jinetes Hotel. I strongly recommend Drake Bay to divers. Cano island is probably the best diving spot in CR (Except Coco island, of course, but going there is a whole trip in itself). The Jinetes hotel is a very nice place, friendly and professional staff, excellent dive master and perfectly maintained gears.
You will certainly meet interesting and fun people around the big dinner table.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatopanix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I could not have had a better time, a new adventure everyday. 7 out of 7 a double thumbs up.
Even allowed me to create my own adventure, arranged a guide for my 2 snake hunting outings, which I may add was just spectacular.
Food great, service great, staff couldn't be more helpful or professional.
will surely be returning.
M/Sgt Frank S. Valdes USMC (RET)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cmbrdvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 46 in Drake Bay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinetes de Osa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Address: 200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinetes de Osa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see Costa Rica as you always imagined; wild, beautiful and unexplored. Be one of the lucky few to scuba dive in the pelagic rich waters of Cano Island or explore one of the last remaining virgin lowland tropical rainforests of Corcovado National Park. Splendidly isolated in the tiny community of Drake Bay, Costa Rica, Jinetes De Osa Hotel is a friendly beachside retreat one hours boat ride down the jungle lined banks of the Sierpe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jinetes de Osa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jinetes De Osa
Jinetes De Osa Drake Bay
Jinetes De Osa Hotel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing