We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
“Best Vacation EVER!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We started off our visit to Drake Bay via a helicopter trip from Los Suenos. Adrian and Abraham were fantastic, opening the bar for us, treating us to fantastic food & drinks, most of all treating us like friends and making this the experience of a lifetime for our friends and ourselves. They special ordered a bottle of champagne from another hotel for us to commemorate the special occassion of our friends engagement. They accomadated our every need and were just brilliant people to hang out with for the night. The rooms are simple, beautiful, clean. This resort is one I hope to one day revisit! Pura Vida!

Katie, Joe, April & Mike

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has an AMAZING view ;) AC Makes virtually no noise & between that and the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    60
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
110
123
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Myself and 3 others took a helicopter from San Jose to this Resort for what we thought would be just an afternoon excursion. We loved the place so much we stayed the night and flew out the next morning. Adrian the hotel owner was amazing, and very accomodating. My boyfriend proposed out on their beach and they even had a bottle of champagne brought in from another location for us. The bartender Abraham was a delight as well, he served us all day from lunch time untill we crashed that night. I recommend this place to anyone, it was a great find. :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Apes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

For the adventurous who want to experience pristine Costa Rica with the comforts of a luxe 'old world' adventure lodge this is your place. Magical and simple. It's not the Four Seasons decor or definition of luxe but rather a rare and refreshing hold out - authentic, expansive and comfortable and with all the touches of authenticity that make it second to none. They have THE BEST location on Drakes Bay - on a point of water with an ocean view out your front door and the jungle complete with macaws and monkeys out your back. Clean clean clean property (no bugs to worry about except on the exceptional Night hike!). The rooms are all well located (we recommend the Honeymoon room up on the hill for the best view). The food was plentiful, great selection of fresh fruit and vegetables, fresh fish and grilled meats. There was a wonderful surprise appetizer platter each afternoon at the bar matched by fresh lime and mint Mojitos. The owner's true connection to this place makes you feel like you're in real Costa Rica, untouched, gorgeous and very relaxed.
From the moment you are greeted at the beach to take a short ponga ride across the bay to the lodge's front door and their hotel manager Adrian's warm and welcoming ways you know you've landed someplace special. The staff was agreeable, each and every one of them. It's Costa Rican hospitality at it's finest. The resort has a super knowledgable group of guides making each and every adventure fun, educational and memorable - swinging from rope swings into the Rio Claro, an unexpected surf adventure at Rio Claro, Corcovado-Sirena Station and Cano Island not be missed. You can't believe the wildlife you'll see everywhere and without crowds. One highlight was the post Cano Island picnic lunch on the beach when we wished to stay longer to swim and watch the wildlife; we requested they come back for us at sunset with cold beers, they happily obliged. It's as close to a Fantasy Island adventure as I've been on in years. We left wanting more. Great place for family adventure and Pura Vida.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Simple but magical. Take a cabin without air conditioning so you can sleep to the sound of the sea. Brilliantly managed by Adrian (all hotel managers could spend a week with him to learn how to be a successful manager), with excellent tour guides Manuel and Arnoldo and the rest of the team. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Choose any without air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We read online about the wildlife viewing opportunities in the Corcovada national park area and found the reviews on Drake Bay Wilderness Resort for accommodations. Most people’s only gripe was a typical 3-day stay wasn’t long enough, so we decided to stay for 8 days (6 night package with extra night). We thought the variety of tours offered could easily keep us entertained for that long. We were not disappointed. Every tour we went on was unique and had an astonishing amount of wildlife. Our guide was Manuel and he is exceptional. He has the eyes of an eagle (even when he was pointing at some things hidden in the jungle I had difficulty seeing what the fuss was – thank goodness for his spotting scope). He also knows a whole lot about everything that walks, crawls, flies, scampers, slithers, swims or grows in the area. We also went on a couple of interesting night tours, on one our guide was Tracy who showed us some amazing bugs and spiders. It’s a good thing she was so passionate about these critters, I’m usually creeped out by bugs, but I found the tour fascinating. Our other night tour was in a jungle looking for frogs with Hernaldo. I never thought I’d be trouping around after dark in a jungle, but I’m so glad I did.

The accommodations were very good, the rooms clean the staff are all eager and helpful. The dinners were all really good, picnic lunches plentiful and breakfasts were great starters. Never had a poor meal at all. Having the tours included in the resort price was good value. We didn’t have an alarm clock but woke up to howler monkeys and songbirds at daybreak. If you go on a tour to Corcovado National Park San Pedrillo Ranger Station, you need bug spray before you go onto the beach – there are some voracious no-see-ums.

My sister ended up catching a cold on her flight down, so a few days into the trip, she had a full-on chest cold. The staff made her an oregano tea which they sent up to our room (it worked surprisingly well) and when she missed a tour they brought her some ginger tea and made her some chicken soup for her lunch. You don’t get that kind of attention at the big resorts and I think this is really good example of how special Drake Bay Wilderness is.

I’ve got a few pictures posted at Lazpix.com (gallery 8). The toucan, mangrove black hawk, snowy egret and crocodile pictures were all taken right at the resort and the rest of
the pics were on various tours.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrairieSunset2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This family-run resort is the kind that makes you want to return again and again. The staff is friendly, helpful and truly wants you to have a wonderful experience. We were only going to stay one night, then two but extended our stay to three nights. I was particularly impressed by the excellent and imaginative meals, which were all included in our rate.

The location was right on the beach. Gazing out over Drake Bay is a view to gasp at. It was so relaxing to lie in a hammock and read a book, which isn't easy for a workaholic. This place is good for the soul.

My husband and I saw capuchin monkeys, caiman, and red scarlett macaws on the Mangrove Tour. We also went on the night time Bio-illuminesence Tour. Be sure and take this tour on a moonless night to get the full effect.

We live in Manuel Antonio, CR and drove there but I'd recommend taking the boat from Sierpe. Driving is doable during the dry season, Dec. through April, but you should have a 4-wheel drive because there are some shallow rivers to cross. We're definitely going back for whale season in July and August.

Room Tip: Some rooms have air conditioning but we found the fan and ocean breezes cooled our room nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place is wonderful. My husband and I considered staying at hotels that were more in the jungle and that were more expensive. We decided that we wanted to be closer to the ocean and that it would be cooler with the ocean breeze. We were right. Drake Bay Wilderness Resort is set right on the ocean with rocks and waves and breeze and calm and ocean. The rooms were okay and they were more like a camp setting (ants included) So if you don't want bugs don't stay here. The staff and owners are amazing. So helpful and considerate. The meals were good -- we weren't getting steak every night, but very good meals and quickly. The beds are hard as rock and there isn't a comfortable chair in the place. The pool is a beautiful salt water pool set right next to the ocean. This is a must for the adventurer. Oh, forgot about the river. They are right at the opening of a river which is beautiful for a kayak during high tide.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidsonknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
477 reviews
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#6 of 8 in Drake Bay
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corcovado Adventures Tent Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Property: Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Address: Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Drake Bay Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Wilderness Hotel Drake Bay
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing